We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Here on business. Very nice hotel. Very clean and modern room. Pool and workout room clean and convenient. Staff is wonderful. Very helpful with directions and suggestions for dinner. Hotel restaurant menu is limited but food is good and very reasonably priced. Great sports bar with numerous tv's. Hotel is very easy to find and centrally located. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GClay59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi GClay59

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you found our staff to be so helpful, the location great, and the hotel clean! I will share your comments with our team and we hope that you'll keep us in mind for any future visits to our area. Thanks again for your feedback.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    306
    147
    64
    30
See reviews for
234
188
30
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The lobby of the hotel was being renovated. The noise level was unbelievable; I could hardly hear the folks at the registration desk. There was no seating area in the lobby; some couches and chairs had been moved to the second floor outside the bar.

Room Tip: We've never been disappointed in any of the rooms we've stayed in the last several years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkhart50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
HI ikhart50

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry for the disturbance of the lobby renovations that you encountered. During our renovation this month, we have tried to minimize/limit the noise impact around our guests'/groups' schedules. I am sorry that your stay with us was affected, but we do appreciate your comments, your 4-star rating, and your previous stays with us as well.

Thank you!
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

For $240.00 a night in a double bed room including parking fees it was not worth the money. I expected some upgraded interiors (like they advertised), seemed like a remodel from 2005. Hallways, elevators and bathrooms are not up to par. Parking in the paid garage was tight and limited. I would have stayed at a cheaper place had I known it wasn't a nicer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi Jen Z

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and I am following up on your comments. We appreciate your business and your feedback and hope that you'll give us another opportunity, if you return to the Chattanooga area in the future.

Thanks
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Staff is extremely helpful. Smiling faces and friendly atmosphere make this a great hotel! Everyone is very knowledgeable--the luggage porter told us how to access WiFi. Excellent WiFi everywhere. The housekeeper sent up a refrigerator and then called to make sure that I received it. (I needed a refrigerator to store the pie that I brought back to the room from an awesome restaurant/bakery which is located a very short walk from the hotel)

Room Tip: The City Grill (a very short walk from the hotel) has awesome desserts--pies, cakes, cheese cakes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi Peggy R

Thank you so much for the great comments about our staff! Those are always great comments to read/hear and we appreciate it very much - I will share them with our team. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again on a future visit.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for one Saturday night on a recent weekend trip to Chattanooga. There were 3 of us (1 couple and a friend), and we were lucky enough to get 2 rooms located at the higher floors which are reached by glass elevators outside the hotel - nice! One room overlooked downtown and the other had a nice view of lookout mountain. Parking is convenient in their garage, and if you self park it is quite affordable (I think we paid $10 for 24 hours). The allowed us to check in 3 hours early. The rooms were clean and equipped with the usual amenities (TV, coffee machine etc.). Wifi is free. The hotel is in walking distance from the Choo Choo; the walk to the aquarium and waterfront is a bit longer but easily doable. The also have a shuttle which serves both directions on a regular basis. We did not check out the pool (they have both indoor and outdoor), gym or restaurant, but we had a drink at the bar later at night which was quite nice. Would stay here again any time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silke72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
silke72

It sounds like you had a great visit to Chattanooga! Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience - we appreciate it very much. Please keep us in mind for any future visits to Chattanooga, as well.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great hotel conveniently located to Chattanooga Convention Center. Covered pedestrian bridge from hotel to convention center that helped on first day (rain). Close to some very neat downtown restaurants. Will stay at this Marriott property again whether it be business or personnel. I ate lunch two days at the hotel restaurant and it was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello Charles!

Thank you for your comments. Sorry about the rain during your visit! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Chattanooga as well.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

On our first time visiting in Chattanooga, Tennessee, we were very pleased by the excellent value and service of the downtown Marriott. The room was spacious, everything new and spotless, and the breakfast buffet ($14) was excellent. Location was a short couple on blocks from nice shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukewoodhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
dukewoodhull

Thank you for your review. Thanks for staying with us during your first visit to Chattanooga, and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We'll hopefully see you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Property: Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402-5032 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is conveniently connected to the Chattanooga Convention Center, making this hotel an ideal destination for meetings. The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to several top attractions, including the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre and Creative Discovery Museum. Nearby attractions also include the Chattanooga Regional History Museum, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing