We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
299 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, in the heart of downtown. It is easy walking distance to Warehouse Row shops and restaurants. It is also connected to the convention center. The rooms are spacious and very affordable. It was a short distance to the Tennessee Aquarium. The parking was included with the hotel price. To leave you just swipe your hotel room key and there was no cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Barb125

Thank you for your 5 star review and for your positive review. We appreciate your business and your comments. Thank you for sharing with future travelers. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    260
    132
    55
    26
See reviews for
208
168
26
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everglades City, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

So, Upon first arrival you either have to use the Valet or self park in a parking garage the says $12/nt. (turns out it's a whole $1 off for hotel guests) I chose to self park in the garage. Bad choice, it was a real hike with luggage through the Conference Center, a couple of long corridors, then you finally emerge into the hotel near the meeting rooms. Then down the elevator to the front desk. Alternative is to park in the street...at your own risk.

Now, if I were to have booked my room through Marriott it would have been $189 + tax, so over $200/nt. I Pricelined my room for about 50% off of that. I'm really shocked at the cost of a hotel room in Chattanooga. Even the Hampton Inn out on the interstate was $120/nt.

The hotel hasn't been renovated in almost 15 years and it shows. The shower curtain rod was pulling out of the wall so it was hangin down like a "U" and not out to give ou the extra shoulder room. This caused the shower curtain to want to slide down to the center. There were #2 stains in the toilet and trash left over in the trash can in the bathroom. I didn't complain about this since I got in late and was exhausted. If I had paid full price, I would been pretty upset.

I've stayed in other Marriott's and this one is showing its age mare than others.

This Marriott is attached to the convention center, so if you in town for a convention, perfect location. If not, and there is a convention going on....prepare for the hotel to be overtaken by convention goers. They were everywhere, in the lobby, in the bar, in the hot tub, in the hallways. I was hoping to enjoy the hot tub for a bit before bed...not a chance, teenagers everywhere.

All in all, hotel was average at best. As far as the room issues, there needs to be more quality control in the housekeeping department, the toilet was really gross.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SP215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
sp215

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologize for the housekeeping issues that you mention and I have shared those with our housekeeping team this morning. I would just like to clarify a couple of items that you reference - regarding parking, we do have 2 options - we offer valet parking at $14/day and we offer self-parking in the attached garage at $10/day - these are comparable with other downtown hotels. Regarding renovation, the hotel has certainly been renovated in the last 15 years, so I apologize if you've been given inaccurate information regarding that. Thank you for your business and for your feedback - we do appreciate it.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This Marriott is conveniently located, although i am not so sure about walking around at night. My 8 yr old daughter and I stayed here when visiting Chattanooga for a weekend. There's not really a casual sit down restaurant close by- we headed down to Chestnut Street, which is the street on which the aquarium is located. The staff at the hotel was courteous and helpful. There was a conference that involved MANY young (10-12 yrs old) kids and the pool was beyond crowded. The indoor pool is tiny for the size of the property. The brunch at the onsite restaurant was very good, although very predictable. Not sure of the cost, as it was included in our stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
julie p

Thank you for your review and for your favorable comments. I apologize that we didn't do a better job of directing you to some local restaurants - we do have a # of restaurants/bars within a block or 2 of the hotel. Thank you for your other comments specific to our location and breakfast and we hope to see you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This Marriott is located in an ideal spot when inn Chattanooga to do multiple things. Immediately near the convention center and downtown ... and a healthy walk to the Aquarium or baseball stadium. As with all Marriotts - Chattanooga is we maintained, comfortable, clean and "fresh". With "special" pricing sometimes available - it is also very affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMAC2239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
jmac2239

Thank you for your very positive review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Standard Marriott layout and decor throughout. Valet people always courteous and friendly. Front desk staff the same. Concierge Lounge not open on weekends but breakfast coupons given for substantial breakfast buffet.

Prices are all over map depending on activity of convention center. Busy Starbucks.

Easy walk to downtown aquarium and all restaurants but trolley will pick up at Marriott and take you there as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
dsober

Thank you for your review and specifically for your mention of our valet/front office staff, as well as our convenient location to all of downtown. We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were here at a convention. I loved the convenience of being close to everything. Downtown trolleys are free and stop about every 5 minutes. Indoor pool is nice. Every staff member I encountered was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. I thought the food was reasonable in the restaurant and bar. I would have liked to have seen different beer choices, such as a nice porter or stout on draft. A mini fridge in the room would have also been nice. I tend to travel with my own drinks to enjoy in room, Also the lobby and upstairs meeting rooms were hot. Not sure if the air was broken or what. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicmama1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
musicmama1976

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your comments very much and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do offer refridgerators upon request, for any future visits. Thanks again for your business and for taking the time to share with others.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

we booked this hotel on a discount site...I don't understand why downtown Chattanooga hotels seem generally overpriced compared to other, larger cities, e.g. New Orleans...there don't seem to be many "deals" and even on discount sites, rates seem pricey...we were happy that the Marriott more than met our expectations!

we received a beautiful corner room with 2 windows across from the stairwell...VERY quiet!...it was the Thursday before Easter and a lot of kids in hotel, so we were thankful! Good food for lunch at the restaurant and great, affordable irish coffee in the lounge. Free electric bus right outside goes to riverfront area...helps make up for lack of free parking in the downtown area.

staff very friendly, tho the lone girl at the front desk during check in could have used some help. we would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: upper floor, down toward end of hallway seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
lexjax

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the conventient city electric shuttle, as well as some of the hotel amenties. We hope to see you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Property: Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402-5032 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Chattanooga, the Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is within walking distance to the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre, Creative Discovery Museum, and nearby the Chattanooga Regional History Museum University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. The Chattanooga Marriott has an indoor pool and seasonal outdoor pool. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. Business amenities at this 3-star property include a 24-hour business center, flexible meeting rooms, and audio-visual equipment. Dining options at this business-friendly hotel include a restaurant, a coffee shop/cafe, and a bar/lounge. The staff provides concierge services, wedding services, and event catering. Additional amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, 24 hour fitness facility, and gift shops/newsstands. Guests have access to a roundtrip airport shuttle and onsite covered parking is available.All rooms have beautiful city or mountain views. The 343 air-conditioned guestrooms at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown include coffee/tea makers and hair dryers, wireless high-speed Internet access (surcharge applies),and 32-inch LCD televisions equipped with premium satellite channels. All accommodations provide ergonomic chairs and phones with voice mail. Bathrooms offer shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Additional amenities include an iron and ironing board and clock radios. In addition, amenities available on request include refrigerators, a turndown service, and hypo-allergenic bedding and daily housekeeping service. Plan your next stay in Chattanooga at the Marriott Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing