We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed October 5, 2006

I had very high hopes for this hotel. I was in town for a convention, but wanted something fun and different. I stay in a lot of hotels, and many Holiday Inns. The front desk staff told me they would check on some packages I was expecting, I never heard from them again. The next morning I discovered they had been waiting the whole time. The bathroom in my room was not cleaned. A "welcome " card on the bed was filthy and stained, yet was placed on the clean linens. I spoke to the manager and was assured that it would be dealt with. On returning to my room that evening, the card was pulled out of the trash! and was back on the pillow. Again I went to the front desk to discuss the situation. As I was speakiing to the manager, three other people stopped to add their own complaints about the place- mostly dealing with an apathetic or hostile staff and unclean facilities. Other than the historic lobby, the place was grubby and run down. Also disturbing was an out of the way gift shop glorifying the confederate flag and selling bordeline racist material. Visit the lobby, but stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank monstergizmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,591 - 2,597 of 2,714 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2006

I would say that this stay was just ok for our family of 4. All the areas from the hotel lobby (major sections of paint peeling from the ceilings and walls), to the hall areas (stained/worn carpet), to the room (broken light switch and malfunctioning coffee pot, dirty walls, hard to open sliding door, peeling wallpaper) to the public areas (broken doors, cloudy pool water) were very worn. Lighting throughout the property and in the room was very dim which contributed to the dreariness and made you wonder what it would look like if you could actually see more clearly. What salvaged the experience was the following: front desk people were nice, towels were sufficient for party of four (didn't have to call down to the front desk which has become a given in other recent hotel stays), the housekeeping of the room was excellent (no hair, smudges, smells or other signs of the people before us) , beds were comfortable, shower worked well and was hot (though bathroom lighting was poor and no ventilation fan) and the convenience to the Chattanooga sites that we visited. The complex itself was interesting, quiet and pleasant to walk around at night. I might return to Chattanooga, but probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 59greatbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2006

I was kinda hesitant after reading some reviews but decided to try the place out myself. My husband and I took our 2 girls to Chattanooga for Fall break from school. They loved staying at the Chattanooga choo choo. We booked a Fall Fun package. We had e/thing at the front desk waiting for us when we arrived(tickets, halloween goody bags, etc.) The room was fine, staff nice, indoor pool great and the buffet at the Gardens Restaraunt was really good. My kids enjoyed having an arcade there and they liked the railroad musuem. The landscaping/pond is really pretty. I got some really nice pictures of my girls there. I would definitely recommend staying and visiting the Chattanooga Choo Choo Holiday Inn. My family will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

Asked for Non smoking room, was allocated room in same corridor as smoking rooms, place reeked of smoke, disgusting!. thank goodness we were only there one night!!

Stayed: August 2006
Thank PeterMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

The Chattanooga Choo Choo hotel was OK. It is a bit run down. For the amount of money you pay, you are better off staying at a newer/nicer hotel downtown closer to where everything is. The hotel needs a lot of TLC.

I would recommend visiting the Chattanooga Choo Choo rather than staying there. There is a large model train museum (very cheap to get in), a giant steam engine train you can get in, shops and restaurants, and the garden and fountain area is really nice.

The trolley ride is cheap to do to, but was very disappointing. You got a nice view of the parking lot and garbage and weeds on the boarders of the property there and back. The Choo Choo was nice to visit, but not to stay there. That’s my two cents of my experience.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Factor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2006

It was a terrible experience at the Chattanooga Choo Choo. When we arrived they did not have any toiletry supplies, and when asked to the staff to bring it to the room, she sighted, rolled the eyes and left. When she came back instead of handling the requested items, she practically throw them to me. Also, the room had a broken ironing board, I called and asked for one that works the front desk staff never made the request, so it never arrived. When I made my claim at the front desk, the guy (that I made the request) put his head down, and did not dare to ask me how my stay was. We did not felt welcome at all during our stay, thank God it was just one night. And we even fear because of the lack of security of the room. The parking lot was dark and spooky looking. We will never stay there again and we will not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Viajera123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

My boyfriend and I visited the choo choo and had a wonderful stay! We ate at all of the restaurants and the food was very good. We loved the little coffee shop and went there every morning. We really enjoyed our room looking out over the pool and courtyard. We spend a lot of time there! We will definetly be back and would recommend to others without hesitation! The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank eaf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,359 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range: $115 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing