We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museum of Appalachia”

Museum of Appalachia
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oak Ridge
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Museum of Appalachia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

A most interesting place. We were there for a meeting where a meal was served. The place was decorated for Christmas and the food was very good. Had a great time. Hope to go back in the spring when they have their homecoming.

Helpful?
Thank KittenOakRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    79
    16
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful opportunity to see how people used to live.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a wonderful place for all ages though not too good for the handicapped ..
Excellent outdoor museum with barns, workshops, haystacks and so on. Farmyard animals and peafowl. A two-story barn with wonderful indoor exhibits, a very tempting sales shop - plenty to do on a rainy day. People visiting Knoxville or the Great Smokies should try to visit. I think it is worth a couple of days but it IS pricey ...

Unfortunately, closed in the winter, and I don't know the dates.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank plantlover42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Not pretentious. Like a cove must have been 100 years ago. A number of old log homes, outbuildings, barns, etc., moved here from all over the region, into a sort of village setting. Live music, good country food, a ton of artifacts, in a super friendly environment. It is a walking place, and it is very kid-friendly.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank tenmiletom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Maine
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“An Entertaining Glimpse of Life in the Appalachians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

My daughter and I passed several hours at this realistic living history museum that is comprised of over 30 structures which were moved here from other states nearby. On the day and time of our visit (a weekday in late June), grazing sheep, goats, guinea fowl, roosters and peacocks likely outnumbered visitors. This eclectic collection was gathered by a man who spent years at it and, in some cases, went overboard in representation. The touring of the grounds and buildings is self-guided via a numbered path. The experience was heightened by song and music provided by several old timer musicians holding forth on the porch of one of the cabins. Another of the cabins was once inhabited by John Clemens and his family whose son, Samuel, aka Mark Twain, was born a few months after they vacated this cabin; hence, Samuel Clemens was conceived in the space within which I was standing.

The main building housed an expansive gift shop with largely mass-produced items reflective of the period. Down a few steps from the gift shop was a pleasant cafe featuring foods of the area and times. The cafe contained expansive windows which looked on to the grounds, which was an added bonus.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelers-R-US-246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My DH and I visited with our friends, J&S. We spent a couple of very enjoyable and relaxing hours at the museum. We could easily have stayed another couple. My favorite part was seeing the personal photographs and reading about the families of Appalachia and their personal stories. Listening to the musicians on the porch was a delight. I was disappointed, though, with the gift shop. I was looking for some locally made items which reflected the atmosphere of the area, but found almost none. Those I did find were, in my opinion, way overpriced. By the way, the peacocks were some of the most splendidly colored I've seen. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank beth4652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Appalachia also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Appalachia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing