We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,922)
Filter reviews
2,922 results
Traveler rating
863
764
563
409
323
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
863
764
563
409
323
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station rail car frothy monkey trolley ride indoor pool regular room free shuttle electric shuttle ruby falls cars depot railcar victorian pullman railroad downtown aquarium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,922 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent the weekend in Chattanooga working. We stayed three nights at the Chattanooga Choo Choo hotel. Beautiful historic lobby and surrounding area. Loved the open courtyard that went down through the center of the old railroad cars. Beautiful fountains and grassy areas and lit was lit up at night by old fashioned gas lanterns. The room were spacious but seem quite dated. Very clean and seemed safe. TV reception was terrible. Restaurant and bar were great....incredibly friendly young staff and wonderful food and beverages!

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was such a unique experience. It was so much fun to stay in a train car. There was plenty of space, even with three of us in the car. While it is not”modern”, it has all the modern amenities. We really enjoyed the stay.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank wadleyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

For a long time I have wanted to visit the Choo-Choo and stay in a train car. Finally had the opportunity last week. Very easy check-in process and we were very lucky to find a parking place directly in front of our car #727. The car is very unique but was comfortable for one night. The car was very warm when we checked in, due to the outside heat. There is a fan provided to help move the air . I did use the fitness facility, which did need some attention. There were no cleaning supplies to clean the equipment when finished. Also, none of the tv’s in the room would work. I am not one to complain, so just used my headphones and cell phone while doing my workout. The train car is very quiet and at nightfall did cool down. Would I stay here again ? Probably not - “been- there, done that”, however it was fun thing to do. Breakfast the next morning on property at the Frothy Monkey. The farmer’s breakfast was delicious and would definitely recommend. All in all a very pleasant experience.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank muhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

Stayed here during a coach tour of Deep South. Quirky hotel with a lot of history. Was a former railway station and now lives on the background to the Glenn Miller hit Chattanooga Choo Choo. The original station building is now the reception area and contains its main restaurant, Frothy Monkey, and a number of franchised shops. Most of its accommodation is contained in a more modern two storey building at the rear of the station gardens, which also contains a pleasant indoor pool.This building has a sort of tired look, as are the bedrooms that we saw. Our room had 2 large comfortable beds, decent storage space, an ok bathroom and suited our purpose for one night. The nicest part of the hotel was its grounds, which consisted of the otiginal canopies & plarforms, which had the central 3/4 tracks filled in to form pleasant grassed areas, ponds and relaxing seating areas. The remaining tracks contained mostly aged and unused coaches, however a number of the coaches had been renovated and converted into specialist accommodation. Also some were used as franchised businesses and a bar. The stand out was a brightly painted old wood burning train (see photo), which was symbolic of the legendary Chattanooga Choo Choo, on Track 29; quite a good photo opportunity. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful, the hotel just out of the Town Centre, but there was a shuttle for those wanting to explore more, and didn't want to do the 20 minute or so walk. We ate in the Hotels' own restaurant, which we found served unexciting, but acceptable food, breakfast a bit mediocre. Overall enjoyed our one night stay, any longer maybe not

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mojoblue717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is undergoing renovations and updates, but still worth the stay. There is free parking and it is walking distance to many of the downtown sites. The on site restaurant is great. The grounds are pleasant for walking and sitting.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank colfal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews