We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“been many times will not go back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“been many times will not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have stayed at this location many times in last few years, this time we found beer bottle caps in floor, room was not very clean, couch was showing signs of wear and the rubber seal around exterior door was coming off so everytime someone opened doors down hallway our door rattled. The hotel seems to be going down hill.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dawgman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Chattanooga-Downtown. We are very sorry that you encountered housekeeping issues. Dirty rooms are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We have discussed this with our associates and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. We do hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    293
    101
    41
    29
See reviews for
310
310
40
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Everything was great except, no shampoo (left two moisturizers instead of one of each) The coffee pot was missing the filter basket. The refrigerator didn't work, and the hair dryer only worked on high.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton, Chattanooga-Downtown. We are glad you enjoyed your stay; however, are sorry to hear of the missing items and the refrigerator not working. Our maintenance team has been made aware of the situation in order to prevent this from happening in the future. We do hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Chattanooga--we would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree. We usually stay at a B&B for our trips to Chattanooga; however, one night getaways do not mesh well with B&B schedules. We caught a movie in East Ridge, dinner at St. John's, and had a very comfortable stay at the Doubletree. The wine and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting in the suite upon our arrival. The room was top notch, clean, and very comfortable. The location is convenient to many local restaurants and next to the interstate. The view from the 12th floor is nice at evening time. All employees were kind, considerate, and aware of their guests needs and considerations. I will definitely consider the Doubletree for future stays in Chattanooga. It is a very we'll maintained establishment and management should be proud of the job they are doing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your great review of the DoubleTree by Hilton, Chattanooga-Downtown. We are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one and you enjoyed our great amenities, location and service. We do hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Chattanooga. We would love to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The rooms were very clean; breakfast was very good; and everything we did was within walking distance; the restaurants, the aquarium, the Imax theatre. Late check out saved the day...kind of overslept on the comfy beds. Good choice for an overnight getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Chattanooga-Downtown. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our great location. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is great, nice rooms even are a member of the Hotel preferred guest. Reasonable internet wifi, served my purpose well, Bar is not inviting to us maybe due to its location on the second floor between the conference rooms, Location is great enough restaurants around on walking distance,At breakfast as a guest we (myself and 2 collegues)should have recieved vouchers? Which we did not so ending up paying extra for it, come on vouchers, we live in 2014

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JohanBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for the comments about your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Chattanooga-Downtown. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great amenities and location. We do apologize that you did not receive your vouchers upon check in for your breakfast. The Voucher system is our hotels policy in order to keep an accurate count of which group or type of guest ate in our restaurant. We do hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Hotel was great. It snowed less than an Inch and the city was unprepared. When we made it back to hotel the snow was forgotten. The hotel had a nice Bar Area and restaurant. they have a small but well stocked convenience store in house. Also the cookies were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for staying with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Chattanooga-Downtown. We're glad your stay was a great one and that you enjoyed our delicious DoubleTree Cookies. We do hope you will stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Three of us stayed here for 6 nights on business. The hotel was easy to find. Check-in was good. Rooms were spacious and well laid out. Room doors make a loud bang and shake the walls when left to close, so can be disruptive if you are trying to sleep. The only poor experience during our stay was dinner. We tried it the first night but it wasn't good. There are a variety of good eating places nearby. The hotel décor is pleasant except for the bar area. Not somewhere to spend an entire evening, Bed in room was comfortable and shower is good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank carolpetera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Chattanooga-Downtown. We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience here and what great amenities we have to offer. We do apologize for the dinner not meeting your expectations. We hope you will stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Chattanooga!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 407 Chestnut Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#8 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#13 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Chattanooga, located just off of I-27, offers full-service, upscale accommodations in the heart of downtown Chattanooga within blocks of the Tennessee River and Riverfront attractions, the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX-3D Theater, UT Chattanooga, museums, restaurants, shops, and the Convention & Trade Center. Our modern hotel is only 20 minutes west of Chattanooga Municipal Airport (CHA) and is convenient to the nearby downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Chattanooga
Clarion Chattanooga
Chattanooga Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing