We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hojos!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Cleveland
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cleveland
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Hojos!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The staff at this location were very nice, check in was a breeze...very nice property. Good value. Would stay there again. Very nice pool. YMCA pool in Cleveland was good spot as well, especially if travelling with kids.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    61
    72
    43
    28
See reviews for
104
47
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I came to the area on a mountain biking "mancation" and stayed here on the "3 nights, save 20% deal". The rate on the weekend that I was here was $48 per night. At that price the hotel was a steal. The room was reasonably clean, the linens were clean and the bathroom not too bad. The staff was friendly and helpful. The fridge and microwave was huge plus for me because I carry food and drinks with me on these trips. I was very satisfied with what I got for my money and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice motel located right off Interstate.Friendly front desk check in,clean fresh room.Very kind housekeeping staff.Thanks for the personal breakfast service.Great overall Value.WAFFLE HOUSE is located right next door.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conservativecanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Cleveland, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post a review of our property on TripAdvisor.

I am very delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and for commenting on our customer service and clean rooms. Your kind recognition will be very well received by our staff and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Neil Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were not looking for anything fancy just clean and safe for our 4 day stay. We are not picky people but it needs to be clean !! We arrived after a 15 hour drive and were tired and though they changed our room due a guest not checking out being beside the drink machine and hearing that noise all night we asked to be moved the next morning. This was done. However the following day after putting up the Do not disturb sign before we went to sleep and left our room at 10:30 am the next morning to come back 8 hours later and our room was not cleaned. We took our own garbage and towels to the front desk to be told"if the Do not disturn sign is there they do not come back again that day to clean the room" Huh?? They said if we didn't use the do not disturb sign and housekeeping knocked thus wake us up for us to tell them to come back, then they would clean our room..Where is the customer and hospitality service ?? so then the next day we did not put the do not sign out and housekeeping came by at 12:30 and asked what we needed? We were just leaving I said tidy the room and we need towels and bed done, she never cleaned the room she made the bed and left towels. We had to get TP from her after as never restocked anything. Also you are not allowed to take any food out of the breakfast area, we have never had any Hotel not allow to bring back a muffin or toast for the other person. It was warm weather while we stayed her so we left our door open for fresh air until a homeless person came by begging for smokes..I wouldn't stay here again after seeing the areas for 4 days there are much better places to stay where they actually clean and stock your room as part as there service!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaniMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cleveland hotels

Oak Lake
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here for four of the WORST nights of our 10 days on the road! I know, most would say, "why wouldn't you find somewhere else if it was so bad?" and they would be right... This review is LONG but needs to be to explain why you NEVER want to stay here!!!

We booked on-line, 4 weeks before we traveled, and went by Trip Advisor reviews, it seemed to be the best of the ones somewhere close to where we would be visiting! To be fair (and I'm using that term loosely) Niel did call us the day we were to arrive to advise that the hotel was overbooked and offered us two alternatives... Niel said we could have two double beds in a smoking room, or a king NON smoking room!!! We are both smokers and would like to know how when a room is booked FOUR WEEKS in advance you don't know that you won't have our room until the day we are to arrive???

Once we arrived we were told someone had extended their stay so WE would have to give up what we booked FOUR WEEKS EARLIER! Really??? I think the people that extended their stay with no notice should have been told to move to one of the other rooms as theirs was booked for that night (and the three after that!!!). We ended up taking one of the rooms with two doubles and found that we had been placed next to the laundry room and a drink machine that, I am guessing was well used, as all we heard all night (after traveling 15 hours that day) was the banging of canned drinks as they fell... Needless to say, no sleep after that long day!

The next morning, we went and spoke with the front desk, explained our situation, and were told we could move to a King smoking room as long as we stayed around until 11AM to give the housekeeping staff time to clean the room as the guest who extended was now leaving. We stayed and returned to the desk at 11 AM as asked (although that was NOT what was planned for our day) to be told the guest was AGAIN extending their stay and we would have to wait some more. Finally, just before noon we were told we could move. We ended up next to a room of people who were very loud and spent most of the time sitting on the curb outside their room drinking and partying. We were also next door to another hotel where the police made numerous trips over the weekend arresting people. Certainly not somewhere we felt safe or comfortable!!!

Now to the room, dirty, mouldy, spider webs, out-dated, cigarette burns in the carpet, which was stained (and probably older than our university aged children)... Housekeeping was non existant! We came back after the second night (our first night in the King room) and found NOTHING had been done!
When I took our dirty towels to the front desk for clean ones, and the garbage to the dumpster, I was told there had been a "do not disturb" sign on our door. We (after finally getting some sleep) had cleaned up and left the room (and removed the sign) by 10:15 in the morning!!! Really? No housekeeping after 10:15 in the morning???
The next day, we were back at the room and Housekeeping showed up, at almost 12:30 in the afternnon! Then she asked if we wanted anything done??? We stated we would like the room cleaned up and went out. When we returned we found the bed made and the towels changed, there was still garbage in the garbage cans, the ashtrays had not been cleaned or changed and there was NO toilet paper left in the bathroom. I took the garbage down the hall to the cleaners cart (she was still cleaning rooms on our level after 1 PM) and had to ask for toilet paper.
All I can say is that we were glad we were leaving the next day! We must acknowledge, we did get a discount for our trouble!!! They knocked $7 (total) off the 4 night stay!!! Yee-Haw!

Room Tip: Find one away from next door hotel, away from 4 way intersection and away from laundry room! Oh wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, GA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

First we checked in late in the evening and they have a "bar" build into the hotel and you could not find a place to park near your room to unload your car. Noise was not a factor but the parking was. They need to update the TV's in the rooms. The breakfast was not great but not bad, the only thing was the staff had to make your waffles for you and you were not sure if it was someone on staff. Mostly young people in blue jeans and a dark vest on.

Room Tip: I would suggest to go to the back of the hotel away from the office. That way you are away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryA_Macon_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here one night. Good rate and good value. Room was clean, wirless was free, and Neil at the front desk is most courteous. Problem free budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jzim31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Douglas Inn & Suites
Douglas Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Cleveland
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cleveland
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Cleveland
Clarion Inn Cleveland
#10 of 23 in Cleveland
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Inn
Mountain View Inn
#17 of 23 in Cleveland
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 23 in Cleveland
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Cleveland

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Cleveland
Address: 2595 Georgetown Rd NW, Cleveland, TN 37311-3534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Cleveland 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cleveland
Cleveland Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing