We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn and Suites
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Clarksville
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed 2 nights- 3 suites- the furniture has tears ,dirty and needs replacing the shower has cracks in the walls and been badly patched with caulk, the sink had cracks and really worn out. The personnel were friendly and courteous. The place has really gone downhill in the past 4 years. This was not our first stay but will be the last.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshua24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewaySuites, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for choosing Gateway Inn & Suites for your recent stay. Thank you also for taking the time to fill out a guest review. It is these reviews that help us to be sure that the standards which we wish to maintain are upheld. I hope that the next time you are in our area you will choose to stay at the Gateway Inn & Suites, I think you will be greatly pleased. Sincerely, Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2010

Everyone is right about how wonderful the staff is. But come on Best Western... You’re in the business of SLEEP... You have the cheapest lowest grade mattress money can buy. Your furniture is outdated and worn, and defiantly needs to be updated. You can feel the springs move and make noise as you move positions. If you want a clean hotel and staff with million dollar smiles and nice location, but with an outdated mattress that would be your Chiropractors biggest nightmare... Then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keving70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewaySuites, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for choosing Gateway Inn & Suites for your recent stay. Thank you also for taking the time to fill out a guest review. It is these reviews that help us to be sure that the standards which we wish to maintain are upheld. I hope that the next time you are in our area you will choose to stay at the Gateway Inn & Suites, I think you will be greatly pleased. Sincerely, Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I stayed here at a very busy time in Clarksville for my husband's return to the United States from a deployment. There was also a convention at the time and available hotel rooms were limited.

The Good: The room was MUCH cheaper than where I usually stay in Clarksville (Hampton Inn/Holiday Inn Express), and the room was MUCH larger. There are cheaper rates online and I was automatically upgraded to a king suite when I checked in. All of the rooms in this hotel are junior or king suites. This room would be great for a family traveling together, as there is a living area for children to play & could watch TV on their own while parents watched something else. Additionally, it had a kitchenette area with a countertop, microwave, fridge and I think it may have had a sink (I can't remember 100% at the moment, I didn't use it). Everything else about the room was standard, in my opinion.

The Not-So-Good: You need a cord to connect to the internet, but can get it from the front desk. Appliances are older, but working. The room smelled like it might have been a smoking room in the past, but it didn't really bother me. It has outside corridors, but that is true for almost all the hotels/motels in Clarksville.

Overall, I would recommend this for a no-frills room. It was safe and quiet, but not too fancy.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Friendly check in. Room seemed clean, but the furniture is ratty. Holes in the couch looked like from just normal wear and tear. Need to reupholstry or buy some new stuff ! One pkg coffee in the room with 2 cup coffee maker.. if you put two cups of water in it, is watered down.. need more coffee in the individual bags or more bags in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemphisMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

This place is not up to the standard that I would expect in a Best Western lodging facility.
The hotel description on the internet states "Help yourself to our fitness center" - there was no fitness center. That was one of the deciding factors in making our reservation there, my wife likes to exercise when we travel.
The 'breakfast' consisted of a few bagels and some cereal. No selection at all. I don't expect a gourmet meal but some choices would be nice.
The in-room coffee consisted of a packet of regular coffee and one package of condiments. Every other place that we have stayed puts out regular and decaf, plus at least 2 condiment packs. Since we both drink decaf we had to go to the lobby for coffee.
We visit this area at least once a year, but will not stay in this place again.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank RKBOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 1 evening while traveling from Florida to Nebraska for the holidays. The outside of the property appeared to be fine. They have 24 hour survellience cameras on the property, the police station was next door and a fire station was apparently just a blk the other direction. The room was clean and quiet, but the pillows and all bedding is in serious need of replacement. The wool blanket on the bed was old, knotted and rough feel and the bedspread was thin with stains and a couple small holes in it.... also in need of replacement. The bathroom towels were VERY skimpy!! I couldn't believe how thin they were and they only give you 2 sets of towels...which consisted of the larger bath towel, a hand towel and washcloth. All of which were extremely thin!!! There are several hotels, gas stations and restaurants in this area. The only reason I stayed there was because I travel with a cat and this hotel was 1 of 2 that were reasonably priced and didn't charge an arm and leg for the pet. The Holiday Inn wanted to charge me $50 for the pet fee!! PLEASE! Would stay here again, if I had to....but if I had other opportunities, I'd certainly check out another place in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

We arrived around midnight. You could not enter the lobby. You go through the first set of double doors and then there is a window that you can communicate with the person working the desk. The person was a bit confused and took quite a while to book the room.

The room was very clean but bathroom was old. It had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Towels are very skimpy.

Breakfast was served and consisted of cereal, lender-like bagels, cream cheese, sweet rolls, coffee, juice and milk. A free newspaper was available in the lobby.

This room is as nice as can be expected for the price. And for spending the night on the road it was absolutely fine and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mylisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarksville hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Clarksville
Ramada Limited Clarksville
#26 of 37 in Clarksville
322 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Clarksville TN
Days Inn Clarksville TN
#22 of 37 in Clarksville
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites North
Rodeway Inn & Suites North
#16 of 37 in Clarksville
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Exit 4
Quality Inn Exit 4
#11 of 37 in Clarksville
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clarksville Northeast
Super 8 Clarksville Northeast
#7 of 37 in Clarksville
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clarksville
Red Roof Inn Clarksville
#8 of 37 in Clarksville
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn and Suites

Address: 250 Holiday Dr, Clarksville, TN 37040-5012 (Formerly Executive Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Clarksville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Clarksville
Price Range: $52 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Inn and Suites is located 10 minutes from Austin Peay State University, 15 miles from Fort Campbell Army Base; and a short drive to Nashville Convention Center, Tennessee State Capitol, Country Music Hall of Fame, Grand Ole Opry, Adelphia Coliseum and Vanderbilt University. The Gateway Inn and Suites offers guests free light Continental breakfast served from 6 am to 9 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas and all rooms,fax/copy service, free parking and a wakeup service. All guest rooms offer cable TV with extra stations, microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, free wired & wifi hi-speed internet access, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/board and electronic door locks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Gateway Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clarksville
Clarksville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing