We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“False advertising”
Reviewed May 5, 2007

This Hotel is not what it seems on the Internet, when we arrived we were put in a corner room so small that we couldn't turn around. We immediately went down stairs and asked to be moved and we were moved to a room down the hall and it was a little bigger but did not match any of the rooms they show on the Internet. I could not believe that they would put someone in a room that small when somehting else was available. Even in the bigger room the bathroom was very small and not friendly to women who have cosmetics or any other personal itmes. The shelves were tiny and the outlets too few.
We found that the front desk staff were not that friendly, they would answer a question when asked. There was no guest directory, the ice machine was two floors down.
The only thing correct is the pool. Don't believe the photos you see they are not correct.
My husband and I travel a lot, and the price and the description do not match. The quality was not worth the charge and the location was poor relative to the vibrant parts of town.
We will not be staying there the next time we return to the area.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank johnd226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    504
    260
    144
    97
See reviews for
416
491
40
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

We stayed at the Sheraton this weekend and it was great. I had read all the reviews and was a little worried but I'm so glad we decided to book anyway. We usually stay at nice hotels(4 or 5 stars) being that we have a 2 year old and we like for him to be able to run around and not be on dirty floors, etc.(and we just enjoy being pampered when we go out of town), I can tell you all our needs were met. Our Suite was spotless..nice new berber carpet..great bedding and very clean...you really don't want to get out of bed here, they are the best I've ever seen. Bathroom was spotless as well and house keeping came by a few times to see if we needed anything. This hotel is old which is part of its charm..if your looking for private balconies you will not find it here. Valet guys are extremely fast and curtious..although you might have to get your own luggage to the room as there is only one bell-hop. Porters steakhouse runs a great breakfast buffet that they allow you to even get to go..which is great with small children..it runs you 12.oo per/person but it was more than my son and I could eat...and the staff at Porters are top notch. Pool was great..& they allowed us late checkout!! Starbucks in hotel!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness!
  • Disliked — 6 blocks from main dowtown area!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hollyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed at the Sheraton Read before and after its renovation two years ago. They did an amazing job in the renovation, but our most recent stay was not good. We were disappointed. Our first room was very dirty - stains on carpet and furniture, chocolate smeared all over the telephone, short on towels, drawers left open, springs coming through the sofa bed mattress, etc. We were taken aback. We did get a new room that was better. But, be warned that this hotel is not being kept up. It is too bad as the staff are very nice. We had really liked this beautiful hotel, but will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lextravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

Stayed here while passing through Chattanooga for one night. The hotel itself is beautiful and has quite a bit of history. The lobby is grand with marble floors and dark wood. There are plenty of seating areas throughout the lobby where you can sit and relax. There is also a Starbucks conveniently located next to the lobby.
We had a large corner suite with a separate seating area. The bed was extremly comfortable. The bathrooms though are very tiny and somewhat neglected in terms of the porcelain
chipping in the tub.
We had dinner at the restaurant downstairs. Service was great and the steaks were perfectly done.
The staff that we dealt with were polite and efficient. My only complaint was that on the morning of our departure, a gentleman from housekeeping knocked loudly on the door for a few minutes. When I finally opened it, he looked at his clipboard and wanted to know what time we were checking out. I was surprised, first because it was only 8:30am and secondly, because as a platinum member on an SPG floor, checkout was allowed later.
Overall, I would return to this hotel despite it seeming a little worn and neglected because it is a beautiful and comfortable hotel for the value.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deardiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We stayed at the Sheraton Read House Hotel in late February with two adults, two toddlers and two 5 year old kids. We stayed in a suite with a separate bedroom and a sitting area (note - there is no door between the two rooms). The hotel was easy to find and the valet parking convenient. Check in was speedy and efficient. The suite was adequate for our needs but the lack of an electrical outlet in the bathroom and the inability to remove the stuffiness throughout the suite was disappointing. The swimming pool was great for the children although the hot tub was out of service. The Starbucks on the lobby level is convenient for a morning caffeine fix. The staff were incredibly accomodating regarding all issues we raised to them - questions about TV channels, forgotten toothbrushes, the need for a rollaway bed and restaurant recommendations. Overall, it was a nice stay and definitely above average. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Disliked — No electrical outlet in bathroom; hard to control suite temperature
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MariettaAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, GA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

I had seen some slighly negative reviews of this hotel, and felt compelled to defend it after our stay in early November. We found the property to be top notch, friendly, and clean. Our room was immaculate, and we loved the Starbucks located on the ground floor. The staff was helpful. We chose to park on the street, where there was plenty of free weekend parking, rather than pay for the hotel parking lot. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would definitely return.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Expensive parking
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JRusCanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

Stayed here mid Feb. 2007. Location is on the outer edge of town, not real close to aquarium or art district. Pros and cons...

Pros:
- Bed was very nice and comfortable.
- Valet although it is $12 per day.
- Bar staff was nice.
- Full Service Starbucks in lobby area with nice seating area

Cons:
- Not the best location
- Wireless internet is boarderline un-useable
- Drinks at the bar are $10 each!!! and beers are $5. This is more than most metro atlanta bars.
- The hot water was "out" the morning we left...in the whole hotel. Management reimbused us for our parking as a "we're sorry" gift. No clue what that was about.
- Lack of staff planning caused us to wait 30 minutes for our car in the valet.
- No bellhop or concierge service for a $100+ a night room hotel seemed kinda crappy considering this is not a big city location.
- "Do it yourself" luggage service where you get to try and find a luggage cart and load/unload your own baggage.

Overall, We were not impressed with much of anything at this hotel but the bed...it was one of the better ones I have found around the country.

I would say try the courtyard or hilton over this hotel. Marriott seems to do it right around the world regardless of location or problem. I have seemed to have issues with Sheraton becuase of the franchise issues and lack of quality committment through the locations. Westin is hit or miss as well because of this.

  • Liked — The Bed
  • Disliked — All the issues in my review. Having the hot water run out across the hotel the morning we were leaving really said it all.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank atlbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Property: The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing