We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Nearby Hotels
$185
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chattanoogan(Chattanooga)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$165
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$146
$136
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Royal Inn(Chattanooga)(Great Value!)
$70
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga(Chattanooga)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,782)
Filter reviews
2,782 results
Traveler rating
831
711
534
394
312
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
831
711
534
394
312
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain carstation house restaurantgardens restaurantsinging waiterspizza carindoor poolregular roomfree shuttleelectric shuttleruby fallscarsrailcarpullmanvictorianrailroaddowntownconvention
Filter
Updating list...
1,646 - 1,651 of 2,782 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I were in Chattanooga on business, and we stayed here, although we usually stay elsewhere. Tried a change. This place is revolting. Sticky carpet in room, black mold spots on ceiling (let's HOPE it was mold...) food clotted on chairs in room. Vile.

Room Tip: Somewhere else.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

We cannot find you in our Property Management System. If you stayed with us, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. I would like the opportunity to speak with you concerning the issues you encountered. Did you speak to a manager during your stay? We always want the customer to talk to us while they are here do we can make sure they have a pleasant stay. Please call me at the hotel so we can get more information on your experience. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Spur of the moment over night trip to Chattanooga. After hearing about how original the train car hotel rooms were we decided to check out the historic Choo Choo. We were happily surprised that they were able to accommodate us on such short notice! The nice reservation lady even gave me her AAA discount! Check in was quick and easy. Armed with a map and parking pass we set off to find a parking spot. Unfortunately Con Nooga festival was going on that same weekend so there were very few parking spots available and boy was it a long walk to our room! They said they have a free golf cart shuttle but we only seen it once and it was occupied. We found our train car easily. Loved walking between all the train cars lined up on the tracks. Really felt like we were boarding a train! Especially when you step onto the car to go into your room! Room was old and worn but clean enough. Pretty much how we expected it to be after reading reviews. Decor was close to what you'd expect in a historic train car. Carpet needed to be replaced. Bed and linens were comfortable. Plenty of towels provided. Bathroom was small especially the toilet area. Shower and tub needed to be upgraded especially the shower head and curtain. Free WiFi in rooms was really nice and so was the flat screen swivel tv. Didn't really explore any other aspects of the hotel but the Grand Lobby was impressive. Overall impression was that it was a one of a kind experience staying in a train car hotel room but the price was kind of steep for the level of luxury offered. Warning the walls are thin! Max, whoever you are you are a lucky man! ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajcampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thanks for choosing to stay with us on your trip to Chattanooga. We value your opinion and appreciate you taking the time to share your story with us. At times, we can have challenges with parking but we do have multiple golf carts that will help at any time. I am unsure as to why the golf cart service seemed limited during your stay as we had more than the usual number of carts running during that time. Thank you for letting us know. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the wifi and flat screen TV in your room. In reference to your comments about the bathroom, we do work on upgrading our rooms. We just recently upgraded the bedding in all the railcars and the amenities in the bathroom. Thank you for your impressions. We look forward to your return.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I booked two nights to stay in a train car. The train car was filthy. The window blinds looked like they had not been cleaned in years, there was an old hairnet on the floor and the overall cleanliness of the room and bathroom was not acceptable! The accoustics were bad and we could hear the family on the other side. The temperature in the train car was hard to regulate. The fan in the bathroom made a horrible noise and the hair dryer overheated and quit. The bathroom was really outdated and needed gutting. In fact it was so bad we left and only stayed one night with no compensation from management. Would not return to this destination.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phyllis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience during your visit with us. I have spoken to the department heads about your situation and have had that room deep cleaned and had the maintenance department go through and check on all of the issues as well. The train cars are Historic and unfortunately they aren’t insulated like today’s models, so you can hear some noise on occasion, but the uniqueness and charm brings people back. I have tried to call you so we can talk about your experience; I assure you we take these issues seriously. We had a full hotel while you were here and had many happy guests. I personally spoke to many of them. I regret you were not one of them.
All the Best
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Chattanooga Choo Choo is a great place to stay if you like to encounter some history with your travels. The lobby is a former train station, and the soaring atrium is worth a look even if you're just passing by. There is a large array of food and fun offered; I had a pizza from the "pizza car" (many of the amenities, including some of the rooms, are on old trains) and it was quite good.

Well situated close to downtown proper, there's a bike rental station right outside the front of the hotel, enabling you to enjoy the cycling-friendly city at your own pace. And lots of great restaurants, shops and bakeries close by.

The amenities are in line with a 3- or 4-star hotel, but the extra bit of history is what makes the Choo Choo a special place.

Room Tip: Spend the extra funds for a unique setting and sleep in a restored train car!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for recognizing the history of the terminal building. We love to hear that you not only were an overnight guest but enjoyed our other venues. Glad you had a great time. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited Chattanooga for a quick overnight trip and stayed in a rail car at the Choo Choo. While the experience of sleeping in a train car was fun, there wasn't much else to do onsite.

We were in car #730. It was expected that the train car/room would be showing age, but they do need to step it up a little with housekeeping. We had several dirty towels and a half-empty conditioner bottle waiting upon arrival. There was an off-putting smell in the room when we arrived, but we eventually got used to it. I don't know if they all would smell the same.

Hardly any of the hours posted for various things onsite were correct. The trolley ran odd hours and we were never able to ride. As we approached, the driver said it was just stopping for the day. The coffee shop closed it's doors as we were walking towards it. Of the 3 games we tried to play in the arcade, 2 took our money and never worked. The small merry-go-round outside the arcade did the same. Our kids were very disappointed.

We did visit the model railroad museum there and it was really neat. *Be sure to pick up one of the brochures on the way in that gives background info on a bunch of things to look for throughout the display.*

We passed on the restaurant there with the singing waiters as it wasn't appropriate for our small children. There weren't any items listed for children on the menu posted outside; and the prices were way too high to pay for them to have an adult meal. The breakfast buffet in the main building was really good and the staff there were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacaPrincess-00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the railcar room. However, I am sorry that you were unable to visit some of the retail locations. Some of the hours vary during our winter months but you should have been informed of that during the check-in process. We do try to accommodate and be flexible during those times of shortened or limited hours. I do apologize that you weren’t given that opportunity. We will use your comments to continue to improve our product and service. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the Model train museum and the Garden’s Restaurant. We hope that you will come back and stay again in one of our railcar or hotel rooms.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews