We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a blast, will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Winston, GA
2 reviews
“Had a blast, will be back!”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We took the family to the 'North Pole Limited' Package at the Choo Choo this weekend, and I'll be honest, after reading some of these reviews I was a little apprehensive. But from the minute we checked in (exemplary service, Sean!) to the minute we checked out, the staff at the Choo Choo was nothing but helpful and prompt with their service. My 3 year old had an amazing time with all the activities planned and the Elf Tuck-in Service. Christmas decorations were beautiful, Santa was friendly, and the included breakfast was good. We stayed in Hotel 3, which admittedly looks a little run down on the outside, but the pool was beautiful (although it was too cold to swim), the room was clean and had plenty of room. Elevator ride to the 5th floor was a little bumpy. Room Service was quick and delicious. If you do not have kids, this is probably not for you. If you do, they will love this.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
5 STARS--Thank you for your compliments about our hotel and staff. I am so glad that we exceeded your expectations and you did not let a review keep you away. We get those types of comments all the time. It is great to know that you came during our Christmas season to participate in the activities that we offer during this time of year. We look forward to you bringing your 3 year old back again real soon.
All the Best,
Jim .Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    662
    504
    373
    289
See reviews for
924
792
83
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Currently staying in building 3 and thought a suite would be a nice short vacation for my wife and I. Room needs to be updated. Had to clean the tub before she was able to enjoy a bath. Internet does not work. Called the front desk and still not working (2 hours later). Halls smell like mold. Not very happy at all with our stay. Wish we would have just stayed at home. Folks are nice but guess you have to be when there is no other ups for coming here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmvfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
I am sorry that you didn’t have a good experience this past weekend. It is concerning to hear of the condition of your room. However, I wish you had reported this while you were here. We would have taken care of the situation ASAP. Let me assure you that this is not the kind of service that we provide. I would love to have you back as a guest. I would welcome a conversation with you. I will email you via tripadvisor.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel and got a room in the number 3 biulding just around the corner. These were spacious rooms, very clean and comfortable with a great view to the pool downside. Checkin was swift and without any issues. So was checkout.

I can imagine the rooms in the wagons would be great, too, but we just wanted to check the place out and see what it's like.

It's also very recommendable in case you are travelling with kids. There are a lot of things kids could do during the day (museum, modelling train etc.).

Overall a great place to stay that gibes you the feeling being back in the great time of US train history.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger-zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My husband and I had a nice stay, the room was large and clean the service was great,free trolley stops here and takes you to town, so you don't have to drive and find a parking spot--The main lobby is beautiful, buliding over 100 years old.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbow700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for your compliments about your room and the staff. Also, thanks for mentioning the 100 years old Main Terminal. Come back again soon!
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbott, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

If you are looking for a nice room at the Choo Choo, you really need to stay in a train car. The regular rooms are just adequate. For around $40 extra you can stay in a really cool train car. The main lobby is housed in the old train depot, and it is simply beautiful! If you are an architecture or history buff, you will love it. I love the cute little shops they have and the restaurant has a really good breakfast buffet. They also have a free shuttle that will take you to downtown Chattanooga where you have lots of dinning options and a fun atmosphere. Chattanooga has a lot of Civil War history and parks to explore. If you go with the right expectations, you will love your stay at the Choo Choo.

Room Tip: Get a train car
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for great review. We are pleased to hear that you liked the hotel including the train car room, the historic terminal building and the food. Thank you for noticing the history and for recommending us.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My wife and i had to do a last minute overnight and we are so glad we chose the Choo Choo. When we checked in, though there was a long line, it moved very quickly and we were checked in by very professional and courtious staff. We were then taken to our room by a nice security staff in his golf cart.

The room was spacious and very comfortable. the view into the couryard and pool was awesome! i slept better than i have in months!

There were so many things to do both on the Choo Choo campus and in the neighborhood around it.

We highly recomend you try this incredible place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidH5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for your great review. It’s always good to hear about a great overnight stay. You are right, there’s plenty to do at the Choo Choo. Thanks for your recommendation!
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This past weekend I stayed at the Chattanooga Choo Choo with a couple for friends, so that we could enjoy all the festivities on the South Side, during the annual MainX24 event.

The stay at the Choo Choo allowed us to walk most everywhere during the late afternoon and evening without worries about us finding parking.

This is about the third stay at the Choo Choo and this time we were in building 3, right next to the new trendy Track 29 night spot for excellent music. We heard the Wailers at Track 29 which was so cool and a fabulous addition to Chattanooga's music scene and nightlife.

Our hotel room was nice, and I loved listening to the waterfall in the pool area on the patio. Very peaceful. The beds and pillows were so fluffy and extremely comfortable. The staff in the lobby were friendly and helpful. The lobby was filled with children and adults visiting Santa and looking for Christmas elves to tuck-in the little ones. I loved seeing smiles on children's faces as they anticipated getting their pictures taken with the Jolly Elf!

Thanks everyone involved for making our stay at the Chattanooga Choo Choo so wonderful.
I cannot wait to do this again. I would recommend the Choo Choo for a great night's stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank im4whales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,213 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing