We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, clean room, professional staff, lots of amenities, and just 2 blocks from the aquarium. 5 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 8, 2012

If anyone is dissapointed by their stay here, I think it has to be an anomoly and not the norm. We arrived midday, greeted by a friendly valet, given nice warm cookies on check-in, and had the best experience ever at any hotel we have EVER stayed in. The room we had was on the 3rd floor which was really quiet. The room was just like being at home with a small fridge, microwave, and Wolfgang Puck Coffee maker. The bath had a shower only, no tub. The linens were crisp and the bed as comfy as home. We ordered room service upon arrival which was prompt, hot, and delicious. I could not ask for a more professional staff from the front desk (Sarah was especially top-notch and helpful!) to the housekeeper. If you are looking to visit the aquarium or just need a great place to lay your head, this is it. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: This is one of the last downtown hotel offers smoking rooms. Has excellent wifi, room service, vale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSmith30528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, as we enjoy having you here! We appreciate your consideration in providing feedback on our hotel, and are pleased that Sarah was able to make your stay more enjoyable. Your insight provides us an opportunity to improve stays for our guests in the future, and for that we are grateful. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel was a huge let down for the starage it was! Not happy. Went with my husband and son. They ran out of cookies to give us.. Said they'd bring them to the room they never did. We were gone out of our room for over 6 hours and the maid purposely skipped cleaning our room. She never cleaned it. So the hole two days we were there it never got cleaned. We paid $408.00 dollars for two nights and for that kind of money i thought our room should have been cleaned immediately.

Another scary thing was when we were dining hardly any one else was eating in the restaurant at the same time. It was kind of strange. And now we know why. The waitress did not know their menu at all. She had to ask someone about a wine that i wanted whether it was dry or sweet. The food had no decorations nor fancy at all. It looked like something you could make at home. I don't mean to complain and be a brat but for a 3.5 star hotel that was outrageous. I think i would have rather stayed at a two start hotel for half the price and would have been happier.

The dessert came out which was cheesecake. Looked like it had just been bought at the grocery store and thrown on a plate. it was decorated with whip cream, or a cherry or even powerderd sugar. If i wanted cheesecake i could have just went and bought some at the grocery store. Because how special it was. Not special at all. Very disapointed with this place. You do not get what you pay for and I will never stay there again :(.

It's a shame because the the hotel is pretty lovely looking, from decor to furnishings. Great location, really neat view from our room, pool was nice, and bar. However I think they have a MAJOR MANAGEMENT PROBLEM! The restaurant is not for us ever again. I never complain really much about anything but for an almost nearly 4 star hotel. TERRIBLE! Dont' waste your money stay somewhere else. Unless you want to be eating 2 quality food! And not get yer room cleaned and get no cookies.. Really felt sad about no cookies after we got all excited to get them. but they were never brought... OH AND THE PILLOWS AND MATTRESS WAS TERRIBLY uncomfortable. We didn't get alot of sleep! :(

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

We are deeply sorry for the problems you had during your stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chattanooga. We take great strides to provide every guest with a comfortable and memorable experience, and apologize that you did not receive such. Your comments have been noted and directed to our management staff, and we appreciate your feedback so we may better improve our property. If there is anything else we can help you with, please contact the hotel directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

What a beautiful hotel. The front desk staff was very friendly -especially Nathan. The beds and linens were luxurious. Everything was within walking distance. We were given a one day pass to Rush Fitness next door which was a nice bonus. This hotel was a great stop on our was from Boston to New Orleans. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmb1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your positive review, and we are so happy you had a pleasant stay with us! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is nice and the cookies are delicious! I really like its vibe, but is seems a little distant from the main "strip" when you have to walk everywhere

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latoya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your positive review! We are happy you enjoyed the cookies and decor. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great Pool. Nice bar on 2 nd floor. Rooms are clean and modern. Comfy beds. Suites are roomy and up to date bathrooms

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your kind review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Rooms are a little small, but the location is excellent. If you are traveling with children, it's a great location, close to all the attractions downtown Chattanooga has. The staff was very friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The check-in/check-out process was seamless. Any requests I had were handled efficiently with absolutely no issues. The valet process was thourough, even in the middle of the night. The rooms are elegantly decorated in a state-of-the-art decorum, and very clean. The location is very convenient for strolls through downtown by foot, or very short drives. Give it a try!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larkin_ison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
0.5 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown

Address: 407 Chestnut Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#8 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#13 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $135 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Chattanooga, located just off of I-27, offers full-service, upscale accommodations in the heart of downtown Chattanooga within blocks of the Tennessee River and Riverfront attractions, the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX-3D Theater, UT Chattanooga, museums, restaurants, shops, and the Convention & Trade Center. Our modern hotel is only 20 minutes west of Chattanooga Municipal Airport (CHA) and is convenient to the nearby downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Chattanooga
Clarion Chattanooga
Chattanooga Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing