We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small museum in downtown Clarksville” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Customs House Museum and Cultural Center

Customs House Museum and Cultural Center
Corner of Commerce and South 2nd Street, Clarksville, TN 37041
931 648-5780
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Clarksville
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Small museum in downtown Clarksville”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A lot of quirky things related to Clarksville. The outside of the old building is probably the highlight.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mgcasvtiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A mini-Ford museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a neat little museum in downtown Clarksville. My Corvette club did a cruise to it on last Saturday. Admission on Saturday was free. I think it is about $5-7 during the week. It was about a two hour museum in my view. Lots of Americana stuff from Civil War photos and history, to a big diorama of electric trains, a bubble room with the possibilty of making full length bubbles to surround yourself with, to a room of porcelain birds and flowers by Boehm that was simply outstanding. A really eclectic collection of stuff that was very interesting to me. Kinda like visiting the Ford museum in Dearborne, MI, just on a smaller scale. Place was generous is open areas, well air conditioned, and just a nice place to spend a couple of hours. Easy parking nearby in a garage that was free on Saturday.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigMike60_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wartrace, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected quality and creative layout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

While it has been a year since we were there...it was a Harley Davidson exhibit! My son loved the hands-on science area in the basement. I love the antique items and THE TRAIN SET! A Must see for all ages.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bierbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small, but fun (and inexpensive)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The kids love the activity room downstairs, especially the bubble room. It's like a mini-Adventure Science Center. The rest of the museum (with the exception of the model trains & antique fire trucks) is more geared towards adults. Children tend to loose interest in these areas quickly.

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect afternoon escape!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Very nice museum- the exhibits vary widely in tastes and types. Amazing kid's area with a bubble room! Really great historical section with all types of buggies and carts from the 1800's. Staff was very friendly. I got free tickets to the museum at the counter at F&M Bank (downtown Clarksville), worth a shot if you are interested in visiting. The gift shop has some interesting treasures!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Customs House Museum and Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Customs House Museum and Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing