We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Be Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for our 20 year anniversary. From the moment we arrived, Ken at the front desk helped us straighten out an online booking error and settled us into a beautiful (upgraded) suite. We were very impressed with Ken, management and all of the Read House staff. This is a beautiful historic hotel in the very tourist friendly city of Chattanooga. We look forward to our next visit. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Our Sheraton Read House is exquisite isn't it. See you next time!
Warm Regards,
Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I came to Chattanooga to visit wedding venues, and decided we were too tired to return to Clarksville. We found The Sheraton Read House had a beautiful southern elegance to the decor, and offered phenomenal guest service, including a young man who assisted us with our luggage. Lee was well-mannered, and gave us excellent restaurant recommendations. We would certainly recommend The Sheraton Read House to family and friends!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Excellence is what our SHeraton Read House is known for. Thank you do much for the compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in room 707 Nov 9th to the 11th 2013. The room was tiny but clean, its worst fault is it is right by the elevator which was very noisy. Made it hard to get a goodnight sleep, the fact that the heavy curtains dont close they are just there for decoration didnt help either. The staff was freindly and hotel was in a good location, I would not stay in this room again however. Interestingly enough the sheraton website does not show pictures of this type room.

Room Tip: Apparently it is good to stay away from rooms ending in 07
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Our Sheraton is known for excellence and we are so sorry we did not achieve that for you. Please let me know if there is anything I cna do to make it up to you. 423-313-3873

Warm Regards,
Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel via priceline so we landed a decent deal. The staff were very plesant. We were originally assigned room 707. Thw room was very tiny with a queen bed. The bed was against the wall that was shared with the elevator shaft. Every time the elevator moved, it made a ton of noise. We called the front desk and we were moved to a new room without any issues - in fact, the new room was quite an upgrade as it was a king suite. The bed was extremely comfortable. The only negatives is that the hotel does not include parking or breakfast. Although we enjoyed our one night stay, we probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Our historic hotel is known for excellence and we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Read House is well locted to explore Chatanooga. Free shuttle stop at hotel provides easy access to all points of interest. The hotel, valet and restaurant staff provide excellent service. Porter's Restaurant serves great steaks and chops.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Wow, thank you so much!!! We are so excited when we see a 5 star as that is the standard we hold ourselves to. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was in town for an interview. The read house hotel was an excellent no-hassle place to stay. The rooms were appropriately clean and comfortable. The room was functional and spacious. The decor could use updating to be either more modern or more true to the southern urban charm of the rest of the hotel. The amenities (parking, pool, fitness center) were all top notch. All the staff (front of house, cleaning, parking) were very kind and efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Our Sheraton is known for its attention to detail and stunning accomidations. We are so glad you had a good time.

Warm Regards,
Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My mom and I stayed in this hotel on the way to Nashville. My room was clean the amenities including the work out area were very nice. I had a pleasant check in and check out. Only complaint was that my car was valeted outside the hotel on the ramp to the other cars. I could have parked it on the street better than that; however, overall great stay. Charming lobby and area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrdavis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Our Sheraton Read House is a great place to stay if you are jsut passing through as its right in the center of everything. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
983 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $116 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing