We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as you would think....especially for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as nice as you would think....especially for the price.”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Room was small and dated. View was horrible. Could hear hallway and neighboring room noise. Location was perfect walking distance from downtown. Shower curtain smelled sour. I would not recommend and probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concernedtraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Our sincerest apologies that we did not meet your expectations. We have taken your comments and will better train our staff in order to avoid these problems in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    503
    260
    142
    96
See reviews for
416
490
40
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington County, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel and staff were fine and the location is convenient. The problems we had was extremely loud guests (family with 4 or 5 young children, up half the night) and a barking dog (they accept pets, which is fine unless they bark all night).

Room Tip: rooms at the end of the halls, away from elevators, and not the top floor.... ma ybe 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We here at the Sheraton Read House respect every guest's comfort and we are sorry that yours was interrupted. We hope, that should you stay with us again in the future, that you will let us know so that we may handle the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Wow... what was not good about this hotel? From the minute we arrived the staff was very accommodating. The nice young lady at the front desk even upgraded us because it was our anniversary...how awesome is that! It was great having the valet service and not worrying about our car. They were incredibly efficient. The hotel itself was a bit older but it had a very modern decor and having a Starbucks right inside put it over the top! We will definitely recommend this to our friends and family. It definitely made our anniversary more special. Oh and you can't beat the great deal we got on Priceline ($56 a night!). So being upgraded to an amazing suite was so awesome. Thanks to all the staff... You guys were incredible!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jnbcargile09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Wow! You have made our day! We are so pleased when we are able to make our guests glad they stayed and want to return. We will keep up the good work if you will keep coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Love this place first time there but it will not be the last. Great front desk guys and valet was awesome. Starbucks inside the hotel had some yummy drinks. The whole city was wonderful. The free shuttle was the neatest little ride to where ever you wanted to go.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We are so happy that you took the time to let us know about your stay here in our historic hotel in our fun little town! We hope that you will return time and time again. And you can't beat that shuttle! Free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Got a group on for this and stayed on the haunted 3rd floor by chance. Great room and great hotel! we really enjoyed our stay and how close it was to everything. we did the ghost tour that ends at this hotel so it was great. and awesome proximity to shuttle

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touristgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Annalisa Netherly, our ghost from Room 311, told us you had stayed with us and what a pleasure it was having you here. She and all the staff here at the hotel hope that you will return again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Cool old hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and spacious.

However, the maid service and hotel guests slammed doors all night and AM. I'm sure this can be something they can remedy with improved mechanisms. Also, the water pressure in the shower was high then low then just shut off. This happened during three different showers. They need to make a few improvements at this location so we can visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wlbridwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We thank you for letting us know that we did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in staff training and will look into the problems you pointed out. We do hope that you will return for a visit very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous lobby, nice pool and gym. Amazing restaurant but the room I was it was right next to the elevator and being a light sleeper, it was terrible. And the curtains didn't close on our window so it was a very early morning. The hotel is very convenient to everything though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Property: The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing