We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old historical hotel with railroad car rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Old historical hotel with railroad car rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We found a great price through Hot Wire. We had an old but comfrotable room. This hotel is conveniently located with a free downtown shuttle next door. The hotel has 4 good restaurants, 3 nice pools and a beautiful garden. It is a old hotel, so the hallways are noisy and it does have a little old smell. It was very clean and it looks like they are fixing it up.

Room Tip: Walk the Walnut Bridge across the TN River. There were festivals on both sides of the bridge last w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetoeatMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thanks for your comments. I am glad that you were able to visit the restaurants, pools and garden. We work very hard to maintain our property. Just as you stated, we are indeed upgrading our hotel. We have just completed a 97 guest rooms and corridor renovation in Building 2. Thank you for recognizing that. We look forward to your return.
Regards
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    662
    505
    374
    289
See reviews for
924
795
83
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Upon arriving we walked into our room. At 1st glance you are impressed. However, when we laid down in the bed and looked up the corner of the ceiling and wall were molded & peeling away. The coffee pot did not have the filter area & the ice bucket had trash in it from the previous customer. I would not pay those prices again. The hot tub was NOT hot and kids ran around till all hours of the night.

The staff almost acted like assisting us was too much trouble! I will stick with the Hampton Inn or Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzanne326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
I am disappointed to hear of your comments. Did you report the noise issue with the front desk? We have 24 hour security that would have taken care of that; if they had known. I am unsure as to your comment of an “old” room but I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. We would have gladly moved you to another room. I assure you that we want all of our guests to have a great experience. Thank you for appreciating the history of the Choo Choo. Regards,
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed at the Choo Choo for business in April 2012. I was impressed with the grand foyer and reception desk area. It had the look of the old train station - high ceilings, ornate trim, etc. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient.

I had high expectations for the Choo Choo, a Chattanooga landmark for so many years. I was disappointed in the condition of the building. I stayed on the second floor of building 2.The entryway seemed tired and lacked any "shine". It seemed as though there wasn't much attention to detail paid in the upkeep. New carpet and a fresh coat of paint would work wonders - even a thorough vacuuming would help. I stayed 2 nights and saw the same loose dirt on the carpet on the second floor walkway (from the stairs to the room corridor) the entire time I was there. The door handle to the corridor was loose, practically falling out of the door. There was chipped paint in a lot of areas and a musty smell to the building.

Thankfully the sleeping room was clean. The bathroom was clean and the bed linens were clean and fresh. There was, however, a tired-looking arm chair I wouldn't go near. Overall, the room was quiet - didn't seem to be too many guests there.

Ate in the Gardens Restaurant the first evening. I had chicken tenders and corn fritters. The food was average. Would liked to have eaten in the Station House, but it wasn't open on Monday nights.

Went to the area where the model train museum is. Downstairs is a little stark - something behind the empty windows besides black plastic would be good. And that musty smell was strong in this area also. Upstairs in the room where our business class was held there were stained ceiling tiles and the hvac system was so loud the instructor had to shout. Please do not use folding chairs for an all day class - terribly uncomfortable.

The Chattanooga Choo Choo is a great "theme hotel" with a rich history. It just needs some attention to detail and a lot of TLC to be restored to greatness. I hope in the future the Choo Choo gets on the right track.

Room Tip: If you can get a train car room, I think you'd be happier. I was fortunate enough to see inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNtraveler070567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Used Hotwire and gotten this hotel.....when checking in, the front staff was very cordial and friendly.....too busy talking about everything that he missed telling us that there was a parking fee! We just got the invoice on our checkout day. The room was very old with terrible basic items. Dirty old pillows that never been replaced....found hair all over the "clean" sheets.
I have been all over the country and visited many hotels from all different levels and this is the first time i have ever experienced bad attitudes in their housekeeping. For our entire stay, the housekeeping came in our room at all hours of the day and if we were not ready to vacate our room at their convenience, they were belligerent. When they came back to clean, they just made the bed and nothing else.....
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone......

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
I regret that we did not meet your expectations. I’m sorry that the desk didn’t inform you of the parking charge, if they were telling you about the property it is possible that they didn’t mention it. If you found hair on your sheets, did you call to speak with the manager? We would have taken care of it right away. I’m not sure how long your stay was but we do have a manager on duty 24hrs a day and this is the first I have heard of this issue. I would really like to speak to you about your visit, especially about the housekeeper.. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

There is history and it's got that going for it, but WAY overpriced. We paid $175 for 1 night in an old room. Kids running up and down the hall at 3am yelling and screaming. The indoor pool was nice, but not very big so you were on top of each other. I would never stay here again or advise anyone else to.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherkassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

It was a beautiful place to have dinner. Waiter was great & so was the food. We'll be back in Feb.Want to see more of the whole place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyjo913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed Dinner in the Diner. Thanks for complimenting the food and service that you received. We look forward to your return in February.
Regards,
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

this being reported as a 4 star hotel, my opinionis it is a 1, tried calling office for extra towel, i could get no answer after 15 minutes of calling, finally i called on my cell phone and got a answer they said they would send one right out, it never arrived, room was very bare looking , with only one lamp, this room was no where as nice as a room that was cheap that i rented from days inn

Room Tip: stay away unless you can get a room at about $35 a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60loverboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. It is unacceptable that you had to make numerous calls for towels and the response was slow. Let me assure you that this is not the norm. Your comments will be used to do some retraining. I am a little confused as to your comment about the room looking bare. We do furnish our rooms per brand standards. I would like to speak with you about your visit. Our goal is to always have our guests come back to us. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing