We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Train Cars were Fun but a bit Worn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Kentucky
Level Contributor
183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Train Cars were Fun but a bit Worn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in June for 3 nights on the train cars. The kids loved it, but the rooms were a bit worn. I was surprised that train rooms were quite large including the bathrooms. It was a fun experience, but I would hope that the carpet, peeling wallpaper and bedcovers get updated. The parking lot was easy to get in and out of. The staff was very friendly. The outdoor pool was also dated with worn towels and chairs. The girls didn't seem to mind.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelseymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
It is great to know that your kids enjoyed the railcar experience. The train cars run a very high occupancy during these months. We continue to improve our complex with capital dollars and $870,000 in maintenance and landscaping. We take your comments seriously and review our product. Thanks again for letting us know that you had a fun experience. Our CSI for July is 84%
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    627
    487
    359
    276
See reviews for
887
747
80
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here before and have slept in better rooms. I was in building 2. The hotel rooms need major renovations including hallways. It was clean upon first look but the mattresses were not fully covered and it was very musty smelling in the hallways and rooms. Doors to outside did not shut tight. Tv was very dated. Coffee maker was not very clean with paper cups that leaked. Bathtub had a mat in it that felt unclean and was covering something unknown. I did not rest well due to the fact that i felt as if the bed and room were just not clean enough. On the good side- Breakfast buffet is good value and it is very cool to walk around the grounds and see the trains and the architecture in the lobby. Front desk help was very courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondi7772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your continued business. I am disappointed to hear that your room wasn’t properly prepared for your arrival. We just finished finish another million dollar renovation to Building 2 one and a half years ago. 2This is not the normal level of service that we provide. We will investigate with the department head to see what happened. All of our flat screen TV’s have been replaced within the last 2 years to meet required standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the grounds.
Regards,
Jill Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We are on a month long cross country trip. This was by far the worst quality hotel we stayed in. Felt like it was a bait and switch from what was advertised . The train train station lobby is impressive and beautiful but the hotel is behind the lobby building and is dirty, musty and moldy. The hallways to the elevator to the rooms and pool. Filthy!! Plus they have huge parking lots and have the gall to charge you $6 a nite to park. Total rip off... We have stayed in all sorts of hotels this month from Days Inns to the Hilton. This was by far the worst . Buyer beware!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. However, I am disappointed that we didn’t know of your concerns while you were here. We would have gladly taken care of your situation. All downtown hotels charge for parking. As a matter of fact, the other downtown properties charge anywhere from $8.00 to $15.00 per day. Also, we have 24 hour security.
Regards,
Jill Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was a refurbished train car. Fun to try!Everything was very clean and places to eat in the area were very good. The whole place could use updating as other reviews have said. I would tell my friends to stay here for a different experience.

Room Tip: Stay in a train car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corvette-gal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments about a fun and appreciating the Train Car. We always love to hear that you enjoyed the many other venues at the hotel. We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived into Chattanooga around five and headed to lookout mountain. By the time we finished there it was already seven o'clock. I am an avid Priceline supporter and snagged this amazing hotel at just $75 with taxes for the night. The lobby is amazing. It is an old train station and is beautiful. The hotel has three buildings and we were in the third with a pool balcony. The pool was very clean and well taken care of. They also have a "train station" of old train cars that are transformed into hotel rooms. Our room was slightly dated but very clean, large and comfy. The site has many restaurants and little shops. The food was good but pricey. It was nice to have access to all the areas right on sight. There is an original train that visitors can climb on and check out. There is also an original trolley from New Orleans that you can take a tour of the property. The property is a short distance from the many downtown attractions. This is a great place to stay especially if you have children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMomma170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your great 5 star review. Also, I am glad that you enjoyed staying with us and recognizing the History and comments about our Grand Dome lobby. Come back soon.
All the Best
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to Chattanooga for white water rafting (which because of the weather was cancelled) and stayed at the Choo Choo. Even though the buildings looked a little old, they were clean and tidy. There was an issue with the shower being blocked when we arrived, but this was cleaned within 5 minutes.
The hotel is more geared towards tourists, as they've got gift shops, trains to look at, and a buffet (we didn't eat there though).
Probably better for families with young kids.

Room Tip: Try and get building three, as the hot tub is close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taliesen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I am so glad you had nice weekend away. Thanks for the comments about responding to your room request.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Second Stay,
Staff still all pleasant to encounter, polite and super helpful.
2 Outdoor pools, 1 Indoor great.
The grounds are great but as other reviewers have mentioned, a little updating in the rooms would be most appreciated, I'd till stay based on cost, location, pools and facilities though everytime :)
The breakfast service is good, however the menu could use a little jazz up :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessep666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for being a repeat visitor. Thank you for sharing your story with us. We love to know that the staff was helpful. Come back again soon.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#17 of 97 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing