We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for over a week for a business/pleasure trip. The hotel was nice, not as modern as others. Our room was a good size. Housekeeping did a good job keeping the room clean. There were two pools, indoor and outdoor, both were hits with my kids, although one day the indoor pool was closed for water treatments. We ate in the restaurant for dinner one night and breakfast a couple of times. It was fair, breakfast better than dinner. The service was terrible at dinner, we were one of three tables and the server still couldn't manage. The food at dinner was just ok. The breakfast buffet was great, lots of choices.

This hotel is a little too far to walk to the restaurants and attractions downtown with small children. We took the car to the aquarium and children's museum.

I would stay here again, but if it were just a family trip, I would choose the Courtyard or the Residence Inn instead, since they are so close to the river, and the attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMom313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for choosing the Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center during your recent trip to Chattanooga. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

I have noted your comments regarding the disappointing service you received while dining with us. These types of occurrences are rare and do not reflect the level of service we aspire to. I would like to reiterate my apologies if you were left to feel in anyway disappointed after your stay with us. In terms of our distance to the downtown attractions, we do have a free electric door-front shuttle service that runs every 5-7 minutes. This door-front shuttle service is located directly off 11th Street and is a very convenient amenity for our guests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 991 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. The facilities were quite amenable, and all the staff were exceptionally friendly. Would certainly stay here again. Parking is free, which wasn't conveyed obviously but turned out to be a ncie bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramblindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were at the Marriott, Convention Center in Chattanooga during the final weekend of RiverBend Music Festival (although we were not in Chattanooga for the Festival), which means that the city was bustling with out-of-towners. The location was away from the thick of things and therefore quite a plus. Doorfront shuttle service to downtown ran about every 5 minutes and was very convenient.
Our room on the 10th floor was very clean and comfortable and all staff members we passed in the hall, elevator, lobby, etc. were always pleasant and always spoke and acknowledged us. Hallway noise was an irritant but that has to do with the hotel manners (or lack thereof) of guests. This hotel was what I would expect from a Marriott . Saying that, however, I was not pleased with having to pay an additional sum for parking and I was surprised that there was no electrical venting in the bathroom which leaves a very steamy room after showering. etc.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Wow! Thank you for posting such a warm review of our hotel on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and for recognizing the efforts of our service team to meet your needs.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We had a nice stay here. It is an older hotel (late 70s I'd guess) they have been actively updating. The room was comfortable and the staff was gracious enough to bring a refrigerator to our room, which was a nice amenity. The front desk and restaurant staff were very good and the housekeeping staff was excellent - great job freshening our room each day and EVERY one we met in the halls greeted us with a smile. The hotel restaurant was a little pricey (as can be expected) but we enjoyed our one dinner in and the breakfast buffet. The hotel was full almost every night so the sllloooowww elevators were backed up in the lobby in the evening. (And the stairs are not handy - and really just for emergencies). We had a room with door to an adjoining room that wasn't especially sound proof, so I'd suggest requesting a room without one.

Room Tip: Pick a low floor to avoid long elevator rides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picgla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at the Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. I would like to apologize if you were left to feel in anyway disappointed with the slow elevators and noise from your adjoining room.

On behalf of my team, we look forward in welcoming you back to the Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center in the near future.

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I stayed at the hotel during the devastating tornado. Trees were all over cars in the road, the weather was terrible.... but the staff remained calm and professional the entire time.

The hotel is what you would expect from a Marriott... clean, great service, nice room. I had a drink (margarita) sent up to my room and it was made from scratch (no-mix). The little cafe in the lobby was great-Starbucks served.

The down-side to this hotel is that because it's the conference center, the location is not AS ideal as other options if you are hoping to walk to restaurants. The parking lot was very confusing and it was a pay lot. (I hate paying for parking when you are already paying $100+ a night to stay somewhere).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustCallmeTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for choosing the Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and for complimenting our professional service team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Nice updated hotel room with a King bed. Quite and comfortable nights sleep on the weekend. Sports bar was accomodating with the TV's and good service. Close enough to the waterfront. We walked 10 blocks to dinner, but took the free shuttle bus back to the hotel. Hotel parking was a bit far.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lanetk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2011

I am very pleased to learn of your positive impressions after your stay with us at the Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for another great stay.

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was very nice, very clean and in a nice locationand the AAA rate for extremely reasonable for downtown. I have a bad back so a good bed is essential for me and I thought the bed was very comfortable. They also have a stop right outside the front door for the electric shuttle which will take you downtown, to the Choo Choo or to the North Shore area. The drivers of the shuttle are very helpful and knowlegable on the area. They will give you great tips on restaurants and places to see if you ask them. The only negative thing that happened was that we were charged $11 for a long distance phone call that we did not make. The only phone calls we made were on our cell phones except one call to the front desk which we shouldn't have been charged for. My husband called the hotel and they credited him for the call. Also, be careful with parking. If you pull up in front of the hotel to unload your stuff and they take your car you will be charged for valet parking ($14 per night). Self parking is $10 per night so be sure you let the guys know you are going to park the car yourself if you don't want to pay for valet.

Room Tip: Nice hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNroadtripper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMgmt, Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor from your recent stay with us at the Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center.

I am very delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and for commenting on your clean guest room and comfortable bed. Your kind recognition will be very well received by our service team.

From all of us at the Chattanooga Marriott, we look forward in welcoming you back to our property in the near future.

Dan Deaver
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,381 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $155 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is conveniently connected to the Chattanooga Convention Center, making this hotel in Chattanooga, Tennessee an ideal destination for meetings. We are situated in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to several top attractions, including the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre and Creative Discovery Museum. Nearby attractions also include the Chattanooga Regional History Museum, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing