We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charlie Brown hotel”
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cleveland
Reviewed July 14, 2012

After reading past reviews of this hotel, I took a chance and I do like this hotel. It makes me think of Linus in Charlie Brown Christmas where he says.."It's not bad at all, really. Maybe it just needs a little love."
The staff was very accommodating especially the nice 'Carrie Underwood All American Girl' who greeted us with a smile when we arrived. The pool is nice and big which my son loved. The view of the mountains is incredible! Our room was clean and comfy.
The hotel does need some work but overall it is nice for the money. Bottom line...would I stay here again?? YES!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ocaladan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PastorR_11, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. Our staff appreciates your recognition of their efforts to serve you and yours. We hope you will visit us again, perhaps in the fall where the views you mentioned are incredible with the seasonal change of colors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kyla O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PastorR_11, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The room was clean and the view beautiful. They do offer a breakfast which they advertise as free,but what they don not tell you is that it is only free for 2 people in th room, all others have to pay. They advertise a restaurant but they don't tell you it is only open for a short period of time on weekends. They have a pool, which of one of the reasons we booked this hotel, the pool was closed the entire time we were there, keep in mind that I called everyday the week prior to our trip and was told it was under maintenance, but would be open during our stay. It was not. The advertise free WIFi, but the desk clerk did not know how to check the router or turn it on. We left for the day and found ourselves looked out of our room upon return . The desk clerk stated our key had been deactivated because he did not we were there. Once we got in our room we found that housekeeping had not cleaned our room. I notified the desk clerk who stated since they didn't know we were there housekeeping didn't know to come by and have now left and would not return until that Monday. He offered for us to come to the desk and get linens to change our beds. Upon checkout we were forced to pay for our stay. I attempted to explain that we had paid in advance,but they could not find any record of it. It took 2 weeks to speak to someone who could help us get a refund.
I know this is long winded, but if other reviews had been more informative I would not have booked wit this hotel. Once again, the room was ok. The customer service was horrible!!!
I am sure the manager will respond in some way to this review, but Beware!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Always double Check ratings before you decide. Go with what you know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

We are very sorry that this visit was anything less than a tremendous experience. It is true that our swimming pool was to be open for your visit. Unfortunately, the part that was needed to adequately pump the pool water in order to proviide safe, clean water suitable for swimming arrived almost a full week later than promised to us from the manufacturer. It was not our intent to falsify the opening of the pool. Regardless, we make our guests safety the top priority and did choose not to open the pool until we were assured through testing that the water was ready for our guests to enjoy with the utmost concern for yours and their health. We always strive to provide a safe, clean and enjoyable visit for all of our guests and apologize that our pool was not open for your visit. Our pool and hotel are both in wonderful condition now and we welcome anyone looking for the best views in South East Tennessee with excellent food, swimming pool and guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Shingle Springs, California, USA
1
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Motel just okay. Good location and inside room quiet. One of five days room not cleaned or fresh towels. Breakfast buffet same each day. No fresh fruit or healthier food available. Drinks are paid extra.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We found the Mountain View Inn on Trip Advisor
and decided to try it after reading other reviews, most of which were positive. The inn is an old Holiday Inn, but has been well kept. The long-range views of the mountains and the peaceful valleys are just beautiful. The owners have placed picnic tables and gas grills along the ridge. Such a nice touch. One can sit and have a picnic or a drink and enjoy the view.
The staff was very pleasant and helpful, answering questions and giving directions. I would recommend this place in anyone staying in the area. This was more than just a cheap place to stay. It was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PastorR_11, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We really value your input and appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I checked in and had an issue with my room, Jarad Lastie was working the front dest that night and Handled my issue with professionalism and kindness! He found me other accomadations by placing me in another room. I know you probably think that was his job....... but its hard to find someone that can hadle an issue with a smile and go the extra mile to assure the customer is happy an taken care of! I will make an effort to stay here every time I pass through for either business or pleasure... Thanks Jarad for making our stay an awesome experience!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyrus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PastorR_11, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thanks for the kind words. We love to see your self described "happy customer" description. Come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Our mission groups stay here every year we come to CLeveland. matter of fact, I will be here again in May and in June of 2012. Ok, wireless internet? So what if it doesnt always have great signal and runs a little slow for uploading pictures-solution: go over the hill to Starbucks! Dirty rooms? only when we come in after working a long day after roof repairs in the local communityand throw our dirty clothes around- cleaning staff does awesome job every morning preparing the room for us to return to in the afternoons. Breakfast not so good?- seems to meet the needs of all of us facing a long day out working, but hmm, Cracker barrel in town, and Denny's also just over the hill. Hairy sheets? Never found hairs in our beds or in our food for that matter! Now, so what if the hotel isnt the Hilton or Ritz....you want that type of stay where everyone has their nose in the air and costs far more, well, fine MOVE ON! This hotel is not your typical "chain" cookie cutter hotel, it is older and could use some updating but the atmosphere here is always light and the staff is always helpful. It is a place to lay my weary tired body, with running water, fresh linens, and a clean, refreshing pool to play. Besides,the view of the sunset is the most spectacular in all the city! That makes it A-ok for us!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PastorR_11, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your review. Your input is valuable to us as we attempt to serve you, our customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cleveland
1.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Cleveland
Clarion Inn Cleveland
#10 of 24 in Cleveland
122 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Douglas Inn & Suites
Douglas Inn & Suites
#8 of 24 in Cleveland
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 24 in Cleveland
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 2400 Executive Park NW, Cleveland, TN 37312-2753 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range: $50 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Mountains of southeast TN. Fabulous restaurant-favorite of the locals. Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff, excellent location on I-75. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cleveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing