We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, great bed, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, great bed, friendly staff”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at several Hilton properties during a road trip. This one is way at the top of our list. Very comfortable rooms. Walking distance to downtown. Basic but very good gym. Free parking adjacent to the hotel. Near Rock City and Ruby Falls. Very friendly staff. And last, but in my book definetely not least, 24 hour complementary coffee in the gift shop!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ossie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel and amenities! Please stop by and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    301
    104
    41
    31
See reviews for
319
315
41
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm extremely high maintenance when it comes to hotels. This property is in the perfect location in downtown Chattanooga, walking distance to Children's Museum, Aquarium, movie theatre and great restaurants. The Crabtree & Evelyn hair products and lotion were an added bonus along with the hot chocolate chip cookies. Staff was very attentive and friendly and the rooms were super clean and well decorated. We've stayed at other hotels in the area & this one by far is the best in Chattanooga! Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on upper level away from elevator & ice machine. We stayed on 12th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobengals26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are extremely pleased you were so happy with your stay. Please come see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Thanks for being the light at the end of the tunnel on a dark and rainy winter evening!
Sometimes business travel includes roadtrips from hell. On one such recent trip--bad rental car, detours and awful weather, we finally, after 7 lonnnnng hours, made it to the hotel. A terrific front desk staff welcomed us genuinely, upgraded us to a suite (we must've really looked road weary) and then continued to unobtrusively check in on us during our stay.
The room rate was better than some lesser appointed hotels.
The location is ideal for those wanting to see things in the downtown area.
The breakfast was served by friendly staff and while not grande, was satisfactory---the carafes they use to replenish coffee need to be changed: coffee was always lukewarm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eB0LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Reading your review made me so happy that our staff was so accommodating to you during such a gloomy day! We are so happy that we could lift your spirits! Thank you again for such wonderful comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a well appointed and smart hotel in an excellent location for both downtown Chattanooga and the highway. Unfortunately the soundproofing in my 4th-floor room was terrible - I could hear everything that was going on in the corridor, service doors slamming noisily throughout the night, every bang and cough from next door, and the plumbing gurgled and creaked all night. I had a poor night's sleep, with a day of business meetings ahead of me, so that makes this a poor place to stay in my book.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmnonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We're extremely sorry that we didn't provide you with a rewarding experience during your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Chattanooga-Downtown. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback about the noisy hallways. Your comments will help us correct these issues. We hope you'll consider staying with us again the next time your in Chattanooga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I were in town for a evening concert at the Tivoli Theater and the Doubletree was a great choice. It is close to many entertainment venues and great restaurants as well. The staff couldn't be more helpful, always smiling and polite. Our room was very clean, had a great view of downtown and the bed was perfect (and I'm very picky about beds). Parking was easy but did cost $8.00 just to self-park in a very crowded lot. Valet parking is also available. The free buffet breakfast would have been fine if served at the proper temperature, but I think we will opt for eating elsewhere on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by HIlton in Chattanooga-Downtown. I'm extremely glad that our services, amenities, and staff made your visit more comfortable. Please come stay with us again when you are in Chattanooga!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

i stayed here 2 weeks and had wonderful service, great room, very convienient to best restaurants and free tran service, front desk went out of its way to help you if anything u needed,was quiet for downtown hotel,definately worth a look at rates were reasonable for a doubletree

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frtliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Chattanooga-Downtown. I'm happy to hear that our service, staff, and location made your stay such a great one. Please visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable (wonderful bed) and quiet. Great downtown location- you can walk to all the downtown attractions and restaurants. Easy free hotel parking- a bonus when downtown.There is small pool outdoors that looked like a nice place to hang out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi P, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are happy that you were comfortable and pleased with our services and amenities here at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Chattanooga-Downtown. Please come visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 407 Chestnut Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#8 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#13 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Chattanooga, located just off of I-27, offers full-service, upscale accommodations in the heart of downtown Chattanooga within blocks of the Tennessee River and Riverfront attractions, the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX-3D Theater, UT Chattanooga, museums, restaurants, shops, and the Convention & Trade Center. Our modern hotel is only 20 minutes west of Chattanooga Municipal Airport (CHA) and is convenient to the nearby downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Chattanooga
Clarion Chattanooga
Chattanooga Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing