We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff!”

Silkes Old World Breads
Ranked #4 of 400 Restaurants in Clarksville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good stuff!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Please note to order first then find a table. I was confused and noticed I wasn't the only one: ) Great, fresh, authentic food. The seating could be better but with food so good I'll deal with it!( or get it to go )

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ApacheWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    32
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Real German deli”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We buy sandwiches and cake to take back to our motel to eat when we travel through the Clarksville, TN area. Their deli is great and staff is very helpful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cadet62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lecker!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

With great bread as a base, you can't go wrong with either sandwiches or pizzas, and the desserts? Die haben in Himmel gebäckt.

Helpful?
Thank JDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Bakery”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped by the bakery and did not eat at the restaurant. I purchased some rolls for our sandwiches that I was going to make at the lake. What fantastic bread! The price was reasonable for the bread we bought. It was worth stopping in to get some bread. The kids enjoyed hearing the employees interact with some of the customers speaking German. I plan to stop by again to try out their pastries and stock up on some bread.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cecilia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great for authintic German food, not so great for germaphobes”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a fantastic restaurant if you know what you are in for. It is the best place in Clarksville to get authentic German food. Go there for the experience, but do not go expecting it to be 'typical'. You enter the restaurant and order before sitting. The feel of the restaurant is that of an indoor-picnic. There is a makeshift play place for children, and a lot of exposure to German language.

However, as the feel is indoor picnic, and the food is cook-at-home variety, there are some things that fall through the cracks. Cleanliness is one. I have had experiences that were flawless, but other times I have found a bug in my salad, or had the counter or floor be unbelievably sticky in spots.

If you want German food, go here. If you cannot overlook some cleanliness issues, don't.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silkes Old World Breads also viewed

 

Been to Silkes Old World Breads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing