We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome staff”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visited this property with our 2 young grandchildren. We dealt with 4 different associates during our visit, and everyone of them went FAR above and beyond for us to insure that our visit was the best possible experience. The property is excellent and is a perfect location to visit all the sites that young children enjoy.

Room Tip: Everybody has different criteria for the perfect room. If you are not satisfied with the room you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review of our hotel! We are excited when we hear that we made our guests' stay at our hotel a happy and memorable one. We hope that you will stay with us again many times in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    511
    264
    148
    99
See reviews for
427
497
41
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here twice and love it! The location is great if you don't mind walking. Personally it's perfect for a variety of locations rather than just the riverfront. The hotel itself is a step back in time, beautiful and kept up very well, and the rooms are very nice too. We stayed on the north side first, smaller rooms but newer and the south side near MLK Blvd is older, which we loved more, and the room was larger.

The free trolly has a stop on Broad St. on the same block, if parking use the street in the evening since it's free or on weekends too, and use the parking garage across Chestnut St. (the west side) because it's cheaper than valet.

It's very comfortable, great service and love the Starbucks on the first floor!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south nuilding are larger and older, and if you don't mind "city sounds"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Wow! Thank you for the great review of our hotel. We appreciate hearing when we have made people happy! We hope that you will continue to stay with us time and time in your travels. It is guests like you that let us know that we are successful in our training programs for our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I should I begin. When we walked into the lobby, nothing was visible because of the darkness. We waited 10 minutes to register because the only clerk was giving directions .
When we got to the room, what a nightmare! Filthy! Dirty beginning with the door knob! Floor was dirty and the room had a bad smell. Stains on all of the furniture! When I pulled back the covers, a brown stain on the sheets, plus the bed made loud squeaking noises. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. A total ZERO, with nothing good I can say at all! Don't waste your time ! A total DUMP !!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kleinpeter0259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the problems you encountered with your stay. We take very seriously the feedback we get from our guests and work to correct any and all problems. We do hope you will change your mind and give us another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The desk staff was very helpful. The best part was the valet service. They were fast and were able to make suggestions for sight seeing and dining. Thanks Lee, Jessie and Legrand.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! We love to hear when our guests are happy with their stay. We hope you will return many times in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in a room with double beds. The beds were comfortable. Room was clean. Service was great. John Michael was a great valet ! Friendly and helpful. Great fitness room. Full service Starbucks on-site.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This visit was the 8th time I have stayed at this hotel. We frequently come to Chattanooga for dance recitals, vacations and now my daughter starts UTC this fall. The room we had Wedesday night was disappointing. The mattresses were saggy, the beds were creaky when you moved and weird smell in room. We were exhausted from driving so ignored that and went to sleep until the dog in the next room started barking at 11:00 p.m. When I finally reached the front desk after calling three times at 12:30 a.m., the front desk clerk assured me security would take care of the problem. They didn't and at 6:00 a.m. the barking began again. The front desk clerk and supervisor were very nice, they apologized and moved me to a different room in the older part of the hotel. This room, while being better, still needed an update. Overall, the clerks and managers were extremely nice and helpful, but that didn't make up for the poor quality and experience of the first room and the need of an update, especially in the shower, the walls tiles were pulling away from the wall in the upgraded room. I have never before this trip minded paying more to stay at the Sheraton Read, but this may have been my last visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
We are so disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations for your stay. We strive to please every guest every time! We are looking at a remodel of our hotel in the very near future and we hope that we can win you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had great service for our conference and the most outstanding service was given by the AAA Parking guys who run the valet service. They were always friendly, helpful, and hustled! Thanks guys! The hotel was beautiful and in a nice location to explore the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Property: The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing