We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Chattanooga
1 review
“Anniversary”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were very pleased with service, upgraded to suite at no extra charge. Station House retaurant was awesome, good food and great entertainment. Our waiter Kenny Herron went beyond all expectations. Room was very nice and clean. outside of hotel could use some updating and color.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am so glad that you had a wonderful time celebrating your anniversary. Congratulations! It is great to know that you enjoyed the suite and the Station House restaurant. Come back for another weekend getaway.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    682
    516
    385
    294
See reviews for
943
822
86
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus. Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is billed as a historic hotel. It has multiple hotel buildings, plus rooms available in old railroad cars [for a $40 upcharge]. It also has several restaurants and shops, and a large ballroom/meeting area. Our room was spacious but tired. Our building had little sound proofing so we heard doors opening and closing, cars pulling in, etc. for much of the evening. Public areas were ... tired. The ballroom, where we were working the next day, was ... tired. We were here off-season so many of the shops were closed by 6, when we arrived. We walked around the railroad cars/upgraded rooms. Couldn't see in them but the cars themselves looked ... tired. We considered having dinner at the Station House restaurant, where wait staff also step onstage and perform ... but the live music was so loud we opted to eat elsewhere where we could talk. Hotel staff were wonderfully helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am sorry that you weren’t pleased with your accommodations. Ownership has reinvested millions of dollars into the Choo Choo. Three years ago, we finished a 1 million dollar plus renovation to our guest rooms and corridors in Building 3 to brand standards. It is requested regularly by thousands of guests because of the oversized rooms, balcony or patio for each room. We just finished another million dollar renovation to Building 2. The Ballroom was renovated in 2007. I don’t know your room number, but would be glad to speak to you in more detail about your visit. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
857 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel lobby is one-of-a-kind as the old rail station and the whole experience continues from there to the restaurants, outside areas, train cars, etc. Great place for children with fun shops and train museum. We did not book one of the train cars rooms but will next time to enjoy that unique experience. Our room was normal and average with a sagging king bed and spartan facilities. We found it weird and very inconvenient to have to trek through the pool area with all our luggage to get to our room. That was difficult with multiple locked doors and wet floor bit we got in and settled.
The hotel is a distance from the aquarium, riverfront, restaurants and city activities, but the terminus for the free electric shuttles is next to the hotel; very convenient.
We ate the prime rib buffet special in the Gardens Room. Average fare for most of the food. After, all it is a buffet. The prime rib was very good.
Overall, an OK stay. We will stay here again on our return to Chattanooga with our grandchildren and treat them to a night in a rail car.

Room Tip: Try the rail cars if your budget allows for a unique experience. Beware of Building 1, with the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knox10SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We love to hear such comments and I will make sure they are shared with the departments. We take great pride in our property. We will check the bed out in this room. Come back again soon!
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I have no stayed here three times in the last year and a half, once for Chattacon and twice for Connooga. I have NEVER had anything go wrong here. All of the staff are friendly and very welcome. They made me feel wanted, and not just a burden to the hotel. Some conventions I have gone to the staff acts annoyed to have us, but The Choo Choo has NEVER had that attitude. Beyond their superb service, their facilities are wonderful. We have stayed in building two and three (three being my favorite due to the parties/pool area), and they are both neat and each unique from the other. Next year just to try it out, we are going to stay in building one, so I can swim in the warm indoor pool. Everything was clean, and convenient, and rooms are very nice and relaxing. I also hope to someday stay in one of the car rooms, because that seems really cool. I again just want to thank the staff for everything, and I hope to stay there every year I go to the cons there.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but I will advise IF YOU ARE STAYING FOR CONNOOGA OR CHATTACON that if you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenPierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
FANTASTIC IS WHAT WE LOVE. Conooga is a great event with great people like you.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband bought a stay at this hotel through social media. He was looking forward to visiting Chattanooga. The attractions were great and we enjoyed our weekend visiting all the sites.
However our stay at the hotel was not as fun. This hotel is in serious need of updating. Our hotel room was large but rather dirty. The clock radio had months worth of dust on it and the other nightstand had not been wiped clean in awhile We had breakfast at the hotel. My first napkin was dirty and had lipstick stains. The second napkin had hair on it.(pubic) The coffee cup I was given had lipstick stains and was dirty on the outside. I will never stay here again. The whole place made my stomach turn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I am sorry about this situation. Did you notify management about your issues? If management knows of an issue they will act on it. We do not like unhappy guests. I assure you that this is not the normal level of service that we provide. . We have 4 managers (including me) on our QA team that inspect rooms on a regular regular basis, along with the Executive Housekeeper and her inspectors. Our CSI with Tripadvisor this quarter is 83%. I will email you via tripadvisor to talk to you about your review.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a fun place to stay that is reasonably priced, and close to everything. There are lots of hokey, train-themed shops and things on the premises. The place is very old, so if you are the kind of person that critiques the wallpaper, you may want to stay somewhere else.

But if you are fun, and you want to be within a few blocks walk or free trolley ride to all of the fun things in Chattanooga, stay at the Choo Choo.

Also, for really great food and beer, try the Terminal Brewery right next door, they are always busy and there is usually a wait for a reason.

Room Tip: I know the train cars sound fun, but stay in a normal room. Better price, less claustrophobic, will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atmccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We strive to provide the best hospitality value and exceptional service in the city. It sounds like you were able to enjoy the venues around the complex. Thank you for your comments. We hope you will come back again while visiting Chattanooga.
Regards,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I were in Chattanooga on business, and we stayed here, although we usually stay elsewhere. Tried a change. This place is revolting. Sticky carpet in room, black mold spots on ceiling (let's HOPE it was mold...) food clotted on chairs in room. Vile.

Room Tip: Somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We cannot find you in our Property Management System. If you stayed with us, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. I would like the opportunity to speak with you concerning the issues you encountered. Did you speak to a manager during your stay? We always want the customer to talk to us while they are here do we can make sure they have a pleasant stay. Please call me at the hotel so we can get more information on your experience. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing