We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another great stay at the ChooChoo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
1 review
“Another great stay at the ChooChoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My family has stayed at the ChooChoo every holiday season for the past 20 years. Both the train cars and the hotel rooms are very accommodating. We also love eating at The Station House on site and going in the shops at the hotel complex. There is definitely a lot to do in the area around the hotel. Our kids have enjoyed it through the years, and now our granddaughter has begun to enjoy it, too. Thanks, ChooChoo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments and your continued repeat business. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to many more.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    644
    495
    369
    284
See reviews for
907
773
81
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a coach tour, Titan Travel Sights and Sounds of the South. We had a ground floor twin room in building one which was larger than expected but looked like it needed modernised. The hotel seemed very quiet being the end of winter and many of the on sight facilities were closed on a Wednesday and Thursday. There was a lovely indoor swimming pool but it didn't open until 9am and I enjoy an early swim. I will post a review for the Station House where we ate one night. I did love the churros and maple syrup for breakfast. The free shuttle downtown is very handy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marionspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for your impressions. We have done a complete renovation in that building as well as the other buildings in recent years. Titan has had a series with us for years. And we normally get great reviews from their guests. I do apologize that the pool hours didn’t meet your schedule. If we had known, we could have special arrangements for an early morning swim.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Kids loved staying on the train and the Station House restaurant was fun and entertaining!! We loved our singing server. The train car was comfortable and very roomy! They are done in Victiorian decor so if you want modern, then this would not be for you. The kids liked swimming in the indoor pool. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srich6421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
It is thrilling to see that you enjoyed your stay to include your overnight accommodations in a railcar and the Station House restaurant. Your comments will be shared with the staff. We work hard to be the best hospitality value in Chattanooga. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked 22 rooms for 7th & 8th grade students & chaperones 7 months before visit. Asked for rooms with only doors opening to inside hallways (for safety of children). Got there & had every room with sliding glass doors that open to outside (1st floor rooms)! 2 rooms were filthy. Provided proof we asked for and were supposed to have no outside entry rooms. moved us to 2nd floor - filthy rooms. check in was at 3pm - finally got kids into rooms at 10:30PM... staff was not courteous or helpful. will never stay here or recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: tip to help travelers choose a good room..... pick a room at another place!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
You know situations have two sides to every story, this one of them. While there were some issues regarding room assignments after check-in, your comments regarding service and housekeeping are troubling and not exactly correct. The rooms originally assigned to your group were on the ground floor and each room in Hotel 2 has a sliding glass door with a railing - they are not considered entry/exit doors. In fact, we have hosted numerous school groups (of all ages) on the ground floor of that particular building. WE still have not located the proof of your alleged request. When you notified us of your concerns Friday, we worked to relocate your entire group of 22 rooms to the second floor, which did take about an hour to do, because we had a full hotel. The new keys were sent to your original room with a revised rooming list by 5 PM. Around 9 PM, you came back to the front desk and indicated that you were missing keys for a room; however, you were unsure of which room since you manually re-assigned the rooms afterwards without notifying us. We were happy to assist you, but the manner in which you presented yourself was very unprofessional, especially when you walked-in to a restricted employees-only area. We strive to provide the best service possible and typically receive great reviews regarding our level of service. There is no excuse for cleanliness issues of any kind and we are investigating your comments for corrective actions.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDDLESBORO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel lobby is a marvelous example of architechtual detailing we just don't see anymore. The grandeur of the building sends me back to a time of prosperity and elegant travel. The infamous RR stationed here awaits visitors to capture in photos or even sleep and dine in. We had dinner at the Station House Restaurant on the premises and were thoroughly entertained by singing servers. The food was perfectly cooked and entertainment an added feature (a 15%gratuity is added). The hotel is a must see for Chattanooga as the city's roots revolve around this historic beauty

Room Tip: Hotel has three buildings-we were in 3 which is a good walk from the lobby which I enjoyed-you can w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumberlandmanorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am happy to hear that you stay was wonderful. Thank you for sharing your comments and appreciating the historic beauty of the station. We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We are having many of the same experiences I have read. And yes, we are still here! The lobby is beautiful but the rooms are in much need of repair. There is peeling wallpaper, dirt in every corner, stained carpet and it was obvious that everything in the room as well as bldg 2 needed a very deep cleaning. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful as well as housekeeping but the staff in the main restaurant is less than enthusiastic about their jobs. The hostess on Sunday night was downright rude. The food is also substandard. I thought there were several restaurants on sight but it seems the only ones are the garden and the silver diner that has pizza are really open. The Station House is only open certain days. Indoor pool is too small for the amount of rooms on the property. Overall it was a big disappointment for us; however I will say my kids enjoyed the trains. So don't stay, just visit!

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. I feel assured that if you had known of your concerns with your room we could have rectified the situation. It is unacceptable that the room wasn’t clean and ready for you and the rude service that you received in the restaurant. We will use your comments to continue to improve our product and service. We would like to earn your business back..
Regards,
Jill Ellis
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had been to Chattanooga on business and stayed at the Sheraton Reed House. A bunch of us went to the Station Restaurant at the Chattanooga Choo Choo and had a great time. We loved the looks of the old train depot, and we all thought it would be fun to stay in one of the train cars when not on business.

So I booked one for our anniversary. The train car had old, stained, smelly carpet. The wall paint (a shabby shade of boring) was chipped. The victorian chairs were not comfortable. The bed was comfortable enough, but all the pillows were cheap foam, and they had no feather pillows. There was a thin blanket on the bed and another on the shelf - completely inadequate for the cold night. My legs were cramping from the cold. Nice hotels have feather pillows and fluffy comforters. The tissues were cheap and rough. However, the wi fi was great and there was a very nice TV.

We had the breakfast buffet, which was supposed to be $11.95 per person - reasonable. However, we each had a cup of coffee and glass of orange juice which added another $11.50. Good grief!

I didn't feel pampered or valued at all at this hotel. It was more like "How can we get as much of your money as we can and give you as little as possible?" I was thinking of the innkeepers in Les Miserables the whole time.

This would be easy to fix, and I think they could keep the place filled. Revamp the train cars with new carpet and some color. Put both foam and feather pillows on the beds and a nice fluffy comforter with a cover that can be washed for each guest (like the Hampton Inn does). Get better bathroom fixtures - the toilet paper holder was tacky and the mirror was a square uninteresting thing. Get premium tissue and put a sofa in the train cars.

Next visit will be back at the Sheraton.

Room Tip: Don't choose a train car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 97 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing