We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in the Rough”
Review of Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bear Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Clifton B&B and Inns
Fort Knox, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This quiet 14 room motel/hotel and 10(?) cabins setting is an example of what the "Little Guy" can do to make a BIG impression on a traveler.

What had evidently started out to be an old highway motel, it is very apparent that the Bear Inn has gone through considerable changes and renovations to make it the distinctive, comfortable, and appealing hotel and cabin environment that it is. With the many cedar covered walls both inside and out of the rooms and cabins, as well as each room having a different theme, make staying an adventure in its self. Room themes vary from being Americana, to being Golfing, Canoeing, a Bears life, and Fishing related.

When you enter a room it may appear as you're roughing it, but you will soon realize that it has a quaint appearance and feel about it. The rooms are extremely clean, and have good AC/Heaters, a Fridge, a Micro-Wave, a TV, a Radio, and Coffee- Maker, as well as very comfortable beds with quilts as bedspreads. Though for us, the best part was that there were no phones in the room.

For evening entertainment, the upstairs bar and restaurant offers an excellent get a-way; its theme centers around sports with assorted signs, and sports equipment mounted on the walls, and has a Big Screen TV hung over the Fire Place, a Pool Table, and Shuffle Board . As for the food - it's GREAT; the Hand Cut Steaks - cooked to order, are a must; it is also open for Breakfast as well. The downstairs and out back has a fire pit, access to food and drinks, where bands sometimes entertain guests as well as the local wildlife.

I commend the "Whole" staff of the Bear Inn for the outstanding assistance and service they provided us; in directing us to local sights to include "Swimming Holes", and other eating establishments, to providing a comfortable setting, and even allowing us to have our dog stay with us.

We Thank You, and We will be returning to this "Diamond in the Rough" with its comfortable hotel/Motel Rooms and Cabins and its distinctive vacation flavor

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
17
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reedley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing, down home atmosphere this is your place. The food was great and the staff was super!! Entertainment was a blast!! One of the best times Ive had in a long time! Nothing quite like sitting out back with a cocktail and watching the fireflies!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Front Office Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! It was great to have your family come out and join us for our weekend entertainment! We hope to see you guys again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves. We were extremely impressed. The cabins were well maintained, clean, and affordable. We spent 4 days and 3 nights here for under $300. There is breakfast served every morning, and dinner served every night for an affordable price too. The bar and grill was a nice addition to the hotel and a huge convenience for us. We will be returning to this facility for future stays.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khuckjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Front Office Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are so happy to have you as guests at the hotel and we wish you both many, many years of happiness! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The rooms make you feel like you're in a cabin in the Smoky's. The bar and grill is laid back yet has the feel of a Nashville night; guitars, alcohol and good times. Troy at the bar makes you feel very welcome. I'll definately be back! Someone just needs to buy the PGA golf course out back and open it back up!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhanePowerLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Front Office Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you'll stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Found this gem while working in the area. Rates was in our budget. Food and the bar was second to none. Ribeye done to perfection. Defiantly will be coming back. Rooms clean and the drinks poured well. Did I mentioned this is the only liquor bar in county

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 35340Duane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Front Office Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury,
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great find in a small town. The staff was friendly. We were cooked up a wonderful breakfast that included the fluffiest scrambled eggs and homestyle potatoes. The room was clean and equiped with a small kitchen. We have stayed there several times and will come back again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have been in Clifton several times in the past few months for business, and anticipate being there on several other occasions over the next year. There is no way I would stay anywhere else in this area.

When you arrive, you are greeted warmly at the front desk who makes sure that you have everything you need for your stay. They have a full service restaurant and bar manned by Kirk, who is a colorful local man who is ready to grill anything you might want. As this is the only night life in Clifton (a very small town with a beautiful view of the Tennessee River with not a single red light), this is a rather hopping spot with the locals, who will gladly invite you to their table and instantly make you feel at home.

The rooms are comfortable, and have everything you need. Last time I stayed in a suite with a kitchen table and a recliner. Great for relaxing in the evening watching a large flat screen HD TV, and great for working the next morning.

Finally, you get to meet Kirk again at 7:00 a.m. sharp to fix you a made to order full breakfast. Better than any Embassy Suites or continental breakfast you get at most chains these days. I have stayed in many five star hotels and resorts where the breakfast was not as good despite paying $20 or more for breakfast. This is for FREE!

When you check out, the same lady who took care of you the night before is back at the desk, and seems to genuinely care how your stay went. I asked her to book me the same room for next month, and I am looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Manager at Bear Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank You for your kind review of our Inn. We all take pride in making sure our guests have a good hot meal, whether it is Dinner or our complimentary Hot Breakfast. We look forward to seeing you next Month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
13.6 mi away
Hurricane Inn
Hurricane Inn
#2 of 3 in Waynesboro
49 reviews
18.8 mi away
Commodore Hotel Linden
5.8 mi away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Quality Inn Savannah
Quality Inn Savannah
#2 of 3 in Savannah
69 reviews
19.0 mi away
Pine Tree Inn
Pine Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Parsons
39 reviews
19.0 mi away
Days Inn Savannah
Days Inn Savannah
#1 of 3 in Savannah
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Inn

Property: Bear Inn
Address: 2250 Billy Nance Hwy # 114, Clifton, TN 38425-5342
Location: United States > Tennessee > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Creekside Cabins and Cozy Inn is located in the heart of Tennessee. The location of our inn speaks to the heart and soul of a very rich American history. Our guests are treated more like family passing through. Each guest can be sure to find a room that fits into his or her personality. Each room is designed specifically to capture history and to deliver sweet solace to those who reside in it. Whether it be a passionate golfer who would enjoy or "PGA"room or a fast driven and determined race car stock driver who would certainly feel at home in our "Stock Car Room". Certainly if you are like many and are desiring a simple getaway from the day to day, The Bear Inn has something for you too. While vacationing at our delectable Inn you are treated with kindness, dignity, and respect, which is what the great state of Tennessee was built on. 24 Hour housekeeping, room service, full R.V hook-ups and an on site chef awaits your visit. Dining in Our Restaurant The Backyard Bar & Grill is open Thursday, Friday and Saturday 5pm to 9pm. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of a full bar and bar menu. Play a game of pool and relax on the two decks or under the gazebo. Wi-Fi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing