We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choo Choo a bit disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Choo Choo a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was with a tour group of about 50 people. We stayed one night in the motel section. The rooms were large but a bit shabby. The beds could be better. The bathroom was tiny and had mold around tub edge. However, the lobby and main building were magnificent and historical. We also enjoyed an above average breakfast buffet. I had never stayed here before but had heard about it through the years. Railroad cars have been made into rooms. Maybe they are nicer.

Room Tip: I would try the railroad cars for a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I’m sorry that you were disappointed. I would be glad to speak to you in more detail about your visit. We learn plenty from our guests. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    662
    505
    374
    289
See reviews for
924
795
83
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
640 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel staff are very nice and try to help anyway they can from the front desk, room service attendants to security personal and maintenance workers. Nice to see that. The rooms were renovated a few years ago, but the wall paper in the shower area of our room is starting to peel.
I would take it off and paint the walls. It was a little noisy in our building, but there was alot going on in the hotel. Everything else was fine and looking forward to our next years visit. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for your great review about our hotel and great staff. It means a lot to our staff to see this kind of a review. Thanks for planning to return next year. See you then.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We wanted to do something different for our vacation and chose Chattanooga. Staying at the Chattanooga Choo Choo was my husbands idea, as he is a train enthusiast. We were very pleased with our room and the surroundings. We ate at the Garden restaurant twice and it was a nice experience. We enjoyed the model railroad museum that was on site and the shops also. The hotel was very clean and well kept. The staff were all very helpful and courteous. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
TRAIN ENTHUSIAST IS GOOD TO HEAR! I am pleased that you had a great experience. Thanks for the great comments about the room, the staff. and other venues. I was just outside in our Formal Gardens and 2 ladies asked if they could see a train car room. I did let them in and they were in awe. It’s fun to see it first hand with a guest. Your 5 stars means a lot to us. .
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and really the only improvement that we would make would be to improve the beds. They were okay, but not like sleeping on a pillow top. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We loved the historical rooms and architecture. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We also enjoyed using the free trolley to downtown. We would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: If traveling in the winter months be sure to ask for Hotel 1, it has the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the history and beauty of our complex. We love to hear that your comments about the staff. Glad you had a great time. Thanks for your recommendation.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stone muntain, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

great experience from station house restaurant/entertainment and indoor pool.
Our kids really loved being here , especially at Christmas with the elves.
Great location and quick access on free trolley to aquarium, carousel, and downtown.
Fantastic history of train station and beauty. Liked the free breakfast and good food by using I prefer and historic hotels. Good room choice and train car room was very interesting and romantic.
have stayed here three times and look forward to next time with excitement.
mike

Room Tip: if you want unique experience choose the train car. Otherwise room near the pool is OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am pleased you had some Choo Choo fun. Thank you for sharing your story and your many compliments. Thanks for your repeat business. Please consider liking us on Facebook to keep up with special events and activities in Chattanooga. I hope you can return some day.
All the Best.
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

A novel experience to sleep in railway carriages, how long since they'd actually moved on a line is another matter, they'd probably shake to pieces as some of the structure is a bit 'moth eaten'. However inside was a luxury, so comfortable and a throw back to grander times. I'd seen bad reviews before we went about the hygiene of the carriages but ours was brilliant. The restaurants were patchy, the main one where the waiters served you in between bouts of singing on stage was exceptional with food to die for! Breakfast in other restaurants wasn't brilliant but there was plenty of choice nearby. The town is lovely with a good walk to a pretty waterfront to walk meals off!

Room Tip: Get a carriage rather than in the hotel apparently some people have reported booking a room in one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianMoore870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your GREAT comments. I am so glad you were pleased with the Choo Choo. The Station House Restaurant is always a hit. The train car rooms are very popular and run a high occupancy. Thank you for not letting a couple of bad reviews steer you away. All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip. I was there for three nights. The hotel is clean, but worn. The staff is friendly and prompt. Only problem is that the hotel needs to be updated or refurbished. I ate in the Garden's Restaurant three times during my stay. The breakfast buffet is run-of-the-mill. The Lunch I had was very good ... I suggest you try the Cobb Salad. When I had dinner, I got a steak and it was a good cut of meat (rib-eye) and properly cooked. The servers did a fine job. Other than being dated, it is a nice hotel with an interesting history and grounds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtaylor0053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We have, and continue, to spend money updating our property. On average, we invest between $1.5-3 million a year in maintaining and upgrading the property Although, we aren’t the newest hotel in town, we do take pride in maintaining a clean and comfortable stay. I am glad to know that you enjoyed the history of the terminal station and our restaurants. We look forward to your return. I will email you via tripadvisor.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing