We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Read House the second night of a weekend trip to Chattanooga. We were really pleased with the location of the hotel and with the service we received. Everyone was very nice and incredibly helpful. The hotel is beautiful with a distinct vintage vibe. You can tell it is definitely a very old hotel that has been updated but still has a lot of charming qualities. The room size was great as there were four of us, and the beds were to die for comfortable. The bathroom was very small and our tub/shower was in pretty rough shape. It served the purpose for the limited amount of time that we were going to be there. The location was great because we were only a few blocks from the heart of downtown and the price was much better than many of the other hotels located downtown. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRBWGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

The lobby of this place is glorious...what happened to the rest of the hotel?? My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and thought it was the best place in Chattanooga (13 yrs ago mind you). I was just back in town on a guys trip and stayed here only to be sorely disappointed. The lobby is still grand. Clean and beautiful. The room, over looked the parking garage, and was extremely run down. Copper pipe and all sorts of tubing were exposed in the bathroom. The shower/tub were chipped and dirty. The table in the room barely stood on it's own and the A/C left a 6x6 wet spot on the floor that was only noticed when you happened to step in it.

Visit the lobby. Stay elsewhere.

**The only shining star was the front desk staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgordon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

The Sheraton Read House is an amazing hotel and we pride ourselves in excellence. I apologize that we did not live up to that promise for you. We really appreciate the feedback and if I can do anything to make it up to you, please give me a call at 423-313-3873.
Warm Regards,
Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We frequently stay at the Sheraton Read House in Chattanooga because of the consistency of service and accommodations. The hotel is historic and has SO much architectural character. However, what sets this hotel apart from the others in the area is the unbelievably individual customer service. It is obvious that customer service is a point of pride and intention, for every staff member you encounter on your stay will greet you with a smile and an "anything you need" attitude. The valet staff sets the perfect tone upon arrival, greeting each guest with a smile and friendly conversation. Timmy, one of the valet attendants, even remembered us from our last visit! The "bend over backwards for you" attitude of the hotel staff make this hotel truly feel like a luxury home away from home, and we look forward to many more years of enjoying this hotel and beautiful city!

Room Tip: If you will be staying in your room much, ask for a room with a good view. Because of this being a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmesyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a beautiful historic hotel, close to the aquarium and museum. At arrival we were greeted by a great valet staff - Timmy and Eric were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and got us settled in our room. The trolly stops right in front of the hotel, so this is a great place to stay. The only downside was at check-in, when the guy at the desk wrote down the wrong room number, so our key did not work and we bothered the people already in the room. Despite that, the room was nice and the bed super-comfy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLaughsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Valet attendants were AWESOME! very interactive, friendly & fast. Lobby was inviting. Rooms- okay. beds were comfortable but age of hotel was evident. Our view...exactly what we expected for our discounted rate...no good. We stared at a parking deck with I-24 in the background. Housekeeping did a great job. Called for extra towels- very timely service. Had one outlet that did not work & a finnicky lamp, that a long with a tempermental remote was a little irritating but not worth complaining about. The hair dryer was GROSS!!!! sticky, old & barely worked- yuck! The location was convenient! We enjoyed the stay overall

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryKatherine_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Arriving my family and I were greated by the most extraordinarly professional staff. We felt welcomed and special the moment we arrived and throughout the stay. A gentalman named Timmy brought our luggage to our room and assisted our check-in. He then provided stay recommendations and exhibted outstanding customer service. His representation of the hotel was beyond question exceptional service. The accomodations are emaculent and we cannot overstate our recommendations in your choosing the Sheration Reed House Hotel. When staying in the gorgous city of Chattanooga stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doctormonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The perfect place to stay in chattanuga. The restaurant menus is reasonable and has something for everyone. The chef is 5 star and you could take a picture of what they serve. The heavenly sleep beds are so clean and comfortable that it cuts down on your sightseeing time because it is difficult to get out of bed. I will aim at making this my spot to stop whenever I am on 81. Five star. Staff wonderful.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipana79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $116 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing