We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Harmony, Maine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great vacation spot”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We did not know what we were in for when we stayed at this hotel. What an enchanting, historic place. We stayed in a pet friendly room and it was so comfortable and clean and no smells. The inner courtyard opened up into a pool area that was really cool. It looked like the inner rooms all had balcony's. This place was huge and the room was huge and it was clean and comfortable. Dogs loved running about the room. The lobby was amazing. I wish we would have had more time to explore this place it was huge and a vacation within the hotel. Hope to make it back there when we have more time to check it out. You can even stay in a rail car. We did not. Wonder if they were pet friendly? Only downside is that we had a late checkout (we had arrived at 3am and had to call at 8am to see if we could do a late checkout-did not like this) and the maid came by and knocked on our door prior to our check out time. Other than that our stay was wonderful.

Room Tip: Stay in the rail cars if you can. We heard that it was a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for calling us a great vacation spot. We strive to provide the best value and exceptional service in the city. I do apologize for the early knock on your door from housekeeping. That will be addressed with the rooms division. Continue to come back year after year. I assure you that we won’t let you down.
Regards,
Jill
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    676
    510
    381
    292
See reviews for
934
816
84
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southest US
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If the words "new, luxurious, and modern" are on your must have list for a hotel stay you will not be happy at the Choo Choo. If you like "historical, charming, and family-oriented" then it is probably a better match for you.

I found the grounds, lobby, and general appearance of the property to be very clean and appealing. Keep in mind the fact that you are visiting a property that is on the historical registry. Is there some peeling paint here and there? rust? Yes, but nothing that does not appear to have been maintained over time.

We stayed in the vintage rail car with our young child and it was a major hit. The rail cars are plenty large enough and comfortable. I agree with some reviewers that they could continue to update them (for example, the sink fixture was a nice brushed nickel finish while the shower fixtures were old and dingy). The gardens/ponds/fountains are beautiful and we had a good experience in the Gardens restaurant for dinner. At first I thought the model railroad would be cheesy but it was very interesting and impressive. We did the scavenger hunt with our daughter, and all had a great time. The property has several pools; we only visited the indoor pool which was clean. Overall, we had a great time and were pleased with the property. I think anyone with children would be happy hear for one or two nights.

We did not stay in the hotel rooms; the property was revamped in the 70s with hotel rooms so the architecture of that area of the complex does not fit the historic style of the overall property, but if you look at the pics online and read the reviews you should have a clear idea of what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. We would recommend this hotel to other families who want a fun, short getaway with children.

Room Tip: Our rail car was near the shops; surprisingly it was not loud, but if you want to ensure a quiet sta...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank frugalbutfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay here with us at the Chattanooga Choo Choo. I am pleased to hear your fine compliments about the cleanliness of the lobby and appearance of property. We work hard to maintain our hotel. I am proud to hear that the railcar room was a big hit with your child. It sounds like you were able to visit some of our venues to include the model train museum, gardens, restaurants and pools. Thanks for recommending us and sharing your experience with others. Come back soon.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent one miserable night in this place. The entire hotel is filthy, smelly and just plain gross. The toilet in my room did not flush, the bathroom was dirty with hair stuck to the floor and just like the rest of the hotel it smelled musty. The bed was uncomfortable and the sheets were very rough. Fortunately I only had to spend one night there. Don't waist your money on this high priced Motel 6 stay at the Marriott it is much nicer and also cheaper. The nicest thing I can say about this place is the food in the garden restaurant was edible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helloauntb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I am confused as to why you didn’t report any of these concerns during your stay. We would have gladly moved you to another room had we known. It is unacceptable that your room wasn’t properly prepared for you. That shouldn’t have happened and I do apologize. However, I feel confident that we could have found you a room that exceeded your expectations. We have a manager on duty 24 hours a day to handle any guests concerns. I hope you give us another try. Your next visit, I feel assured, will be much different.
Regards,
Jill
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Our room was clean,with comfortable beds, and was recently updated. The iron furniture was quaint. Rug was clean but could need to be updated. Dinning was very nice, and with iron furniture, matching the bedroom furniture. Overlooks beautiful gardens. Breakfast buffet was $15 per person, pricey! But guess this would be expected with fine dinning. Souvenir shops and arcaid for young and old right at the motel. Secured parking meant that there was a guard on duty (somewhere).

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for your comments about your room and for appreciating the recent upgrades. We always love to hear that you enjoyed the many amenities of our property. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We needed a room in Chattanooga for one night to attend an event in the area, which happened to be Valentine's Day weekend, so I browsed all the "deal sites" to see what was out there. There was a Living Social Escape package for Valentine's Day for around $140 for one night at the Choo Choo, including champagne with keepsake flutes, chocolates, bath products and breakfast for two. After researching other downtown area hotels, I found that this was the best deal that weekend. I called to ask questions before purchasing the deal, and unfortunately there were no queens, kings or suites left. While this didn't really bother me seeing as a double bed would be fine for my husband and me, I thought it was a little strange that it was offered as a romantic Valentine package. As we were there in February, and the temperature was extremely low, the grounds were not really all that entertaining--mostly frozen--but it was still fun to look at all the train cars. We were in a double room in one of the hotel buildings, and I don't know when it was built, but the rooms could really use some updating. When we first entered, there was a bit of a "stale" smell, but nothing that lasted too long once we got air circulating. The room was clean, but just very dated. From other reviews, it seems like the whole place is pretty dated. We spent most of our time downtown or across the river, so we didn't fully explore the grounds, but we enjoyed the huge model train exhibit (which needs dusting) and breakfast in the restaurant. I loved the "feel" of the place and the history, and I definitely think spring or summer would make for a better visit. It looks like the extensive grounds would be lovely then. For us, the visit was just so-so. It was convenient to be next to the free electric trollies that take you around the city, but not great for night life, as the last trolley runs at 11pm. We ended up walking back at midnight from the more central bar and restaurant scene and almost froze to death! I would probably visit again if I had kids or if they remodeled...but I definitely would not pay full price! I think the LS deal was almost half off, and it was still $140 for one night in a really old room with double beds. Same story on the breakfast--It was really pricey if it had not been included.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel are outdated. If you want the whole experience or have kids, go with a train car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myWindingRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Thanks for the “cool concept” comment. We learn plenty from our guests. On average, we invest between $1.5-3 million a year in maintaining and upgrading the property I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a great time. Staff was great; helpful & friendly. We were there for a convention and the motel did a great job with our two meetings with food. Our room was ample and comfortable. We had a view of the pool if you wanted to people watch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for your great review! We try to be the best hospitality value in the city. Thanks for the comments about staff. We look forward to your next visit.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I spent a Saturday night recently at Chattanooga ChooChoo, the establishment went above and beyond what I expected during the stay. My key card took several swipes to unlock the door. I return to lobby to request new keys and they dispatched a maintenance working to room. By the time I return the maintenance worker was waiting for me. I recommend this resort hotel to all my friend. Plan to schedule another visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms/suites in hotel 3 over look the pool and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your great compliments of our staff. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations. Your review helps us maintain a very high score on tripadvisors customer satisfaction index.
We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,257 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing