We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convention Connection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Convention Connection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Traveled to Chattanooga for a small convention. Being connected to the Convention Center was a major plus. Hotel parking was a bit of a bear but once you got the handle of it, was good. Great location to be able to walk around the downtown Chattanooga area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi John H

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your positive comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location - both proximity to downtown attractions and the convention center. We'll hopefully see you again soon!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    302
    145
    62
    30
See reviews for
233
187
30
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

For the second year, we chose the Marriott Downtown in Chattanooga for our convention. This year, I avoided the hotel’s restaurant, having found it to be ‘way off. The hotel, however, is clean, the rooms well maintained and the service very good. Zac Jackson and Matt at the front desk (Matt was front desk manager, I think) were very helpful. I had booked three rooms with my credit card, but Matt had no problem dividing the charges between the three of us. The one minor flaw was the HVAC. On Friday, it was chilly in the Convention Center. On Saturday, it was cold enough to hang meat in the assembly halls. On Sunday, it was incredibly muggy and uncomfortable, even in the hotel’s rooms. With changing weather outside, this may be understandable. Overall, a very good experience. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: End of the hall, away from the elevator and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hello Rosson45

It was great to have your group with us again this year! Thank you for your business and for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel and I'll make sure that we recognize Zac and Matt for their service efforts. I apologize for the HVAC issues that you mention, and I will follow up on those. Thanks again for your business and for taking the time to share your review with future travelers.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a wonderful lunch at the Marriott. After attending the Southeastern Synod ELCA Assembly closing worship service, we took the elevator up to the Marriott Dining Room. There were 6 of us....all close friends who hadn't been together for a while. Doniece was very attentive and friendly....made us feel right at home. She was also ready to go out of her way to make our experience a pleasant one. Her recommendation of the crab cake sandwich was right on the mark.....it was excellent! Great food, great service.....will definitely come back here! Thanks for making our time together special!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi Shopr62

We enjoyed having your group with us this past weekend again! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Donniece is a definitely one of our "stars" and I'll make sure that we recognize her efforts. Thanks for your business and for your review.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I want to say that the staff was excellent in attempting to resolve noise issues we had. The pillows were very difficult to sleep on and the beds were just ok. I was disappointed in the pool areas. They are older and small. The outdoor pool was open, but the water was too cold to swim. The indoor pool was tiny and so crowded it was uncomfortable. I would prefer to stay at a hotel that was closer to the Riverfront.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velvetnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Velvetnit

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that the pool experience fell short of your expectations. I will share your comments with our staff today. We do appreciate your business and your comments and will follow up on your comments immediately.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This Marriott just seemed a little worn out and tired. It's clean, good location, friendly employees, but a few things to make it better...
update the decor as it felt used,
bar needs to have better wine and beer selection (my sauvignon blanc for $9 tasted like it came out of $2 bottle),
towels at the pool were only replaced once a day in the late afternoon leaving lots of people without clean towels,
AC unit next to pool kind of kills the relaxation (some sort of water feature would be nice to drown out the sound), and
elevators are super slow even when you are on them, the doors are so slow to open and close.

Otherwise for the location and the bike share outside the hotel, this is a clean place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Kimberly C

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments specific to the hotel cleanliness, staff, etc. Thank your for your other constructive feedback as well. I will follow up on those comments right away. Thanks again for your business and for your response.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Even though I live nearby, I stayed at this hotel for a convention. I stayed on the Connoisseur floor so the rooms were very nice and roomy. You can't really see the river but it was a nice view of the city. Great location! That's the best part. An electric shuttle picks you up right at a side door to take you all over the downtown area for free so you don't have to move your car. It will even take you across the river to the trendy shops on the North Shore. I'm glad I had a chance to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUSAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Susan T

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit with us during your conference. Even though you live in the area, we hope that you'll keep us in mind for any future quick getaways.

Thanks again
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was one of the most accommodating hotels I have ever stayed. The amenities were very good, the room was large, very clean and brightly lite. Even though the hotel was full, it was very quiet. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the wait staff very attentive. As someone else stated there is free trolley service to major attractions in the city right outside the doors of the hotel. The lobby is quite large with many seating groupings - has the feel of a resort lobby! I sat there reading and people watching during my free time, as did many others. As I said before, the hotel was full when I was there, yet the staff was always friendly, flexible and helpful. They made you feel as though you were their only guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoVTHokieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
GoVTHokieTraveler

Thank you for your thorough review. We did have a very busy weekend and I'm glad that you had such a great visit with us. We appreciate your positive comments and that you took the time to share them with us, as well as future Chattanooga visitors.

Thanks again
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Chattanooga Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Property: Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402-5032 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is conveniently connected to the Chattanooga Convention Center, making this hotel an ideal destination for meetings. The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to several top attractions, including the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre and Creative Discovery Museum. Nearby attractions also include the Chattanooga Regional History Museum, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing