We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Cheer Competition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Annual Cheer Competition”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

First of all the valet and Marriott staff were amazing! The valet group had the best customer service mentality I've ever seen! Every driver was friendly and professional. The cost was well worth the $4/day over self park. The front desk, housekeeping, and anyone else we saw around the hotel wearing a name tag were always friendly and helpful. The only downsides were the wait for the elevators, and the wait in the small lounge on the 2nd floor. The elevators could take 5 plus minutes to arrive. The lounge was very understaffed for such a busy weekend (it's an annual event) and the salad I ordered arrived with frozen (ice crystals on them) cucumbers. I didn't have to pay for it, but it would be nice if this lounge was better prepared for large crowds. Overall I highly recommend this hotel, especially for events at the Convention Center. There is a free shuttle service that will take you to all downtown attractions and it runs every 8 minutes or so.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King Suite on a high floor and it was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Kelly D

Thank you for your review. The cheerleading competition is a weekend that we look forward to every year. It's great to hear your comments regarding our staff and service - I will share those. I do apologize that we did have an elevator out of service due to parts that could not be quickly delivered. This did cause delays throughout the weekend and I apologize for that. Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback - we appreciate it.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    314
    152
    68
    30
See reviews for
241
198
30
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Loved the room, nice concierge lounge. Did not like the parking arrangement, expensive for the area at $12 per day self park, not an easy trek to the car. In any case, I will book this hotel again when in Chattanooga

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momuvgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Momuvgirls

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and our concierge lounge. Thank you very much for staying with us and we'll hopefully see you again if your travels bring you back to Chattanooga.

Thanks again
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just average - certainly not worth the cost. Elevators were a joke, restaurant service was terrible. The food was okay when you finally got it, however it was a limited menu. Front desk was superior. Don't know if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cyn4467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Cyn4467

Thank you for your stay with us. While it's great to see your comments regarding our front desk staff, I am very sorry with regards to your experience in our restaurant and with our elevator service. We did have an elevator out of service awaiting parts during a busy weekend, and we apologize that this caused delays. I will share your restaurant experience with our Restaurant Manager, and am sorry that we fell short of meeting your expectations. Due to the large volume of activity associated with the Cheerleading competition, we did have to offer a limited menu during this time.

Thank you for your business and for your feedback. We do hope we'll see you again for next year's competition.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have high expectations for any Marriott property. The Chattanooga Marriott Downtown exceeded them. When I first entered the hotel, I must admit that I was a bit turned off seeing how much of the main entrance and lobby area was under construction. But that momentary distraction was immediately overcome by the warm of the staff -- front desk and restaurant -- and the care and attention they focused on me and my travel companions. We were in town for a business meeting and the front desk staff ensured that all our questions were answered, that we had our return flight info and online check-in taken care of, and even arranged for the hotel shuttle to take us to our meeting. The folks there exuded "Southern Hospitality" -- and I hope to see them again soon. I heartily recommend this property for any business traveler that needs to be downtown. Thank you to Tom Underwood, GM, and his staff for making our short visit so nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinKane_DMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi KevinKane_DMW

Thank you for your business and for your review. Our lobby renovations are now complete and I'm glad to hear that our front desk and restaurant staff took such great care of your group. Please keep us in mind for any future visits to Chattanooga!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic! We travelled here from Australia and it was one of the best hotels we stayed at on our trip. The staff were amazing! So nice and friendly! Ecspecially the front desk and the guys on the valet.
The rooms were clean and spacious! There was a shuttle out the back of the hotel that was free and ran every 10 minutes which was great for us to see Chattanooga.
Would stay here again without a doubt if I ventured back to Chattanooga.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleighjhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Ashleighjhu

Thank you for staying with us during your visit from Australia! We appreciate your comments about our valet and front desk staff and I'll share those comments with them. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

bid our room this time-a slow weekend in chattanooga-got a super price-katherine gave us a bigger room with a fridge and a microwave-room was huge-as usual, super clean and well stocked-this hotel has a staff that cannot be beat-i regret not writing down the valet's name. he told us that he had worked there for less than 2 weeks. he brought our bags up then got ice for us. we were at the hotel on dec. 21.2013. hope some one there can identify this young man as he was so courteous and helpful. the new lobby decor is beautiful but i was very disappointed that there were no holiday decorations at all, anywhere in the hotel! downtown chattanooga has unfortunately gone downhill on holiday spirit and decorations in the last few years-in 2012, this hotel was breath taking with it's holiday decorations. also, room service is practically non existent in chattanooga hotels-the marriott's is very good, with extra large portions. we like to treat ourselves to breakfast in bed. we will definitely be coming back to the marriott.

Room Tip: ask for upper floors-families with kids less likely to want these rooms-ask for room with fridge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrakayhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Debrakayhoward

Thank you so much for you comments and for spending the holiday season with us! We appreciate your review and I'll share it with our staff as well. We were light on holiday decor this year, due to our renovations of our lobby area. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will hopefully see you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Once again, I stayed at the Chattanooga Marriott while home for Christmas. The experience was exactly what I expected - clean and quiet facility, exceptionally friendly staff, and a relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is wrapping up renovations and the lobby is gorgeous! The artwork in the main lobby is classic yet modern, and really updates the lobby. They were just finishing the flooring when I left, and it was looking sleek. The new line of toiletries in the rooms is nice as well -high end products with a hint of sandalwood. And the room was a perfect size for having friends over for drinks and hanging out - we did not feel cramped in a hotel room. The rooms were clean, the bed exceptionally comfortable - all things I've come to expect at this property. If you're visiting downtown Chattanooga, you really can not beat the Chattanooga Marriott for location, friendliness and value. Valet, indoor and outdoor pool, two restaurants, a bar, and a very nice fitness center in the basement! I used it several times. The only thing that was slightly disappointing this year - no Christmas music or Christmas tree in the lobby. I suspect this was because of the renovations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Ashlee

Thank you for making us your "home away from home" for Christmas again this year! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. I'll share your comments with our staff and we'll hope to see you again soon!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Property: Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402-5032 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is conveniently connected to the Chattanooga Convention Center, making this hotel an ideal destination for meetings. The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to several top attractions, including the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre and Creative Discovery Museum. Nearby attractions also include the Chattanooga Regional History Museum, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing