We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Northport, Alabama
1 review
“Everything was wonderful!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

From the time we booked through Expedia to the time we left it was a wonderful experience. We were there visiting our daughter but also wanted to tie in a Wedding Anniversary. We were surprised with champagne and choc covered strawberries which made our experience beautiful and set a great mood for us! The staff was premium and we even decided to have lunch with our daughter the next day at the restaurant. Everything was delicous and very reasonably priced. The server, wish I remembered her name was very knowledgable and the management in the restaurant was very professional. I was impressed since I have worked for a hotel and know what goes in to making everything perfect for the guest. Again, my hats off to the entire staff including the Housekeeping department. The hotel was very clean and also the room!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanoraBayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi LanoraBayer

Thank you for sharing your great experience with others here. We appreciate your business and your feedback. I'll be sure to share you comments with our staff as well. Thanks for sharing your wedding anniversary with us.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    314
    152
    68
    30
See reviews for
240
198
30
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The whole staff was fantastic. The king room I had was nice, clean & a good value. Room service was prompt & breakfast was delivered to our room on time and hot. This hotel is not quite in the middle of things but a short FREE ride on the electric shuttle ( or walk) gets you to the action in no time at all. You do need to give the hotel 24 hour notice for them to send the shuttle to the airport to get you

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faloughi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Faloughi

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments regarding your sleeping room, your room service experience, and overall value. All of downtown's attractions are within walking distance, but the free city shuttle, as well as our own hotel shuttle are available as well. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope that we'll see you again soon.

Thank you.
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We book rooms at the Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center every year for our annual Wild in the Winter New Year's eve party at the Convention Center next door. Each year the Marriott seems to get better and is always excellent from all aspects. Great people, comfortable and beautiful rooms. I only travel across town to stay here but I had guests from Canada that came to town for the party and they were very impressed with the hotel as well. I highly recommend it for a pleasant experience. Even Anthony would be impressed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddy350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi BigDaddy350

Thank you for your review and thank you for starting the new year off with us! We always enjoy the Wild in the Winter event and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again next year. I'll share your comments with our staff. Thank you for your business and Happy New Year!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We traveled to Chattanooga for a special birthday celebration and were delighted to stay at the Marriott at the Convention Center. It's location is ideal for our downtown scheduled events (Creative Discovery Museum, Christmas Parade, & North Pole Limited Train Ride). The free shuttle being right outside the hotel was a nice bonus. We also used the valet service during our stay which is extremely beneficial with little ones - I can't say enough about the friendliness and professionalism shown by all the staff we came in contact with during our stay. As a mother with 3 little ones I'm usually bound to forget something and it held true this time too, but the front desk was able and willing to meet that need and saved me a trip to the store. Overall, I am very pleased with our stay at the Marriott at the Convention Center, the rooms were very nice, clean and have cozy beds and the staff (from the valet, bellman, front desk, housekeeping & food service) go way beyond measure to make sure all needs are met and their guests are very satisfied. Job well done!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Erica V

Thank you for staying with us during your special occasion. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our hotel, location, and staff service. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked the Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center on Priceline for $79. We were participating in an event at the convention center, so it was extremely convenient.

The front desk clerk was outstanding. She was a polished professional who was cheerful, friendly, and had answers to all of our questions. Later we had entered the wrong door to go back to our room and another employee kindly pointed us in the right direction and held the door for us, despite having her hands full with a tray of clean glasses. There was courteous service at every turn.

There is a free electric shuttle stop just outside the door near the front desk. We took the shuttle to a restaurant/bar area closer to the river. It was fast and convenient. The shuttle was nice and warm inside and it was nice to not have the stress of driving.

Our room on the 8th floor was fairly spacious. The king bed was firm and comfortable. We slept well and woke up refreshed. In the morning, I enjoyed opening the curtains to the spectacular downtown view.

We had filled in an order for room service breakfast and placed the order on our door the night before, and the breakfast arrived on time. It was pretty good.

The housekeeping staff is a bit heavy handed with the cleaning spray. I could smell it in the hallway and our room. The toilet really needs more flushing power, and the bed sheets were woefully thin. Towels were a bit thin, but plentiful. These criticisms do not change the fact that I had a wonderful nights' sleep in comfort, enjoyed many conveniences, and experienced top-notch and very kindly service. I left feeling renewed.

Priceline listed this Marriott as a 3 1/2 star hotel. Personally, I don't think it quite rises to the level of 3 1/2 stars due to the details I noted above.While I have seen this hotel advertised at $149/night, I would not pay that much for a room here. However, if you can use Priceline or a discount like AARP or government rate to book a room for $100 or less, go for it. You will likely experience the same comfortable, convenient stay with exemplary service that I experienced. So glad I stayed here!

Room Tip: Get a room at a higher level to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alminavl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
alminavi

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Bar none, the best bed I've ever slept it. Ever staff member was unbelievably attentive and kind, catering to us like royalty:) I would live here if I could! Pools are awesome inside and out, room service and food awesome!! Five stars!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minderhouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Minderhouts

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed our service, the pool area, and the Marriott beds! We hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This Marriott is located in downtown Chattanooga close to the convention center and many fine restaurants. Shuttle service is available from the Hotel. The beds are very comfortable and the Hotel staff are very friendly. Panhandling is somewhat a problem while waiting for the shuttle. There seems to be good police presence around the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
LB

Thank you for feedback regarding our beds, service, and location. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other future travelers. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Property: Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402-5032 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is conveniently connected to the Chattanooga Convention Center, making this hotel an ideal destination for meetings. The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to several top attractions, including the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre and Creative Discovery Museum. Nearby attractions also include the Chattanooga Regional History Museum, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing