We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Favorite Japanese Place in Town!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kohana Japanese Restaurant

Kohana Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 384 Restaurants in Clarksville
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Clarksville
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Favorite Japanese Place in Town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I love this place. The atmosphere is very contemporary. If you are looking for a quite, romantic, semi private type of restaurant this is not the restaurant you are looking for. If you are looking for a clean, calm place with wonderful food this place will not disappoint you!! The food has always been of the best quality and flavor. By the way - they do a wonderful job for Valentine's day. You should definitely check it out!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Sushi - So So Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Went there on a date night and the place was full of kids lol. Might as well have brought ours.

The Food: was excellent, no complaints here. We had the california rolls and some saque to start. I ended up ordering one of the steak entrees and my wife ordered the tempura chicken. Both dishes were delicious ;)

The service: our waiter was very dry and boring. The staff were friendly and professional.

The actual restaurant/atmosphere: It was small and is definitely not a romantic atmosphere. The place has a very open floor plan and design. No sense of privacy even at the booths. The tables were very close and I think having a waiter who seemed he didn't want to be there made our overall experience not the greatest.

Went there on a Friday night. Would go back for the food with my family but definitely not a date night spot.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brunos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
167 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed with the food here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have eaten at Kohana's at least once or twice a month since the restaurant opened. The food is always fresh and tasty, the restaurant looks and smells clean, and the servers do a great job. They have something on the menu for everyone in our family - the non sushi eaters can choose from several pork or chicken dishes or fried rice and they have sushi with raw and cooked ingredients. Our favorites include the Naruto (wrapped in cucumber instead of seaweed), the Sweetheart, and the Clarksville rolls. All the rolls are presented beautifully. They have a very reasonably priced lunch and often participate in things like Groupon if you want to hold the cost down.

Helpful?
Thank TNbeachbum75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tight quarters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

The food is delicious here but i feel like they could remove a couple of tables and then spread out just a bit. Really close to the table next to us... so close i couldn't help but watch them eat. Again, you wont be disappointed in the food but be sure to brush your teeth first: the table next to you can smell your breath while you eat.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richiemaccool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Food is great and servers knowledgeable! Though it appears that they don't do a lot of business by looking at the parking lot, the establishment fills up quickly!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohana Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kohana Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing