We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp smelly room, traffic noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
TN
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Damp smelly room, traffic noise”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed here one night for business. Rooms on bottom floors are outside entry. Requested a quiet room but when I arrived for my reservation there was only one room left. Not sure it would have mattered as most rooms are exposed to traffic noise. Had difficulty getting door open and thought at first the key didn't work but the door was warped. Probably due to dampness from air conditioning unit. Appeared that room decor had been recently updated but room smelled like smoke (even though all Marriotts are smoke-free) and mildew. Didn't ask for another room as I knew there were no others available. Informed front desk at check-out but they didn't seem concerned. Free breakfast looked like one of the better ones I have seen at Fairfield but unfortunately was too tired to eat after no sleep.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank elsie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    399
    260
    92
    57
See reviews for
399
338
100
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Can't believe this is a Marriott. It's the worst Marriott property I have ever stayed at. Here for 3 nights - very small rooms and a really small bathroom. The bed mattress - really bad quality unless you like really hard mattresses. Not the typical pillow top mattress that the other Marriott hotels have. Squishy pillows. Old furniture and an old television. This must have been a different hotel and Marriott bought it. No closet - not much room to have one. Carpet and drapes are new. If I had known that the bed was not the usual Marriott quality I would not have booked 3 nights. Woke up each morning with a sore aching back. This hotel is next to the highway - we had to stay on the 2nd floor as there were no rooms on the 1st or 3rd floors. We could hear the noise from the highway as well as someone walking above us. When people walked past the door you could hear every word of their conversation. Room has a unit by the window for heat and A/C. The A/C worked fine - just makes the typical noise. There is no fan in the bathroom. There is a pool by the side - did not use it. Breakfast was just so-so but I don't judge a hotel for it's free breakfast. Had I known that the mattresses here were not comfortable, I would have stayed at the other hotel that I had booked for one night up the street. The mattress was hard and the pool was closing for 2 days for painting so I switched hotels. There is no refrigerator or microwave at this Fairfield Inn. They have ice machines on each floor and soda machines. Really a budget hotel. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagspacked123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

As others have said this hotel has a weird layout. And it's in an area with thousands of rooms - I literally saw every chain hotel represented just by looking out my window. So if you are willing to bargain hunt I bet you can find a cheaper room nearby. That being said we stayed just one night at a good price and have no complaints. We often stay at Fairfields and this one was as expected.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Bettan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Staff was friendly, rooms and bathrooms were very small. Expected more for a "Marriott hotel." Price was one of the lowest around, but didn't think the room was worth $80/night (government rate). Weird layout as well. 3 floors, 2 of which were outside entries and the 3rd floor was indoor entries. Had to have room key to access third floor. Overall, not what we expected from the Marriott name. One other pro: VERY close to lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hb11883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

The fairfield inn in Chattanooga is worthy of the many positive reviews on this web site. While many of the reviewers point out that many of the rooms have doors facing the outside, the 3rd floor of the hotel actually had doors facing an inside hallway, much like more other Marriott hotels. So I got a room up there and it helped muffle the highway noise that otherwise would have been present being so close to I-75. The room is small and spartan, but the price is good so for short business trips I think it's really worth it. Plus the continental breakfast is very convenient if you only want a small bite to eat and don't have time to stop anywhere else on the way to work.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sellinrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
650 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

An amazing AAA rate of $63 a night included a small, clean, very recently remodeled, safe and comfortable room, king bed, breakfast, parking, accommodating hotel staff, and wireless high speed internet in room or lobby. This hotel was walking distance to Applebees, Cracker Barrel and a couple other restaurants. Also, 10-15 minutes to all the attractions in Chattanooga, VERY close to the area mall. Typically, we stay downtown so we can get around easier and almost did for this trip too. I am glad I chose this hotel and recommend to anyone for a similar sightseeing short or weekend trip. I would have paid more, but the great rate made this stay A+.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRidder, La
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2009

friendly and courteous check-in ; rooms open to the outside ;extremely clean room with absolutely no odors; smaller room than most fairfield inns; compact bathroom. The room came equipped with a wingback style chair and ottoman plus a desk and standard office chair. Basic remote control on TV with no timer feature. The standard continental breakfast was the morning offering. Bed linens were fresh, clean , odor and stain free. The bed was firm with a pillow top mattress topper added. For a overnight stay, it was fine but would not stay there for extended time period.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayou_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIChatt, General Manager at Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel based on your recent stay with us. I am happy that you found your guestroom to be extremely clean - we strive to provide a room that is clean and fresh and reflects highest quality standards for all of our guest. While we cannot change the size of our rooms or the size of our bathrooms we can always make sure that the room is clean and ready for our guests when they check-in and I appreciate you sharing your experience.

I also wanted to mention that Fairfield Inn by Marriott is getting ready to launch an update to our current options on our Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast buffet in early 2010 in response to guest feedback requesting new and healthier items. I hope that you will find the new breakfast items to me more enjoyable.

Thank you for your feedback - it is truly invaluable to us.

Sarah Stokes, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#23 of 97 in Chattanooga
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Chattanooga Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arbour Inn & Suites
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#44 of 97 in Chattanooga
209 reviews
13.2 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place

Property: Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Address: 2350 Shallowford Village Dr, Chattanooga, TN 37421-6768 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Chattanooga)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chattanooga
#28 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Interstate 75 and only 4 miles from the Chattanooga International Airport, our Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place hotel is your place for a sunny stay in the Chattanooga area. A seasonal outdoor pool, ample parking for large vehicles, dry-cleaning service and a business center make your visit fun, convenient and productive. Get a great start to each day with a free daily newspaper and free Daybreak continental breakfast, and access our free Wi-Fi Internet any time throughout our hotel. For your comfort, rooms feature plush bedding and an ergonomic work station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Chattanooga Hotel Chattanooga
Fairfield Chattanooga
Chattanooga Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing