We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so”

Golden Girls Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped in for dinner because we read about this restaurant in the AAA guide. Not anything special. My husband was very disappointed in his dinner. He had the special, which was a fruit plate with chicken salad. What he got was a plate with one hunk of watermelon, a small slice of cantaloupe and a slice of tomato. Not exactly what you expect when you order a fruit plate. I ordered the pork tenderloin with mashed potatoes. The pork was very delicious, but the potatoes were lukewarm at best. I might give this place a second chance just because some of the dinners at other tables did look very good. The desserts look good, but we didn't try any of them so can't comment on the taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retire2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    108
    23
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Golden Girls Wonderful place!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We loved this little restaurant! Perfect portions , some might think small.
Great, friendly service. Fresh backed biscuits and corn bread.
Looking forward to stopping again on our way through Tennessee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank out4funandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Canoe, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A homey place!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

When traveling in a strange city you can usually judge the quality of a restaurant by the amount of cars in the parking lot, and at the Golden Girls we saw a steady stream of cars which just didn't seem to slow down. So we decided to try it out and we weren't disappointed. As soon as we walked it we discovered a homey place of rustic decor and were greeted with a homey welcome smile. While the menu is not overly extensive it is not difficult to find something you might enjoy and at a very reasonable price. It's not hard to recommend Golden Girls as you enjoy a good meal with a restaurant full of "locals" who already know where a good meal can be had!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooking”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This restaurant is good home cooking! They have great gravy & biscuits, & my husbands favorite is the pork chop! They also have large portion desserts-pies & cakes, all homemade right there in the kitchen. These women are good old country folk who help serve & take your order. The inside decor matches the outside, makes you feel right at home! Love eating here after church on Sundays!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EZYBRYZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome,Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“really good food, large portions, very inexpensive”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

had 3 meals in August. Friendly staff, nice location. Very good food (breakfast and lunch). Fried catfish, chicken, roast beef. Okra tasted fresh. Just didn't like the fried cornbread!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoamCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Girls Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Girls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing