We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenominal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Phenominal!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

absolutely loved this hotel from the time I arrived until I left. I was completely floored as to how friendly the valet staff greated me. Timmy made me feel like I was gold. Very friendly and not only remembered our name every time but made an effort to call at us everytine he saw us. Chris in security and the hotel staff were super friendly as well. I travel a lot for work and this is the best experience I have had yet. Clean rooms and easy access to lots of things to do downtown. As if I already didn't love it we were in need of something from the gas station and had a few drinks and Johnny from valet offered and drove us there and back. Above and beyond the call of duty! Simply amazing experience!!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigha78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I agree that our Sheraton Read House is phenominal. My favorit is the Silver Ballroom and the walnut in the lobby. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    511
    264
    148
    99
See reviews for
427
497
41
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A Surprise in Choo Choo

My first stay at this hotel. I just checked in. This a very nice surprise. This hotel is stately and maintained well.
This hotel is better than a category 2 hotel and a great deal for using points.
I got upgraded to a junior suite which is very nice and spacious. Ok, the bathroom is not very large, but that is expected at a historic property.
So far people are very friendly and service is good. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful, even though I checked in after midnight. I am on a short business trip and this is exactly what I needed.
Book it with confidence!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonicTravelAmeniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Our Sheraton Read House is a treasure. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. See you next time.
Warm Regards,
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband, two year old son, and I went to Chattanooga for the weekend and we really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We got a great hotel rate and were so glad we decided to stay here as opposed to the cheesey Chattanooga Choo Choo. The Sheraton hotel is located right on the main street downtown and it is very nice. We went to the aquarium and out to eat down the street, which was really convenient. We took advantage of the free downtown shuttle, and we also walked in the area. The valet/bell hop was very friendly and helpful. We used the hotel pool and enjoyed the Starbucks located inside the hotel. Our room was very spacious and classy. The front desk staff were nice and helpful too. A complaint is that a few of the treadmills were not working in the hotel gym, and one treadmill was being used by another hotel patron, so I was unable to run like I had planned. Also, the waterfall in the pool that is shown in the pictures was not working, and the pool was a little colder than I would have expected. Overall, this is a great place to stay and we were very pleased with our choice. We will stay at this hotel again when we come back to town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Our Sheraton Read House is in a great location downtown with lots of hidden treasures. Did you see the Silver Ballroom? If not, be sure to visit it next time. Thank you for the feedback as its how we improve. Our waterfall in the pool is back on and we also turned the heater up. Hope to see you next time.
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Wonderful staff, great location, very comfy bed! We arrived close to 8 pm after a long day of driving. I had reserved a king suite but I was informed no more were available at the front desk. We were promptly upgraded to a large king room with a jacuzzi - which was perfect after a long day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby is beautiful, and we had a great view of the city and mountains from our window. There are several really good restaurants within walking distance as well. This was our first stay but we will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Better view from the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
The Sheraton Read House is right on the electric shuttle line. Although you can walk everywhere sometimes when its hot its nicer to take the air conditioned shuttle. Hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
560 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very friendly staff at this lovely hotel. Magnificently restored lobby. Nice pool with great work out room. Comfortable, quiet room with super comfy bed. Wish we could stay longer! Need to pay $15 a day to park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
The Sheraton Read House lobby is all origanl walnut wood. Its so beautiful. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again real soon.
Warm Regards,
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and you can walk to the aquarium area fairly easy...or just hop on the free shuttles and be there in no time. Upon arrival, the hotel's computers were down so we could not check in. They provided coffee and snacks and tried their best to accommodate. The valet's were very helpful with getting our car back quickly so we could store our luggage while we ventured out. John Michael, a valet, really went out of his way. We booked on Priceline and got a great deal - under $100 for the night...definitely worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Our Sheraton Read House is a treasure. I am so sorry you had to wait to check in. Our computers never go down and I hate that happened to you. However I am glad your stay was nice. Please come back and see us again.
Warm Regards,
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel Lobby is impressive and it is close to the Electric Shuttle or you could walk to most downtown attractions. There is a parking lot across from the entrance that we paid $5.00 per day if you don't want to deal with the valet parking which I never really care for. Indoor swimming pool didn't wasn't very enticing as the water did not appear to be clear and one of the lights of the pool was hanging out. Staff is very friendly. We were in room 346 which I guess is in newer part of hotel. Room was average not bad but nothing spectacular. Bed was comfortable. I would stay again based on rate I got.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnK4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Our Sheraton Read House is a great hotel and a nice location. We are glad you had a nice time. See you soon,
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Property: The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing