We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“No hot water”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My stay was exceptional until the morning that I was to check out. The hot water would not work in my room, nor was there enough water pressure to take an ice cold shower and therefore I was unable to shower before my conference meetings. Before I went to my morning meetings, I let them know about the problem. Other guests in the hotel experienced the same thing, but not everyone. I had two other rooms that my employees stayed in and we realized that each of us was charged for parking, even though when we checked in we had told them that only one car was parked (as we had ridden together). We also had given them a tax exempt form upon arrival, but tax was charged to each of our rooms. When I went to check out at noon, they had removed the parking charges and the tax, but made no mention about the lack of hot water. Surely a hotel like this would offer a drink from Starbucks or something to make up for missing a shower. Overall the hotel is nice, the service is friendly and helpful. They just aren't good at billing, apparently, nor do they offer to make things right when the hot water isn't working.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Catherine M

I apologize for the issues which you encountered during your stay. We did have a power-surge in our neighborhood on the morning that you mention, which did cause a hot water circulation pump to turn off and not re-start automatically. By the time we became aware of this issue, we did have a few guests that were affected by this outage. The 2 billing issues that you mention will be followed up on with our front desk staff, as those should have been handled correctly and set-up correctly at the time of your check-in. I sincerely apologize for these frustrations and hope you'll keep us in mind if you're in Chattanooga again in the future.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    309
    151
    65
    30
See reviews for
237
195
30
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Timmy was incredible! Very knowledgeable of surrounding area and attractions as well as very accommodating as far as the needs of guests at this hotel. He made checking in and out fun and fast. Will return to this hotel and hope to see Timmy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendolyn S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Gwendolyn SS

Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your recognizing Timmy for his efforts, and we'll do the same here! Thanks for your business and we'll see you again soon hopefully!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just returned from a great trip to Chattanooga where we went to the Ruby Falls and the Aquarium. After visiting Ruby Falls in the morning we arrive at the hotel around noon. We were immediately greeted at the front desk by Timmy who was extremely courteous and provided us with a wealth of information. It was our first time to the area and he provided great recommendations for area sites and restaurants. Since our room wasn’t ready, which we fully expected, Timmy made sure we were taken care of… he recommended a great restaurant that was child friendly and when we arrive back after having our bellies full there was a computer glitch and our room was still not ready. Not to worry, Timmy provided us with a snack, water, a room upgrade, and free breakfast the next morning. Wow, what SERVICE!!! The next morning while we were at breakfast he ran into our kids who were exploring the hotel. He made it a point to come over and see us in the restaurant to ensure our stay was as expected. Both my wife and I travel extensively staying at both Marriott’s and Hilton’s and we have never received this type of service. Service we have only received while staying at the Ritz. Thanks again Timmy for your courteousy and professionalism. I will also say that we noticed the staff throughout the hotel was very gracious... extending from the doormen to employees who just happened to share a ride in the same elevator.

Room Tip: The bathrooms were a bit tight, but very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itstraveltime5042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
ItsTravelTime5042

I am so glad to hear that Timmy made such a favorable impression. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I will recognize Timmy for his efforts. We'll see you again soon hopefully!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff was wonderful. Hotel is very clean and modern. Great place to have meetings and very well located. Shuttle comes to the hotel and the drivers were very pleasant. I will stay her in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Lee S

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us recently. We appreciate your business and I'm glad to read that you had a great stay with us. Please keep us in mind for your future travels!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The staff at the Marriott Downtown is nothing short of perfect. The front desk, the valets, the cleaning staff, the kitchen staff all greeted us with a smile and an interest in our stay. We stayed an extra day after our conference- in no short measure due to the folks at Marriott. The Chattanooga Chamber needs to tell the folks at Marriott thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armidillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Armidillo

Thank you very much for your feedback. It's great to hear and I will share it with our team. Please keep us in mind for any future visits to Chattanooga.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very impressed with the service and location of this downtown hotel and conference center. A perfect setting for business or pleasure. Everyone was very accommodating, helping answer even the smallest of questions. From the valet to the cleaning service, the staff was warm and welcoming. At the last minute, we even decided to stay an extra night after the conference ended, thanks in part to our Marriott and Chattanooga experience. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayelamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Jayelamae

Thank you! We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and location. Thank you for staying the extra night as well - hopefully you were able to get out and see all that Chattanooga has to offer. Keep us in mind for any future visits to our area!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

location of the site is outstanding.the front end staff are outstanding starting with the valet parking as you enter worth the extra four dollars per night. The staff at front dest very accommodating and very friendly.Room was clean well stocked and bed was nice and comfortable, request a few more towels and front desk called later to make sure the request was honored. the lounge was great did not use the restaurant lunch and breakfast was provide to our group and the staff at the location put on a great buffet , food was good and the line went fast for 300 people another good experience. free shuttle to downtown eating locations stopped at back door we used to get but walked back to hotel

Room Tip: the high up room have a nice view of the mountains in the back groung that is the poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougtrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
dougtrudy

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience this week. We loved having your group with us and hope you will return in future years. Thanks for your comments specific to our service, cleanliness, and location. We will hopefully see you again soon!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Property: Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402-5032 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is conveniently connected to the Chattanooga Convention Center, making this hotel an ideal destination for meetings. The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to several top attractions, including the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre and Creative Discovery Museum. Nearby attractions also include the Chattanooga Regional History Museum, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing