We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Burgers are great, and so are the hot dogs!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #150 of 192 Restaurants in Cleveland
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
230 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“'Burgers are great, and so are the hot dogs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Yes, this is just another Steak 'n Shake location. Yes, it has the same menu as all the rest. And, yes, the burgers and hot dogs are some of the best around. When we're looking for 'burgers 'n dogs, this is always the place we go. McD's--BK--Wendy's can't hold a candle to the taste and quality of Steak 'n Shake's burgers!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    9
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food is always good and I like the diner type service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The food was delicious. The three of us had different things (jalapenos steakburger, Frisco melt, patty melt). We each had their yummy fries.

We also tried a couple of the salted caramel pretzel milkshakes. Oh wow! What a tasty combination.

We are never disappointed when eating here and the shakes are a fun treat now and then. We often have coupon from a local ad magazine and they are usually pretty good.

I enjoy the decor and shakes in tall glasses. Servers are always nice. No complaints here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, TN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kid Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

All weekend kids eat free!! What more is there to say? The staff are always super nice. Fresh, hot food, great staff!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank alleysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good meal at Steak n Shake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The steakburgers were delicious and so were the french fries. I have always enjoyed their food, unfortunately, my husband does not really like sandwich stops that much. This was a rare treat to go there and the food was great. I was amazed to find the variety of milkshakes they offer. My husband loves red velvet cake and I found out they have a red velvet cake milkshake. They also have chocolate chip cookie dough shakes as well as as numerous other types. My husband sounded like he would like to try the red velvet shake so there is a chance I'll get to go back more often than usual if the shakes are something he likes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandyLouTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ducktown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is what sit down burger eating should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Nothing says halfway about eating here,real plates and glasses.Waitress and waiters who serve you at your table.No rushing you out the door.It's the kind of experience you would expect from a less limited menu restaurant.I always enjoy it when we eat here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing