We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have stayed here for some time now and must say that the staff provides the 'Home away from home' feel that Marriott portends.
From the Bell Captains desk to the Concierge lounge the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Book early and enjoy the city via the Chattanooga Shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Roy G
We appreciate being your "home away from home"!! Thank you for your feedback and I'll be sure to share it with our team.
Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 991 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel has continually gotten better with new management. There have been times when I had unfavorable stays, but the staff is very helpful and would not want to stay anywhere else in Chattanooga!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UCHuskies94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

UCHuskies94
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with regard to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is by far my favorite place to stay in Chattanooga. This staff continues to surprise and delight me - Kicks Restaurant is a great Sports bar with terrific food (try the Asian Chicken Salad or Chesesteak Sandwich) - there is also a fabulous buffet breakfast in the main restaurant. And it's always CLEAN and well maintained.

The General Manager is the sort of person you will find chit-chatting with guests and personally making sure your stay exceeds all expectations.

They're busy - but I know why. Give them a shot next trip to Chattanooga.

Jon H

Room Tip: No bad rooms here - I stay here frequently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnoxvilleJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Jon H
Thank you for your feedback! I will share it with our team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Want to thank the entire staff at the Marriott at the Convention Center Chattanooga. Of all of the places that my wife and I have ever visited this one was by far the best. The entire staff went out of their way to be courteous and very helpful. The valet staff was beyond belief. Good job guys and keep up the good work.

Thanks Again,

Jim & Rhonda Purdy
Riverside, AL

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Jim P
Thank you for your very positive feedback! I will share it with our team and we hope that we'll see you again soon! Thank you.
Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was a nice place and we would stay there again, but we had a few hiccups that kept me from rating this higher. We stayed four nights. We had NO hot water the first two evenings for showers. Then we returned to our room the last evening and could not get into our room. At the desk, we were told we had to move rooms due to a mechanical issue. They did not apologize for the inconvenience of having our room access denied and having to move rooms. While I appreciate being moved rather than having a leak or some other issue, an apology or compensation would have been in order. A maintenance person helped us move and he was VERY nice. The new room had a funky smell and the child accross the hall screamed most of the night.
The hotel rooms were nice sized and decor. The hotel is in a great location with easy access to all of downtown with the shuttle stop right outside the door. Parking is easy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

runrchicMn - Thank you for your recent stay and positive words on our hotel. I apologize for the issues you encountered with regard to the hot water. We did have a boiler failure during your stay which did unfortunately affect several guests. I apologize that the "mechanical issue" was not communicated more proactiively. I will follow up with our staff. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights for a conference at the convention center. Wifi was bad and there was no hot water on the first day but got better on the second and third day. Breakfast was EXCELLENT but continental breakfast and a chef to prepare omelette as per your specifications.
Cleaning lady did a good job on first day but second and third day it was bad.

Room Tip: Take a room at a higher floor so that you have a good view and less traffic. Its right next to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelReen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

TravelReen
Thank you for your review of our hotel and your positive comments on our breakfast and location. I apologize that housekeeping was inconsistent. We did have a failure with our boiler on 1 night last week, which did leave us without hot water the following morning. I sincerely apologize for this. Thank you for your business and we hope that you'll visit us again soon.
Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel is right downtown, good location - front desk staff was nice, food in the restaurant was good. I had a room on the 8th floor, nice standard king room, had a door to an adjoining room. It was after 10pm when a woman talking on her cell phone woke me up, sounded like she was in the room with me- very LOUD! If you want a quiet room - just say no to a room that adjoins to another one, the doors between them are paper thin...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moopoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Moopoint
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our staff and hotel - we appreciate it very much! I apologize that the noise from the adjoining room disturbed your evening and appreciate you bringing that to our attention. We do hope that we'll see you again soon!
Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $160 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is conveniently connected to the Chattanooga Convention Center, making this hotel in Chattanooga, Tennessee an ideal destination for meetings. We are situated in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to several top attractions, including the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre and Creative Discovery Museum. Nearby attractions also include the Chattanooga Regional History Museum, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing