We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverview Inn
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Clarksville
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We've stayed here several times over the past few years. The lobby was always inviting and has been recently updated. We felt right at home while sitting in front of the cozy fireplace drinking the wonderful complementary hot drinks provided.
It is an older hotel, but the only downfall we could see after the room and lobby update, are the windows in the rooms. The hotel offers a wonderful view of the Cumberland river and countryside, so it's a shame the cloudy windows obscure the view a bit.
There is a walkway leading from the hotel to the beautiful riverwalk along the river. The city does a wonderful job of decorating both the hotel-adjacent downtown area and riverfront.
Some of the publications state that there is a restaurant and lounge on site. The restaurant, from what I hear, used to be wonderful. It has always been closed on previous visits, and now has been removed. The bar is really nice, but poorly attended. Since there aren'y many options for dining, we feel that just offering burgers , soup & sandwiches in the bar would be a wonderful addition and help the bar business as well. The complimentary breakfast was very nice and they even decorated the tables for Christmas. I can't finish this review without mentioning Robert. This employee is the definition of customer service. We have never encountered anyone who payed more attention to your needs. He was intuitive and went and went above and beyond expectations. Thanks, Riverview Inn, for a wonderful stay in Clarksville!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevemarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    60
    19
    10
    13
See reviews for
47
23
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Overall, the Riverview is a good place to stay. It is near downtown and many places to eat. You also have direct access to the riverwalk directly behind the hotel without having to deal with traffic. The riverwalk is especially nice during December with the Christmas displays. The hotel lobby and 1st floor where the fitness center is look beautiful. The rooms are good as well. However, floors 3 and above are in need of renovation to look as nice as the first two floors. Also, the outside of the hotel needs a paint job and new windows or at least clean the windows. The elevators commonly reeked of smoke. I would stay again if the smoke smell was gone.

Room Tip: pick a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at this location for almost 2 months while I was stationed at Fort Campbell working as a government military contractor. The room itself was quite spacious and still had plenty of room to move around even after having a very large dresser, mini-fridge, microwave, a table, chair, and a king size bed.The bed was by the far the most comfortable one I'd ever slept in at a hotel. The bathroom was considerably large too and had high-quality toiletries that smelled fantastic. The staff was very polite and even on the weekends when I returned very late at night (or more like early in the morning) from partying in Nashville they greeted me with a smile and asked me how my evening was. There was some construction going on because the hotel was in the process of updating its facilities, but I didn't mind that. The only thing I disliked was the breakfast selection. Most of the options were packaged processes items like honey-buns, donuts, and other items you would find at a gas station. I suppose this may have been done as a convenience for guests that were in a hurry to leave in the mornings, but it was a little disappointing for those that were actually hoping to sit down to a hot meal of various foods.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BioAnthroNerd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was visiting Clarksville for a few days. The price of my stay was great. The hotel is well maintained, but with nothing flashy. One slight disappointment was the breakfast. They only had disposable plates and cutlery, such a waste. Hopefully they will change to real plates and cutlery some time soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, the other side of the hotel does not overlook anything interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgcasvtiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The Riverview Inn is a nice, comfortable place. The rooms have what you need, even a tiny fridge and microwave, but it is older and outdated. The staff is very, very nice. The location is great. You can walk to several great, local restaurants. Overall, I would stay here again although I do think it is a bit pricy for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakyle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Riverview Inn is in the heart of down town Clarksville, Tenessee. It is perfectly situated in the town. From the outside, the hotel looks a bit dated, which is discouraging. But on the inside, the hotel looks very nice, and is very well maintained. When you enter, there is a nice lounge, the reception on the left, with a swimming pool with views to the river behind the reception. The rooms are large, and a family can book two rooms, connected with doors, so you can create your own large living space. The rooms are up to date, clean, and have all the facilities you need, including a refrigerator, coffee maker, and up to date flat screen TV's. The beds are comfortable. Breakfast is modest, and what you could expect in a non-luxury hotel - with fresh milk, cereals, fruits and juices - very acceptable. I would definitely go back to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbertOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very friendly staff. A 3 star hotel with 2 star pricing. Location to downtown shops and eateries major plus. Lovely view of the Cumberland River. Although they have just started renovating, it has not taken away from the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Complimentary Hot Breakfast. Had a lot of food items to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimG1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarksville hotels
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Atrium Inn & Suites
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Clarksville
Hilton Garden Inn Clarksville
#2 of 36 in Clarksville
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clarksville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clarksville
6.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Clarksville / Ft. Campbell
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Clarksville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Inn

Property: Riverview Inn
Address: 50 College St, Clarksville, TN 37040-3220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Clarksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Clarksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverview Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Clarksville within walking distance to dining, shopping and entertainment. Meeting and banquet space available from the small conference rooms to receptions up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riverview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Hotel Clarksville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing