We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Lincoln, Ne
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Go for an upgrade”
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The staff at this hotel were extremely nice and upgraded us to a suite (despite having paid $55 on Priceline). Any room ending in 15 has a separate living room with wet bar, couch, chairs, desk and a second tv. The bed was comfortable and the pillows soft. The bathroom was so small, though, that there was no room for any of your personals. The AC could have been a little better. It was a 100 degress that day in Chattanooga though. All in all, a nice historic hotel. We ate down the street at Lupes. Great pizza.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lnktvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    505
    261
    145
    97
See reviews for
418
491
41
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sonny1212
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my 3 year old and my girlfriend's 2 small children (3 and 7). The staff was very nice to us and very eager to please. We had to call for things from the front desk and we received service very quickly. I got my rate of $52 per night from priceline.com and with that, you never really know what you are going to get into. we were very pleased with our room. very clean, comfy beds, air was set upon entering our room. The staff was so nice and friendly and willing to help us in any way they could. The only thing that was negative was the parking. I was not aware that I would have to pay $15 per day for Valet parking. I could have gotten a meter or parked down the street, but with a small child, I didn't want to hassle with that. I wish that I would have been advised before getting there. I understand in the city this is the way it works, but I was not aware since i am not from the city.
Our experience was a good one. I hope that others that stay here have the that same experience as we did.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonny1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We took a chance on Hotwire and booked a three and a half star hotel in downtown Chattanooga and it turned out to be this hotel, the Sheraton Read House. I paid $84.00 all taxes included. The hotel is suppose to be an old historic hotel with the likes of Al Capone, Winston Churchhill and others that stayed here. There's only valet parking but since we arrived by motorcycle we parked ourself. The location of the hotel is great. In the heart of all the downtown attractions and about 4 blocks from the riverfront. Several restaurants and bars in the area.
When we checked in we were actually given a suite. Room 301. The room was excellent, very warm and inviting. The beds were excellent and super, super comfortable. Living room and bedroom, two tv's, couch, desk, etc. The bathroom was small but all tiled and nice and clean.
The problems started when we went to lower the room temp. The a/c was blowing out WARM air. We unpacked and went out to check out downtown Chattanooga. When we came back about 3 hours later it was still coming out warm. ( It was 90 degrees out) I went down to the front desk and informed them of the problem. They sent an engineer up to try and fix the problem. After about 45 minutes trying he couldn't fix it and informed the front desk. We agreed (BIG MISTAKE) to move into another room. We got the new keys and room number and went to our new room. Keys didn't work. Lugged everything back down to the lobby and let them know. They re-set the room keys and back again we went. Keys STILL didn't work. Went back down to the front desk and complained to them about this. They didn't even seem to care. I told them to send up someone with us to open the door to the room. Went BACK UP to the room and waited for the maint. engineer to come and open the room for us. Third time. When he arrived and tried to open the door...guess what.....didn't work. He informed us by swiping the key thru the door and the color code that came on, that ...the room was already occupied!! The person at the front desk all this time gave us a room with someone already in it. FINALLY after the 4th time we were given a smaller, but still nice room. The shower pressure in the bathroom was terrible but we delt with it.
Upon checking out we were give coupons for two free breakfast buffets but no adjustment on the price since we paid via Priceline. Given all the problems we encountered I would stay again since the rooms were so nice if the price were right.
The hotel front desk staff really need to do a better job of taking care of it's customers though.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aerowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville tn
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The hotel is a very nice place to stay. The problem is that I had left my ipod in my car and when we were on the way home I realized that it was gone. I called the hotel and all I got was that they had no control over valet. I find that hard to believe. I feel that the hotel and valet are at fault and no one is stepping up to the plate. I thought that my valuables were safe in my car, I guess I was wrong.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpmanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

What a great, historic, unique hotel! The rooms were good sized (except for the tiny bathroom), updated, and very quiet - I hardly ever heard anyone else during my stay. Free wi-fi, and a Starbucks and Steakhouse in the same building are extra big pluses. Front desk staff are friendly, just not completely knowledgable about everything (If you want an airport shuttle, book it 24 hours in advance to only be charged $15), but they did help a colleague of mine who was uncomfortable in her room. Beautiful pool area and sufficient work-out facilities. I will stay here again and suggest it for others. Just a note; since it is so historic, there are rumors of the place being "haunted" that creeped me out a bit before arrival but my room was not hanunted, I promise :-)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjohnso6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Just spent memorial day weekend at this hotel.The location is excellent,staff very friendly but for the cost of the room I did not expect cigarette burns on the carpet,stains on the chairs and sofa,and the remains of a squashed bug on the ceiling.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwbIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I booked this hotel for a family trip to TN. It was nice, near all the downtown attractions and the customer service was excellent. My family had to request a move once because we were placed on the floor where pets were allowed. Slighly smelly. We were moved with no problem and the rest of the trip was great. Do know that parking is $15 per day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlingTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Property: The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing