We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Nearby Hotels
$116
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chattanoogan(Chattanooga)
$203
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$165
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga(Chattanooga)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Inn(Chattanooga)(Great Value!)
$70
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,782)
Filter reviews
2,782 results
Traveler rating
831
711
534
394
312
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
831
711
534
394
312
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain carstation house restaurantgardens restaurantsinging waiterspizza carindoor poolregular roomfree shuttleelectric shuttleruby fallscarsrailcarpullmanvictorianrailroaddowntownconvention
Filter
Updating list...
1,314 - 1,319 of 2,782 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed for a weekend with the express purpose of visiting the aquarium. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find that there was a shuttle bus that ran from the hotel to the aquarium (among other places). It was nice to not have to drive anywhere during our stay! The hotel, of course, was just as we remembered from a previous visit. The Christmas decorations made the lobby even more beautiful. Our room was spacious with nice furniture. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed eating in the hotel restaurants not only because of the convenience but also because of the good quality of the food and the very friendly service. When we return to Chattanooga for another vacation we will definitely stay at the Choo-Choo!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for the great comments and a 5 Star review. These are the types of comments we want to hear from everyone. We appreciate you staying with us during your visit to the Aquarium; it’s the best. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Customer service was very good and Tyler went above and beyond to make things right for our stay and was very good to work with. We would stay there again. Breakfast in the gardens was pleasant and walking around with all the lit torches at nite was a site to see.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for recognizing the history of the terminal building. We love to hear that you not only were an overnight guest but enjoyed our Formal Gardens and Gardens Restaurant. Thanks for your comments about Tyler, we will pass it on. Because of reviews like yours our CSI for November is 93%. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the rail cars that looked out to the inner gardens. very nice, quiet. Was very disappointed that the dining car was closed. Our meal on a Saturday night took a very long time to be brought to us and there were very few patrons..! That being the case we opted not to do breakfast there. When we went to the bakery/espresso place in the Gardens restaurant , it was closed! we had to eat in the Gardens, again. The breakfast buffet was OK. They were understaffed maybe? When I questioned the front desk about the closed coffee place they told me they had just been told a few days ago themselves that it would be under renovation. They should have mentioned that to us when we checked in. All in all it was fine. IDEAL FOR FAMILIES THAT HAVE KIDS TO ENTERTAIN. POOLS , TRAINS, GAMES !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drivininmycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thanks for your 4 star review.. You are right we are ideal for families and kids. The Café did have some minor renovations; sorry we did not communicate that to you. Diner in the Diner is very seasonal. Thanks for choosing the Choo Choo for your stay. We look forward to another visit real soon.
Regards
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a 4day coca cola convention there nov.6th-9th, The planning staff was excellent in planning all events. The sleeping rooms were large and comfortable and the cleaning staff did an excellent job. I don't think I have ever had such a great supply of towels and etc. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and very responsive to our needs. We had five events over the three-day period in the Roosevelt Room in which the staff changed out the room in between each event in a fast and efficient way. Our banquet to end our convention was on Saturday night and the food and service was excellent. The room was beautiful. Also the people at the front desk were friendly and efficient and did everything they could to make our stay pleasent. Overall, our convention was a success. We had many compliments from our attendees. We hope to have our 2015 convention at the Choo-Choo.

Room Tip: hotel #1 is best for group events
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labron7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Success is great! We appreciate you holding your convention with us. We do a lot of group business and hear similar comments. I am glad our staff and facilities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to another convention.
Regards,
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Not sure where to begin...

Black mold on the walls and lampshade (See pics), pubic hairs throughout the bedding, filthy carpet, and they appear to house college kids in parts of the hotel so the hallways reaked of pot. We had a good laugh but truly a miserable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

I am disappointed that you were disappointed. Did you report any issues with management? We could have easily corrected any problem you had. We make mistakes, but we make great recoveries.

There is no excuse that your room was not prepared properly. We have 4 managers (including me) on our QA team that inspect rooms regular basis, along with the Executive Housekeeper and her inspectors. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews