We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bald Headed Bistro

Bald Headed Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bald Headed Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 195 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Inman
Grand Blanc MI
Level Contributor
313 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a large party for a funeral dinner and the menu consisted of tenderloin, sea bass, and grilled chicken. The apple crisp dessert and vanilla ice cream was great! The fish was amazing, as well as the tenderloin. If in the area again, I would choose this restaurant again for private dining. Service was great, and the atmosphere very warm and welcoming!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    49
    20
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Immensely enjoyed a Friday evening dinner at the Bistro in honor of my wife's birthday. It would be difficult to criticize anything. We tried different entrees, the 16 oz elk chop, the pork chop, salmon, and the seafood trio. All were superb. The kale salad was unique and delicious. The only nick is that the bread pudding served for dessert was good, not great. Really great service, attentive but not intrusive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockyTopEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
303 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The Old Bistro ain't what it used to be.......”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A few years ago, this was our special place to eat for holiday meals, they have slid back on the list. A friend of ours recently got a gift card and invited us to eat with them there, I was disappointed. The menu was different and the quality of food was OK, but not what I had come to expect over the years. The 1st few times we ate there it was fabulous, but now, not so much. A bit pricey for what you get, both portion and quality wise. The old gray mare got a new saddle, but they are not riding high like they used to be.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChattaElder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“New Chef and Menu have ruined the restaurant. Stay away!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We used to eat here once a weekend nearly every week for the past 2-3 years, however, the new Chef and new menu changes have ruined the restaurant. While change can be good, the theme (western dining similiar reminiscent of a couple of restaurants in Jackson Hole, WY) and quality standard have been lost on the new Chef.

For example, favorites such as the snake river pasta, cedar plank salmon, and yellowstone peanut butter pie, have been replaced with Spinach Manicotti (really????), other breaded or fried fish, and crappy warm pumpkin pie (which sucks), respectively. It is turning into a crappy seafood restaurant like you would find in a snowbird senior living community, which doesn't work well when you are a 6-7 hour drive from the coast and have a more discerning, younger clientele.

We used to eat off of the bar menu often because the small portions allowed you to eat a three course meal at a very reasonable price (without overeating) by getting an appetizer, small plate entree, and shared desert. I couldn't find anything on the bar menu that I wanted and appetizers have changed for the worse.

What is worse is that many sides on the regular menu have changed for the worse, the steak choices have been cheapened, and the service staff is smaller, so the fine dining side of the restaurant is far from what it once was.

The bar is still ok in that is has good, unique drinks in a nice environment, but at their prices, not having good food to go with drinks isn't appealing enough to make the trip since there are much better choices for this in Chattanooga.

In short, the unique menu, service, and superb quality for the money that was signature to the Bistro no longer exists. I will not go back, ever.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eastern_Tennessean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Used to be weekly tradition for 2 yrs but will not go back anymore”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

It used to be our Wednesday tradition to meet at the "Bistro" every week for martini's and happy hour. We did this for two years (4-8 people) but will be finding a new Wednesday meeting place. Their outside seating is based on first come, first serve basis but yet there will be 2 or 3 tables pulled together and only 1 or 2 people sitting there. They run out of tables and places to sit and will not pull the other tables apart that customers have "saved" for someone else showing up later. When you have 4 to 8 customers physically standing there waiting for a seat, it would make more sense to allow them to have the tables that are being "saved" for customers that might possibly show up later. Especially when they know we have been there almost every Wednesday for last 2 years rain or shine! The tables only fill up fast during the warm months then outside dining trickles off, but we are there all year long almost every Wednesday. They obviously don't appreciate the loyalty so we will find a new place for our Wednesday get together each week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrenchesnwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bald Headed Bistro also viewed

 
Cleveland, TN
 

Been to Bald Headed Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing