We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience ever ... believe the poor reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn - Chattanooga Airport
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Granite City, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel experience ever ... believe the poor reviews.”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Made reservation online while on the road after travel plans changed. Read how the rooms were recently renovated. Well, not ALL of them. My party had 2 rooms and they were completely disgusting, filthy and smelly. Opening the door to the "non-smoking" we were nearly knocked over by the stench and the excessive heat. It was a warm July evening and the air was turned off on the second floor rooms, making it approximately 85 to 90 degrees in the room. The old air conditioner units couldn't cool the rooms to a comfortable temperature. When I called the office, the woman said to give it some time, told me they were full and if I wasn't happy, invited me to come down and check out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    84
    48
    39
    68
See reviews for
100
89
49
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I decided to stay at the Red Roof on Shallowford Road, expecting
the worse. Surprise! The rooms are remodeled and very stylished. Everything is new. It was a happy and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piedmontatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2011

For the money, you couldn't beat the comfort and location with a stick! I have found my new home away from home (no thanks to the 10 hotels I stopped at before this one!).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matlock78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Ky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed in a newly remodeled room which was beautiful. It was every clean and everything was handy.
,The management was fantastic. We love the people here and this motel ,We have been staying here for several years and have always been treated with the best of respect.
The young gentlemen that is in charge of the motel now will go over and above to make sure your stay is as close to home as you can get. WONDERFUL

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skinnySomerset_Ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This was the worst experience I've ever had at a hotel. If there had been another hotel available, I would have checked out. The wallpaper was peeling; there were stains on the wallpaper that was left that looked liked something brown and wet was flung onto it and ran down the wall. The carpet was stained. The chairs were stained. The refrigerator wasn't cool. The tub was dirty. The whole experience was just awful! Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chattanooga hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We took one look at the room and left. I'd sleep in my car before I'd stay here. Stained carpet, plaster cracks, smelly. I don't know where they got the photos.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dgryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Dirty walls & carpet, TV reception was lousy, no hair dryer, room extremely small, front desk girl had the personality of a door knob and I had a lovely view of the extremely moldy and paint chipped ceiling in the bathroom. I've travelled a lot over the last 10 years and this was easily in the top 5 WORST rooms I've stayed in. If you see the Red Roof Inn sign, do yourself a favor & drive right on by!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2mali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
1.8 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#24 of 97 in Chattanooga
682 reviews
8.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Chattanooga - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#44 of 97 in Chattanooga
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chattanooga/near Hamilton P
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Airport
Econo Lodge Airport
#60 of 97 in Chattanooga
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn - Chattanooga Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Chattanooga Airport

Property: Red Roof Inn - Chattanooga Airport
Address: 7014 Shallowford Rd, Chattanooga, TN 37421-1715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Chattanooga Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 3 miles from Chattanooga’s Lovell Field Airport, Red Roof Chattanooga is within 5 minutes of Hamilton Place Mall and golf courses. McCallie School, Lake Winnepesaukah Waterpark, and the University of Chattanooga are all just a 10 minute drive. The Children’s Discovery Museum and the Tennessee Aquarium are just 15 minutes form this hotel, and breathtaking Ruby Falls, Lookout Mountain, and Rock City are just a 20 minute drive away. Red Roof Chattanooga is within walking distance of many restaurants. Red Roof Chattanooga Airport features free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast . Microwave & refrigerator are available all rooms. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style featuring coffee & tea. This location offers On Command Video with a selection of free TV channels, as well as, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Chattanooga Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Chattanooga Airport Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing