We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST TIME EVER!!!!!!!! Only Stay If You Are Able To Reserve A Traincar.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
maitland, florida
Level Contributor
290 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“BEST TIME EVER!!!!!!!! Only Stay If You Are Able To Reserve A Traincar.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Your experiece will not be the same if you do not reserve a traincar. The uniquness of the traincar is both delightful and authentic. I had my 7 year old on this trip and he was in disbelief that he actually got to sleep in a real traincar. I assure you that my little boy will remember this specific trip fondly for the rest of his life and we travel a lot so that says something. Our traincar was #766 and was next to the pool building and faced the inner courtyard. an excellent location Traincars also get preferred parking ($6.00 per day) by moving the orange cones and parking in front of their traincar. Free Shuttle Mon-Fri (not weekends). Buffet was outstanding and 2 kids eat free ($18.95 for adult) Entire Pizza's were only $9.95 in the Silver Diner. They had a Singing Server Restaurant that provded live entertainment. We ate at the Sweets Shop 2 times $.99 cent candy. It was not an expensive place so that made me happy. The also honor AAA Discounts. I got a traincar for $170 SO WORTH IT!!!!! The cars sleep large family's of 5 and 6.

This was a last minute stay because I had a special event at 8:00A.M. the next morning at the Aquarium. I actually called from the road to reserve a traincar.3 times in my 8 hour drive from Florida so I kept calling to see if a traincar opened up due to a cancellation and at 11PM when they were closing the reservation lines I was in luck and I got an opening for the last traincar available. I waited for a traincar because I read reviews on Tripadvisor that suggested that their trip would have been more authentic if they booked a traincar ILO a regular hotel room and I was so thankful I took this man's advice. Wait for a traincar it is not the same ina hotel room. The heated pool was awesome and we spent 2 hours there at night. There is also a horse and carriage stand that leave right from the hotel for $30.

The actual Traincar was clean and updated and in my opinion luxurious for what it was representing which was an 1800's way of travel in a traincar. The bathrooms were not as tiny as I expected and very functional with very hot water and good water pressure. The A/C (my most important feature) was ice cold like I like it. There is a coffee maker in the room as well plus an ironing board.

I WILL GO BACK HERE AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Next visit will be a romatic visit with my husband with one day on the traincar then the next day on the Delta Queen (Riverboat).

Room Tip: Only Stay In A Traincar there are 48 traincars on the property. It is a huge complex. The regualr ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mpeacock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
WOW WOW I was very pleased to see that you had the ““BEST TIME EVER!!!!!!!!”. That’s terrific! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I’m also glad that you enjoyed The Station House! I have forwarded your review to the appropriate managers and know you will stay with us next time you visit Chattanooga!
All the best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    657
    503
    373
    286
See reviews for
919
787
82
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked a Victorian train car and was excited to stay in a train room converted nicely,even on tracks with other cars so feels like the real deal. This experience went from a box car to a slice of heaven with the staff quick to upgrade my train car as the first room was 82 degrees still after setting the thermostat to 70 before making the local attractions and returning three hours later to expect a chilly ice car to sweltering heat with a musky smell 740 to be exact. I called and guest relations immediately dispatched maintenance to fix it but in the mean time the staff switched me to a nicer car 741 with artic air and a cleaner over all train car. Kudos for going the extra mile

Room Tip: 741 is nice 740 not as "fresh" possibly just cause HVAC wasn't on caused musky smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I do apologize for the problem that you experienced with your air conditioning but am glad to know that we exceeded your expectations with our recovery. Unfortunately, we can’t always predict when A/C problems occur. However, thank you for your very kind comments about our staff in assisting you to another room. We appreciate you sharing your story with us. Come back again.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Brit in France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel needs updating although the room was clean a bit tired though. The corridors had not been cleaned dirty trays left outside rooms.we were in the furthest away building which looked like a concrete jungle waterfall of swimming pool ran all night outside our room, didn't get a lot of sleep.breakfast room a long long way from our room especially in the snow and cold!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. We get many repeat guests who request building 3 due to the view, waterfall, and private balcony. If we had known of you were not happy with the location, we would have gladly moved you to another room. We do have golf carts to move guest around our 25 acre complex, just call the operator. Our Customer Satisfaction Index for the 3rd quarter on Trip advisor is 86% and this is one of the busiest times of the year.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a great historic hotel. It is the location of the original train station of Chattanooga and has been renovated as a hotel. Lots to do and right downtown so close to shopping and other Chattanooga attractions. At $89, it was a real bargain. The only problem with this hotel, is it is in serious need of an update. It is starting to look old, dated, and weary.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. We have, and continue, to spend money updating our property. Four years ago, we finished a 1 million dollar plus renovation to our guest rooms and corridors in Building 3 to brand standards. We just finished another million dollar renovation to Building 2. Although, we aren’t the newest hotel in town, and we do take pride in maintaining a clean and comfortable hotel. I am glad to know that you enjoyed the history of the terminal station. We look forward to your return.
Regard,
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for the Scenic City Half Marathon. The people that work here are very very very very helpful, both with on-site questions and for other attractions in the local area. We actually have stayed here multiple times, and have gone back. The only thing was at that time it was kind of chilly and the heated pool was cold, so ended up jumping in and then running back up to the room to jump in hot shower. Later found out pump had gone out. But great place to stay and central to things to do in Chattanooga. Oh, also, the pizza is FABULOUS in the train car!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go ahead and stay in the CARS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNExpeditions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the WOW comments about the staff. We work very hard to provide exceptional service, to have the best hospitality value in the city. Those are the types of comments we want to hear from everyone. We were thrilled to be a sponsor of the Marathon. We look forward to your return. Thanks for your repeat business
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here with my husband, two year old and baby during a cold early April. The "resort" was fantastic - we enjoyed the indoor pool, the Station House with singing servers, the stores, the model railroad and the outdoor gardens. Basically there was plenty to keep us busy and happy. Staying in a railway car room was a unique treat that we all enjoyed. The "room" could use a little updating but overall the beds were comfy and we had no problem paying a little premium for the novelty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starshark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed the train car. Also, I am glad that you enjoyed the “resort” feel of our complex and our amenities. We get many similar comments from other guests.
All the Best
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Tennessee, usa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We make this trip at least once a year, and we love every minute of the staff and hotel. I see some state the hotel has some age on it as do the rail cars but come on folks, its the history and opportunity to enjoy a part of history that should make you smile. The station House is some of the best food and entertainment around, we use the trolley bus system to move around without having to drive. The attractions surrounding are great. The granddaugher and her friend loved the horse drawn carriage ride. If you want to stay in a brick and mortar hotel then do so but if you want to experience a great staff, food, and relive a part of history that is gone now, stay with this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: the in door pool is very nice but if you want a part of history then the rail cars are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
THANK YOU for your 5 star review. Thanks for your repeat business .You are right; anyone can have bricks and mortar, but if you want an experience come here. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff... All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing