We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Older Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Older Hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We booked last minute and had a quick stay (in by 9 PM and out by 9 AM) there. Very nice older historic hotel. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Our room was very spacious with a lounge area with TV (kids area) and our bed with a TV. Very impressed with the room. Bed was very comfortable. It is a older hotel so some of the walls, door framing were showing their age but no big deal. Seemed like plenty of street parking so we just parked for free.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobF379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are so glad that you found our historic treasure to your liking. Perhaps next time you can come and stay with us and stroll downtown and stay a little longer to enjoy all the sights! We are aware that we are in need of a remodel of this old hotel and are working toward that goal.

We do hope that you will come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    503
    260
    142
    96
See reviews for
416
490
40
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
321 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I like the Read House. I stayed there years ago when it was a Radisson branded hotel and have fond memories of a unique room befitting a historic property. So I was puzzled to find myself in a non-descript room, typical of any number of chain hotels. It wasn’t until later when I exited to a patio next to the pool that I realized I was in a newer annex, which would also explain the odd location of the elevator next to the fitness center, not in the grand lobby. I probably paid the least of anyone in the hotel that night, a Hotwire deal I was pretty sure would land me at the Read House. I’m not sure if that had any bearing on where I was placed.

The room itself was adequate – king bed, easy chair, a dresser that held the television with a long desktop for workspace. While small, it was not cramped at all. The view was less than desirable, a brick wall and ramp leading to the parking garage. The upside was that it was quiet and there wasn’t any street noise floating up to the 3rd floor.

I do like being further up Broad St. on a tree lined street away from the crush of tourist attractions and the surrounding hotels. My impression was that the Read House is a quieter location.

There are a couple of downsides to the Read House. Valet parking is $15/day, pricey among Chattanooga hotel properties, although it does come with in and out privileges. There’s also a lack of breakfast options. There’s a Starbucks in the lobby but I dashed across the side street to Nooga Noshery and brought back an omelet and oatmeal.

I called with questions a couple of times before my trip, and commend both Angeline and Steven for great customer service. But, there was a service glitch at checkout that was very annoying. Could I store my luggage after checkout and keep my car parked there, using the free downtown shuttle? Not a problem. That is until I went to valet and was told no. I was taken aback that they would contradict the front desk. It turns out valet is a contracted service, not part of the Sheraton, although that’s not obvious based on their duties. The valet later offered to get me free parking at one of their lots downtown and I was directed to Chestnut and 1st St. I thought that was a great service recovery. Except there is no Chestnut and 1st. I’m not sure what the mix up was, but I ended up paying for a day of parking. For the customer’s sake, everyone needs to get on the same page.

Despite the parking issue, I would stay at the Sheraton Read House again and am comfortable recommending it to others. It’s a solid 3 ½ star property that could easily be 4 stars or higher.

Room Tip: If you're going for the historic property, be sure to request a room in that section of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in such a thorough manner. We take all comments about our Read House very seriously and work towards correcting each and every issue each guest may have.

I would like to deal with the issues that you had personally and would like to speak with you if at all possible. If you would email me at jen.prpich@sheratonreadhouse.com with your phone number or call me at 423-313-3873.

Again, thank you for your time and we do hope that you will stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

There was a very strong chemical smell when we arrived. That progressively got worse. Finally, at midnight I had to switch rooms.. I have a son with asthma who was coughing!! I can not believe what happened.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunawth36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us your comments regarding your stay. I would like to pursue the problem and discuss it with you. Please call me at (423) 313-3873 or by email at jen.prpich@sheratonreadhouse.com. I apologize for the problems you encountered and I would like to address the problems.

Thank you,
Jen Prpich, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A historic hotel with comfortable clean rooms. However, it was unnerving to be one of a few families in the indoor pool area when there seemed to be a homeless person just sitting a table watching us. When my wife told the front desk there appeared to be a person who wasn't a guest of the hotel, she was told "You're probably right."

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimary81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with TripAdvisor. We strive to exceed expectations and it sounds like we did not in your family's case by the response of one of our Front Desk team. We do pride ourselves on the extensive training we give our Front Desk agents and be assured the problem you had will be addressed. We do hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I reserved a Junior suite for my friend's bachelorette party last weekend. We got two queen sized beds, with a sitting room and two flat screen TVs. The beds were extremely fluffy and comfortable, comparable to a resort in Hawaii I stayed in a few years ago. The beds were set away from the door so we didn't hear much hallway traffic, even being right by the elevators. The valet parking was very quick, it really made my friend feel pampered. Cody and Jay did a wonderful job, they were friendly and unpacked our cars for us and delivered our suitcases to us in the room. We were very impressed. The water pressure in the shower was strong and we had plenty of lights and wall sockets for everyone's cell phones, hairdryers and other girly things! Not to mention the gorgeous lobby and ballrooms to tour! -- The cons: the sofabed in our room was so mangled we couldn't use it, we pulled the mattress on the floor instead. The sofa bed also did not have sheets provided in the room, which led to frustration calling the front desk at night. The receptionist didn't answer our calls on two occasions during the night. Also the door key crapped out on us two times, which isn't a big deal, but annoying when a group gets separated. However overall it was a wonderful experience and I would refer the hotel to friends!

Room Tip: Get a room with a sweet sleeper bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L3G1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. Your honesty is extremely appreciated! We are so glad that our champion valet team were able to make your stay enjoyable. We are even more overjoyed that you took the time to let us know how we didn't meet your needs. We have the process of a remodel for our hotel and the sofabeds are in that plan. We do hope that you will come back to stay with us again and let us WOW you and your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

What a disappointment considering it's a sheraton. We booked thru priceline and this hotel was classified as 3.5 star. It was a steal, but I definitely would have paid extra money for a cleaner hotel.

Wall paints are peeling.
Rooms are moldy and dusty. Kept sneezing.
Carpet was filthy
Side of our bed mattress had huge stain
One of our towels had make up stain.
Pool was disgusting. Cloudy and rust everywhere.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel_DonnaGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we failed to make your stay with us enjoyable. We are in the process of addressing the issues that you mentioned in your review, particularly regarding the cleanliness of your room. Because even though we are an old hotel, we are striving to make it a wonderful old hotel. Just know that your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping team. We hope you will give the Sheraton Read House another shot whether it be for business, extended stay, or leisure travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We like Bed and Breakfast accommodations and boutique hotels with personality. The staff was friendly, our room as expected, and the common rooms and reception areas beautiful. The ambiance of this older historic hotel added to our experience. We loved the old phone booths in the lobby, and the beautiful woodwork! My husband thought he heard rattling pipes, but I didn't hear that. Sales tax in Tennessee is higher than most states, so the added taxes reflected a costlier one-night stay (it would be the same for any Chattanooga hotel).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our Chattanooga treasure, the Sheraton Read House. The little touches of this hotel do certainly make the difference! And, unfortunately, that Tax Man is everywhere! Gets us coming and going! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Property: The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing