We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet night in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Chattanooga, TN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice quiet night in a great location”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here last weekend with my wife and infant. Nice quiet room, great bed, easy to walk to the sights. The hotel supplied the crib for our baby and it was very nice - we all slept well. They upgraded us to a suite and provided a cupcake for my wife's birthday. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StElmoChatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    505
    261
    145
    97
See reviews for
418
491
41
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I really appreciate the staff at this hotel - warm and welcoming...the beds are by far the most comfortable beds ever (you can't help but sleep well)...the hotel is older and historic - in the center of the city (meaning well located and easy to walk to restarants and sights) - the rooms are well appointed (every amenity). I normally have a king suite and it's spacious and gracious (really)...Porter's is a fine restaurant and has a nice bar...there's a concierge level that is terrific for those who are frequent travelers...there's a Starbuck's in the hotel and the hotel provides Starbucks coffee and a coffee maker in your room. Valet parking, a great gym, an indoor pool, indeed a great place to stay (and I've stayed here numerous time for business). At Christmas the lobby is gorgeous...

Room Tip: There is street noise, but it's in the center of the city...so request a higher floor if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takeoffitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

not a bad hotel, it was not too crowed the wknd we where there. Shower curtains were short on all rooms, it was a know issue lot of water on shower floor, hoels in sink, valet parking, found out free weekend street parking. nice indoor heated pool. Staff not helpful. great diner across the street better opting that hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor, check windows they were open in our room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Our Sheraton Read House is known for its elegance and grace and excellent southern Hospitality. It sounds like you did not get the experience we are known for. I was an interim GM in January for a few weeks and started back on March 4th and I can tell you we are committed to giving the service and experience this amazing hotel its known for us. Please call me so I call me if you get a chance, as I would love to try to make this up to you. My number is 423-313-3873.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Although the place is old, it does have its' charm. We were in an upgraded suite and although it was large and roomy, the layout was a bit weird. I could understand that the suite was probably made from a couple of other rooms at some point. The only negative on the room was that the air condiditoner was not effective (window unit) and the main air conditioner (wall unit) could not keep the suite cool enough. Everything else about the hotel was great. Lots of history documented throughout the hotel with pictures and descriptions below the pictures highlighting the history.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fonguy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel is in a great location but it need some upgrades to little details. We didnt have a good view :( Corner room that faced the west side office building and the air/heading units right outside the window. sitting area was nice / the bed was very comfortable, but the bath room was a TIGHT squeeze. Keep hitting my knee onto the nightstand sitting right at the bathroom door. The lobby is very nice and we enjoyed starbucks the next morning, the valet was very friendly......This appear to be a old hotel but in need of some simple upgrades.....the vents were dirty just above the shower / cracks in the wall. over all I stay was very quiet and nice.

Room Tip: If you need a room with a view please let it be known to the front desk.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeDworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in an older building. The entrance has great architectural detail. The rooms are not as grand but nice. Room size is not large but it is an old building. Many rooms look out to the wall of an adjoing building. Some have some wonderful views though.

The club room is nice in the evening with snacks and drinks. The breakfast is not as good as the staff member who oversees it doesn't seem to get it. Several issues were seen on multiple visits such as cold food in the warming trays which can lead to food poising and a fridge that doesn't keep stuff cold such as the drinks and yogurt in it.

Overall it is a nice place to stay with comfortable beds. I would expect it would be a great place to conduct business from.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crjdrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

1. My room was a really nice size. The sheets, however, were kind of old and gross.
2. The steakhouse downstairs is average, not bad, but decor was bad and food was hit or miss.
3. The main lobby is cool with a lot of historical character.
4. We had the hotel call for a cab and it took an hour for the cab to get there and when he did arrive he was on drugs and drove us for the wrong the direction for 10 minutes, until we noticed we were not headed to our destination. Not really the hotels, fault, but still annoying.

For the price this is not a bad place to stay, but would like it a lot more with new sheets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDUB212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Our Sheraton Read House does have a lot of character and we are glad you enjoyed it. My favorite is the walnut wood in the lobby and the last made Waterford chandeliers in the Silver room. Also we appreciate the feedback about the condition, as it helps us to understand what to improve. We hope to see you if you are in the area again.
Warm Regards,
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Property: The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing