We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aquarium”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Madison, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aquarium”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed for a weekend with the express purpose of visiting the aquarium. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find that there was a shuttle bus that ran from the hotel to the aquarium (among other places). It was nice to not have to drive anywhere during our stay! The hotel, of course, was just as we remembered from a previous visit. The Christmas decorations made the lobby even more beautiful. Our room was spacious with nice furniture. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed eating in the hotel restaurants not only because of the convenience but also because of the good quality of the food and the very friendly service. When we return to Chattanooga for another vacation we will definitely stay at the Choo-Choo!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for the great comments and a 5 Star review. These are the types of comments we want to hear from everyone. We appreciate you staying with us during your visit to the Aquarium; it’s the best. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    676
    510
    381
    292
See reviews for
934
816
84
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Customer service was very good and Tyler went above and beyond to make things right for our stay and was very good to work with. We would stay there again. Breakfast in the gardens was pleasant and walking around with all the lit torches at nite was a site to see.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the history of the terminal building. We love to hear that you not only were an overnight guest but enjoyed our Formal Gardens and Gardens Restaurant. Thanks for your comments about Tyler, we will pass it on. Because of reviews like yours our CSI for November is 93%. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the rail cars that looked out to the inner gardens. very nice, quiet. Was very disappointed that the dining car was closed. Our meal on a Saturday night took a very long time to be brought to us and there were very few patrons..! That being the case we opted not to do breakfast there. When we went to the bakery/espresso place in the Gardens restaurant , it was closed! we had to eat in the Gardens, again. The breakfast buffet was OK. They were understaffed maybe? When I questioned the front desk about the closed coffee place they told me they had just been told a few days ago themselves that it would be under renovation. They should have mentioned that to us when we checked in. All in all it was fine. IDEAL FOR FAMILIES THAT HAVE KIDS TO ENTERTAIN. POOLS , TRAINS, GAMES !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drivininmycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks for your 4 star review.. You are right we are ideal for families and kids. The Café did have some minor renovations; sorry we did not communicate that to you. Diner in the Diner is very seasonal. Thanks for choosing the Choo Choo for your stay. We look forward to another visit real soon.
Regards
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a 4day coca cola convention there nov.6th-9th, The planning staff was excellent in planning all events. The sleeping rooms were large and comfortable and the cleaning staff did an excellent job. I don't think I have ever had such a great supply of towels and etc. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and very responsive to our needs. We had five events over the three-day period in the Roosevelt Room in which the staff changed out the room in between each event in a fast and efficient way. Our banquet to end our convention was on Saturday night and the food and service was excellent. The room was beautiful. Also the people at the front desk were friendly and efficient and did everything they could to make our stay pleasent. Overall, our convention was a success. We had many compliments from our attendees. We hope to have our 2015 convention at the Choo-Choo.

Room Tip: hotel #1 is best for group events
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labron7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Success is great! We appreciate you holding your convention with us. We do a lot of group business and hear similar comments. I am glad our staff and facilities exceeded your expectations. We look forward to another convention.
Regards,
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Not sure where to begin...

Black mold on the walls and lampshade (See pics), pubic hairs throughout the bedding, filthy carpet, and they appear to house college kids in parts of the hotel so the hallways reaked of pot. We had a good laugh but truly a miserable experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I am disappointed that you were disappointed. Did you report any issues with management? We could have easily corrected any problem you had. We make mistakes, but we make great recoveries.

There is no excuse that your room was not prepared properly. We have 4 managers (including me) on our QA team that inspect rooms regular basis, along with the Executive Housekeeper and her inspectors. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Upon walking in we were stuck with the beauty of the history & beauty of the terminal/front desk. The garden’s are beautifully manicured which makes it a lovely to sit & reflect. Fun little shops on the grounds you can visit to look for that special souvenir. Must see was the miniature model railroads & to ride the trolley on the grounds. For the most part the staff is friendly, knowledgeable with a few exceptions. A few disappointments were the room is a bit dated & in need of a major “spring” cleaning. Carpets need a good deep cleaning, dust on baseboards, under sink areas & several areas could use some paint not only in rooms but throughout the Hotel itself. One of the doors into our hotel area from the outside was stuck open so anyone could come in without using the key card. Beds are also a bit stiff but to each their own. Also disappointed with breakfast in the Gardens Restaurant. Our server was MIA & the food when brought was borderline cold. Think they are used to more folks doing the buffet instead off the menu. Pluses are the location. Fun places nearby to walk to easily & really enjoyed that the CARTA free bus is right next door that you can hop on to go to other locations around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do have a lot to offer on our complex. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the grounds and utilize the other venues on our property. I regret you had some issues with your room. I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action. We take your comments very seriously and it is our opportunity to improve our product and service. Our PMS sends emails to all guest that have given us there their email. For the trailing 12 months we have received 3,107 responses, with an overall satisfaction rating of 83%. I will reach out to you via tripadvisor. Please call or email me.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were visiting friends and family in Chattanooga, Tn. and had the opportunity to stay at the CHATTANOOGA CHOO CHOO!! Just walking into the old train station took us back in time. The hotel staff all went over and above to make our stay enjoyable. We were able to meet some of the management team - all very professional and helpful!! Mr. B., Jim, Jill, Miss Sharon, Chef Mike, Brian, just to name a few , made our rooms (exceptionally clean and neat), meals, and visit a great experience.. We will definitely visit again!! Thanks to all for making our vacation a great one!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the AWESOME comments. It is great to hear that you had a great vacation. Those are the types of comments we want to hear from everyone and we hear it a lot. Thanks for your comments about the staff. Come back soon.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing