We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel in vibrant downtown!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Historic property a few minutes off I-24 with all the amenities. Nice to escape the interstate chain properties and stay in a 1920's beautifully maintained hotel...no free breakfast but a great workout facility, energy and in the lobby, bar, and Porter's Steakhouse. A little more money but they made us feel like welcome guests and it was worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

921 - 927 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

This property is beautiful! That alone is enough but so clean and the service was stellar. Specifically, the front desk agent was charming and accommodating and everyone was so very friendly to my two dogs - I thought maybe they had VIP status! Logan, a valet went out of his way to help me retrieve forgotten items in my car and as the first and last touch-point of my stay it was his service and demeanor that I will remember most. His cohort, Jay, was also engaging and made me feel as though I were an old friend. Bravo guys! Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Go for the Jr. Suite. Its a genuine value and comfortable and so clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our valet Joseph was wonderful! He was the first person we saw and his service was superb! The hotel waa quite accomodating. The stay was enjoyable and pleasant for my family. We will come again for vacation.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The read house was a great base of operations for our four day get a way and sightseeing in Chattanooga. Friendly and helpful staff that were genuinely concerned for our travel experience in their town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Logan gave us outstanding service in the Valet area. He was smiling when he came up to the car. Very courteous & polite. Hustled to help us with our bags & even made a trip back to our car to get my phone. Super customer care...will come back here because of his service.
Melissa @ the front desk was also excellent, pleasant & very helpful.
This hotel must have an excellent training program.
Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 326sandraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at the Read House Sheraton during the Christmas holiday.

The hotel is easy to find, located right on Broad street in the heart of Chattanooga. Not a huge fan of the mandatory $15 valet parking, but the valets were very efficient, friendly, and doubled as concierge's, giving tons of advice. The city's free shuttle service, which stops just outside the hotel, also made it easier to swallow the otherwise big-cityesque parking fee.

Hotel lobby and common areas are gorgeous - the nearly 100 year old building is classy and all of the dark wood gives it a time-gone-by feeling. Starbucks on site. Nice workout room and pool.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room itself was spacious and well appointed, but felt a little worn. Wallpaper in the bathroom was yellowing and beginning to peel, and the bathtub fixtures were starting to rust. Carpet furniture felt like they'd seen better days, and the duvet had a ominous blood stain (or maybe it was chocolate?) on it.

Very dog friendly - met many folks staying there with dogs of varying sizes and pedigrees.

All in all, a solid and comfortable, if somewhat worn-around-the-edges, experience. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I stopped at this hotel for one night while traveling. The hotel is beautiful, clean and has pleasant customer service. I love that the hotel is pet friendly as we traveled with a small dog. Easy to walk to restaurants and Starbucks is located on the main lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darzee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $116 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing