We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Good Hotel, Not a Green Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a competiton. The hotel is in a great location next to the Convention Center where our team was competing. The rest of downtown Chattanooga(restaurants, movies,etc.) is a trolley-ride away. Like previous reviewers have stated, it does need some updating. However, the service was great and the room was clean. One aspect that the hotel needs to definitely fix is being eco-friendly. Talking to parents of the team who stayed at other hotels, they were blown away by how green their hotels were. This hotel didn't even offer recycling which would have been helpful with all our water and Gatorade bottles. I would still recommend this hotel for its great location, but not to someone who is concerned about a fresh look or is green concious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hi Cindy P

Thank you for your positive review regarding our location, staff, and overall stay. I will share your comments with our staff, as well as you comments/suggestions regarding recycling. We do recycle and do have a # of "green" intiatives in place, and will take a look at your specific comment.

Thanks again for your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel does need updating but still a pleasant stay. Kudos to the omelet maker - very nice and personable - plus he makes great omelets. One elevator was misbehaving - supposed to go to floor 12 and opened on floor 14 (they took it out of service and fixed it the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dave L

Thank you for your kind review and for specifically recognizing our omelette chef. I will make sure we recognize him. We did have an elevator maintenance issue during your stay, but it was resolved and I apologize for any inconvenience that caused. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again!

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for $99.00 a night, which is a great value for a Marriott in downtown Chattanooga, and beats prices for lower rated hotels in the area.

This is an older-conference style hotel, however it is clean and the staff is courteous and efficient.

Rooms do need some updating- however the bedding is comfortable and rooms have a coffee maker, desk and 2 chairs. The showers and overall bathroom area in need of updates, but all was clean.

There is free wi-fi "in the room", as well as the lobby, which is a plus.

We ordered room service and the staff was friendly and on-time. Our food was good and not too overly priced for hotel food.

Marriott does have covered parking for $10 a day which is convenient, as parking can be difficult in the city during peak times. The hotel can be crowded when they are hosting conferences etc.. On our stay this time we had noisy children in the room next to us up to 11PM, however we do not fault the hotel for that.

There is a Starbucks located within the hotel that is open during the day-closed in the evening.
Hotel is within walking distance to local area attractions. There is also a city trolley that picks up passengers in front of the hotel and drops off at various points within the city- "at no charge".

We would definitely stay here again when the price is right.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twodiehls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

twodiehli

Thank you for your comments and for your business! We appreciate you taking the time to share. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, the staff, location, food service, and cleanliness and we hope that we'll see you again soon!

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My title says it all. Employees were nice and service was decent but that's about the only good thing I can say. Hotel needs major updating. Location wasn't that great. No movie service on TV. Even the pillows were awful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglesfaninfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

eaglesfaninfla

Thank you for sharing your comments. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We do not offer pay-per-view movies, but do have a full selection of channels. Our location is downtown and within walking distance to the downtown attractions/waterfront, and we do offer a hotel shuttle and are located on the complimentary electric shuttle route. We are in the process of replacing/updating the hotel pillows as we speak. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback - we hope that you'll stay with us again on a future visit.

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

decent location by the convention center but not in the riverfront area. easy to locate from hwy 27
very clean
parking very convenient on site and covered ($9/day for self park)
food was very good at lunch
service was excellent
very quiet rooms and comfortable bedding.
price was reasonable imo

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stkdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

stkdog

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, location, food service, and the convenient parking. We hope that you'll keep us in mind in the future if your travels bring you back to Chattanooga.

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very good service and amenities at this hotel. Gym offered several treadmills and ellipticals. Concierge lounge had a good selection of food for evening reception and drinks. Breakfast in lounge was also one of the better ones I have had at a Marriott. Plan to stay at this hotel on future visits. Only downside is that it is about a 10 min walk to all the restaurants near the river/aquarium..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 522JohnM522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

John M

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive comments - specific to the fitness center, our breakfast, and the concierge lounge experience. I will pass these comments on to our team. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again!

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was perfectly located for what we needed for the evening. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and I felt that the room was very clean. The view was not great, but that is to be expected from a hotel in the middle of a city. Hotel Security was a little unnecessary - we were only talking until past midnight and an attendant came to ask us to keep it down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccrawf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

ccrawf32

Thank you for staying with us and for your nice comments regarding cleanliness and our location. I'll forward your comment to our security staff - they possibly were just responding to another guest request. Thanks again and we hope that you will keep us in mind for future visits to Chattanooga.

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,427 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Chattanooga
The Westin Chattanooga
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $173 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is conveniently connected to the Chattanooga Convention Center, making this hotel in Chattanooga, Tennessee an ideal destination for meetings. We are situated in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to several top attractions, including the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre and Creative Discovery Museum. Nearby attractions also include the Chattanooga Regional History Museum, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing