We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Roscoe, Illinois
1 review
“A piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The historical nature of this hotel is reason enough to give it a try, but the best part of the experience is the friendly staff members who never fail to go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and taken care of. The food and entertainment on site is enough in itself, especially the fun times at the Station House. The proximity to other area attractions is an added bonus. The Terminal Brew next door is a great place to walk to for dinner or drinks. We try to stay here whenever we are in Chattanooga. We've been lucky a couple of times and happened upon one of their weekend conventions going on: Harley riders association one time and bulldog owners association another time. Fun!

Room Tip: If you or your kids like to swim, proximity to the indoor pool in colder months is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Your 5 stars means a lot to us. Thanks for the great comments about the history of our complex! I am pleased that you had a great experience with all facets of our Hotel complex. Your review helps us continue to score in the mid 80’s on the Customer Satisfaction Index with Tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

“A piece of history”
Reviewed yesterdayNEW
The historical nature of this hotel is reason enough to give it a try, but the best part of the experience is the friendly staff members who never fail to go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and taken care of. The food and entertainment on site is enough in itself, especially the fun times at the Station House. The proximity to other area attractions is an added bonus. The Terminal Brew next door is a great place to walk to for dinner or drinks. We try to stay here whenever we are in Chattanooga. We've been lucky a couple of times and happened upon one of their weekend conventions going on: Harley riders association one time and bulldog owners association another time. Fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    662
    505
    374
    289
See reviews for
924
795
83
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The only reason I gave the Choo Choo Hotel three stars was because the staff was very pleasant and the grounds are so interesting. The standard room itself initially seemed comfortable, however it was a never ending battle with the thermostat: it didn't matter what the thermostat was set on, it ran unless it was turned off. It had gotten cold so we turned it on before going to sleep, which unfortunately meant waking up at 3am sweltering hot so turning it off, then waking up to a very cold room in the morning. The bed was a little hard by the morning for my liking. We found the breakfast buffet to be over priced for nothing fabulous.

When you stay at the Choo Choo, note there is a free electric shuttle bus that runs from the parking garage next door down to the aquarium!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksrinlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are very interesting and we hear it all the time. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the hotel and staff. I’m sorry about the thermostat. If you call us, we will gladly get a solution. Our goal is to be the best hospitality value in the city. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I like to stay at historic hotels, so we jumped at the chance for a Groupon to The Chattanooga Choo Choo. The main lobby is lovely - it is a renovated train depot. The ceiling is gorgeous; fantastic glass work; original floors and over all well renovated and maintained. The desk service was fast but not very friendly - the clerks acted disinterested both at check in and check out. Beyond the main lobby is another large atrium area that houses one of the restaurants. It is a bit like eating in a public lobby - very open with high ceilings and lacking warmth. The hotel as 4 rows of old train cars that are converted to rooms (2 rooms per car) and 2 other 1970's vintage 4 -5 story hotels. We walked into hotel Building #1 to see the indoor pool. The building looked well maintained but VERY dated - dark and rather depressing. The indoor poor had a layer of odd looking bubbles on it. Suffice it to say we did not swim. The ice machine is located in the very back of the pool area. You have to be able to climb a rather steep step and maneuver a tight entry to get into the rail car room, but it is all authentic to the train and very cool. The room itself is long and narrow, as expected. Our room had a queen bed at the far end; two nightstands; leaded glass lights over each nightstand ; a desk with phone and clock radio; 42 inch flat screen TV (nice); two other chairs and a day bed; a dresser; and a couple more lamps. Much of the original structure of the train car was left in place and I really enjoyed looking at all the compartments and trying to determine what they were used for originally. The bathroom was surprisingly large with a separate area for the toilet. The floors in the bath are tile and in average condition. The whole bath is painted a dull beige with no color what so ever, which does not add to the feel of the area. The tub/shower is 1970's fake marble, but is clean with new caulk and no mildew. The closet is a 12 inch metal bar next to the tub in the bathroom and had 3 mis-matched hangars. Toiletries were nice. The room had a ice bucket and a "pod type" coffee pot. The carpet was in very good shape - looked almost new. Bed linens were nice and in good condition.The main bed had all white linens but the day bed still had an old, very tired looking bed spread that I would not have touched for any reason. The room had many windows - all the original windows from the train - with wooden blinds. The blinds needed some maintenance BUT were VERY clean - no dust at all. The room, over all was extremely clean, which to me is one of the most important aspects of a hotel room. The room "feels" very stable and solid, but when we went to bed you could clearly hear the guy in the next room talking and, later, snoring. The grounds are interesting to walk around (and are like by natural gas torches at night) and the restaurant that features the singing servers is a must see .We did not eat there - went after dinner - and WOW - they are very very talented and put on a great show. Other aspects of the hotel were very tired - the odd model train museum (extra fee to get in); very dated gift shops; sort of depressing arcade - it all smacks of a place well past its hey day. I hope they are able to stay in business and perhaps update some of the common areas so that the trains and the lobby can be enjoyed for years to come.

Room Tip: We stayed in 765 - a Train Car room. I strongly suggest staying in the trains and not in the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for your review and photos. Also, I am glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our signature rooms, the train cars. They are very popular, nothing like it. Thanks for great comments about the Station House it has been here for 40 years! I love to give people the facts. On average, we invest between $1.5-3 million a year in maintaining and upgrading the property
All the Best
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

The wife and kid, stay here a lot.
always friendly service and polite staff.
Not a whole lot open late or during the week in the
winter months. Just a real good place to stay.
You have to pay 6 dollars a night for parking, no free
breakfast unless your a child, they eat free for breakfast.
Rooms are average, standard room has no fridge or microwave,
usually clean though. Some have a sliding glass with patio which
is nice. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We always stay in hotel 1 next to the indoor pool in the winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dri7x77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
“Always a great stay. “is what we love to hear. Thank you for your kind review. It’s a great compliment for us for you to recognize our staff. Remember, the free electric shuttle is adjacent to our hotel. Our guests love it; it takes you all over downtown.
Regards,
Jill Coker
Quality assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
597 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

The rooms were good. A decent location, being located right beside the free electric trolley's. The highlight was the breakfast - excellent option! The room was fine - we didn't stay on the trains. Pool was warm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. Our goal is to be the best hospitality value in the city. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have stayed here before and it has always been great. The staff is excellent and very accommodating. The hotel lobby is beautiful. Our room was clean and spacious. We ate at the Station House with the singing servers and it was a great experience. We will return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiagirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thanks for your repeat business! Also thanks for sharing your story with us and you 5 STAR review. We love to hear that you had a great stay. Come back again soon.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at the Chattanooga Choo Choo to keep from having to risk the terrible traffic conditions that had occurred due to inclement weather. Although the weather had caused havoc everywhere else, the staff at the Choo Choo were more than accomodating and friendly. My room was very cozy when I walked in which was a reprieve from the bitterly cold outside and was well stocked and clean! The staff was more than helpful in ensuring that all needs were met since I really didn't have anything for an overnight stay. I enjoyed the way the grounds looked with the snow all around us and could envision how grand the station was in the past. It is a historical landmark and the beauty of THAT is well worth the stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
AWESOME! Thank you for your comments and a 5 STAR REVIEW. We will share your fine comments with our staff. We love for all our guests to have a memorable experience and a brighter day. Based on your comments you did.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing